HomeFeaturesColumns/OpinionsReviewsAbout Us

Unagi: Reinventing the Eel

By Sam Devinereviews
Jul 8, 2009 - 12:16 AM


 
Listen to "Song of Satisfaction" ft. Eddie Meeks


Download: "Song of Satisfaction" ft. Eddie Meeks


Ask yourself if you got ten bucks to lay down on a handful of tasty little rhythm rolls, a couple good raps, and a few mediocre pairings of beats and off-the-cuff flows. Cause that’s the deal that Unagi is offering with his new album, Reinventing the Eel. And, while it’s not a straight steal – like that divorced wife selling her ex’s Porsche for $750 – it’s not a bad offer.

In the past, Unagi has produced strange, danceable concoctions of layered flotsam and jetsam from the worlds of soul and electronica. He’s reinvented the eel by inviting a number of guest MCs to spit over his tracks. All in all, the album has an experimental feeling to it, groovy and eclectic, like a less pretentious version of ultra-lounge. And while it won’t make you call up friends and say, “Ah, shit! You gotta hear this!” you may find yourself quoting some of the funnier lyrics while at the bar or choosing to spin the disc when friends come over.

The instrumentals on the album are the stronger, more listenable tracks. “Herb Man Theme” blends the horn blasts and disco strings of 70s TV themes with modern synth bass lines and jungle inspired break beats. Veterans of Burning Man will easily bob their fuzzy hats and goggles to his down tempo beats like “That Glow.” And while hardcore hip hoppers may find his beats busy and strange, they might also respect his incorporation of distant genres, fusing jazz and break beats with elements from the more sugary side of house music. "Funky Drummer" sprinkled with triple hand claps anyone?

Unfortunately, most of the guest rapping is kinda clumsy. The one exception is “Grown Man Flowin” (featuring Motion Man). With light speed rappin’ against too-cool, laid-back rhythms of buzzing cymbals, humming keyboard chimes and a bass line that sounds almost as cool as the one on Marvin Gaye’s “Got to Give It Up,” this is an awesome track.

However, “The Making,” featuring Infinito 2017, sounds like there was a minimal amount of collaboration between DJ and rapper – that perhaps an afternoon was spent writing a rap on the spot and throwing it over a previously produced rhythm track. The hook starts with a beautiful female vocal singing, “I want you to know where I’m comin’ from.” And all that Infinito adds is “like so on and such…” Doesn’t seem like he had shit to say. Where is he comin’ from? It’s too bad, because his style and pace are killer, but he’s just not sayin’ anything.

The best rapper on the album might be the DJ Eel, himself. His delivery is a little slow and up tight, and the words are cheesy as hell, but it feels like he’s being cheesy on purpose, like he made a super-sweet, give-diabetes song for a lady he is super-sweet on just so she could laugh at him and his cheesy rap. It comes together as groovy and funny: “When we started kickin’ it, I admit I was a bit nervous / but I kept it under cover just like the secret service / workin’ for the president, mutual interest evident / but we shared the same residence so I was a bit hesitant…When you’re next tah me it’s ecstacy, no shit / but it’s better ‘cause it’s free and not twenty bucks a hit… Lookin’ good in the bed on your side, back, or belly / me and you, we go together like peanut butter and jelly – never smelly because you always keep it clean / going down on each other like a pair of submarines.”

It’s hard to argue with rapping that makes you laugh – even if it’s more of an “at and not with” sort of laugh.

So, needless to say, while bringing this fresh if not always convincing material, Unagi doesn’t seem to take himself over-seriously. He’s not frontin’ that he’s someone he’s not. For example: remember that Snickers commercial where the straight-laced white dude pops up out of nowhere with an acoustic guitar and sings the song of satisfaction to the world? Creamy caramel waterfalls over chunky nougat mountaintops? The last song on Reinventing the Eel, “Song of Satisfaction,” is based off that commercial. It’s an admittedly goofy hook to craft a song around, but it’s cool too see someone trying to develop what would have been a decent idea if an advertiser hadn’t gotten to it first.

A decent album with a couple of good tracks and a lot of near misses.

********

Sam Devine freelances for several Bay Area publications, including the SF Bay Guardian.



Comments (64)


Discount Louboutin shoes says:
June 15, 2012 12:58 AM
The Discount Louboutins sandals were also worn by Amanda Peet, Keri Russell, Katherine McPhee, Marcia Cross, Charlize Theron. Christian Louboutin Wedding Shoes celebrates 20 years of iconic designs with a capsule collection compiled of favorite Cheap Louboutins from decades past. And the Christian Louboutin Sandals Lady Max feature gold mirror finish leather, t-strap style Cheap Louboutin Pumps, posted ankle strap, Swarovski studded and spike embellished detail at instep and ankle, 100mm stiletto heel, and the signature red leather sole Christian Louboutin Wedges.http://www.discountlouboutinssshoess.com/

Christian Louboutins says:
June 15, 2012 1:49 AM
In accordance with Cheap Louboutins, the royal couple slipped off their shoes – a pair of green snakeskin Cheap Louboutin Shoes – as they paid tribute to our site at his memorial in Cheap Louboutins UK. At the site, the Prince and Princess honoured the great pacifist with an offering of vibrant red and yellow Christian Louboutin Pumps, as well as a moment of silence. With Christian Louboutin Slingbacks design and functionality in mind, the shoe designer created three pairs –Cheap Louboutin Sneakers, flat gladiator sandals and ankle boots – adorned with Swarovski crystals.http://www.discountlouboutinssshoess.com/

no fax pay day loan says:
August 16, 2012 8:49 PM
uevtbgg http://paydayloanssti.info/ no fax pay day loan

payday loan Canada says:
August 19, 2012 7:54 PM
wnuyuvc http://paydayloansstk.info/ payday loan Canada

payday loans says:
August 26, 2012 6:46 PM
zrxnggf http://paydayloansnsf.co.uk/ payday loans

payday loans says:
August 28, 2012 9:11 PM
bkndhebv http://paydayloansnsh.com/ payday loans

payday loans says:
September 29, 2012 6:48 AM
uiwmod http://ukpaydayloansfi.co.uk/ payday loans

payday loans says:
October 14, 2012 10:19 PM
sqlubyay http://ukpaydayloanstn.co.uk/ payday loans

payday loans UK says:
October 26, 2012 12:11 AM
jxmozn http://instantpaydayloansms.co.uk/ payday loans UK

payday loans says:
October 31, 2012 5:41 AM
nrzeigl http://instantpaydayloanssc.com/ payday loans

buy viagra says:
November 10, 2012 5:12 PM
brzcyuw http://buyviagrafd.com/ buy viagra

payday uk online says:
November 25, 2012 2:27 AM
pgyuxfjp http://instantpaydayloansonlinetn.co.uk/ payday uk online

payday loans says:
November 27, 2012 11:08 PM

buy viagra says:
November 30, 2012 3:39 AM
srmzriz http://buyviagrata.com/ buy viagra

viagra cheap says:
December 3, 2012 2:39 AM
osapeei http://cheapviagrata.com/ viagra cheap

payday loan says:
December 18, 2012 12:49 PM
aacpwuam http://paydayloansbbc.com/ payday loan

payday loans says:
January 17, 2013 4:52 PM
tebyajwugheqchoydbkarpznioeckyflyqc [url=http://www.myloansites.com]online payday loans canada[/url] cxpjyoamiiwctqnkchjkhjtfhrlblfkbgwwkjzhdda

generic viagra says:
February 3, 2013 6:51 PM
nuqsqtmv http://genericviagratd.com/ generic viagra

viagra says:
February 7, 2013 8:43 AM
sunmhigl http://buyviagrate.com/ viagra

payday loans says:
March 12, 2013 4:16 AM
evzchtjz http://paydayloansusafsd.com/ payday loans

payday advance says:
March 15, 2013 1:12 PM
ynwkwl http://paydayloansusafse.com/ payday advance

order 50mg viagra says:
March 27, 2013 4:34 PM
umsirvnt http://orderviagradsc.com/ order 50mg viagra

payday loans australia says:
March 30, 2013 10:01 AM
hnssamq http://paydayloansaustraliafsi.com/ payday loans australia

viagra says:
April 6, 2013 1:13 AM

generic viagra says:
April 7, 2013 6:56 AM
tpzdif http://genericviagradsb.com/ generic viagra

payday loans UK says:
April 10, 2013 2:55 AM
mewfwnk http://paydayloansukdsa.co.uk/ payday loans UK

payday loan says:
April 27, 2013 4:43 PM

Quick Quid says:
May 3, 2013 12:27 PM
uqdntzgg http://paydayloansukpwf.co.uk/ Quick Quid

payday Advance uk says:
June 4, 2013 2:42 PM
nvylzafr http://paydayloansukala.co.uk/ payday Advance uk

super real says:
July 27, 2013 6:15 PM
Nothing could be really disturbing in your case and you can spend your money much like your need [url=http://www.totallyrealsitenotfake2.com]super real[/url] as students prepare to graduate from high school graduation, college looms large of their minds along with the minds of the parents.

wordpress developer says:
August 3, 2013 10:32 AM
IT may scare some away, but those who click right through to the sale page may well be more prone to convert. If you want to implement a chat solution on your Word - Press blog, you might find the information provided in this article useful. Outlook of a website has become an imperative part of its success. Have a look at my web site - [url=http://rehatched.com]wordpress developer[/url]

Microsoft Office 2007 says:
August 4, 2013 2:08 PM
What's up, just wanted to mention, I liked this post. It was inspiring. Keep on posting! Here is my web page :: [url=http://officeitsolution.com/]Microsoft Office 2007[/url]

payday loans online says:
August 5, 2013 10:24 AM
I am glad this it turned out so well and I hope it will continue in the future as it's so interesting and meaningful to that the community. my website [url=http://101paydayloansonliner.com/]payday loans online[/url]

outcalls in mckee city new jersey says:
August 7, 2013 5:33 AM
A person necessarily help to make critically posts I might state. This is the very first time I frequented your website page and to this point? I surprised with the research you made to create this particular submit amazing. Fantastic task! Feel free to visit my web-site [url=http://fxraiders.net/home/entry/mktoutlooks/2012/12/11/early-london-update-for-december-11th-2012.html?reset-settings&hl=]outcalls in mckee city new jersey[/url]

not fake says:
August 10, 2013 6:04 AM
Here, you happen to be trying to find testimonials or other available references that suggest a specific lender provides a quality customer experience [url=http://www.totallyrealsiten2otfake3.com]not fake[/url] the former first lady said that while the economy is employed by some folks, many middle class folks are certainly not seeing it inside their wages.

reverse phone lookup says:
August 11, 2013 4:25 AM
I’ll right away grab your rss feed as I can not find your e-mail subscription link or e-newsletter service. Do you have any? Kindly let me recognize so that I could subscribe. Thanks. my webpage ... [url=http://reversephonelookup.fastreversephonelookupsite.com/]reverse phone lookup[/url]

reverse phone lookup says:
August 12, 2013 5:24 AM
Just a smiling visitor here to share the love (:, btw outstanding layout. Feel free to surf to my weblog [url=http://reversephonelookup.101reversephonelookup.com/]reverse phone lookup[/url]

reverse phone says:
August 16, 2013 2:19 AM
Attractive part of content. I just stumbled upon your site and in accession capital to claim that I acquire in fact enjoyed account your blog posts. Any system I’ll be subscribing to your feeds and even I achievement you learn entry to constantly promptly. Feel free to surf to my homepage ... [url=http://doublereversephonelookups.weebly.com/]reverse phone[/url]

Buy Articles says:
August 29, 2013 1:10 AM
i really enjoyed this article,because this was me many years ago,and to a certain degree,this is who i am today Great column. You sound exactly like someone I'd love to know. Keep celebrating you. The world needs a lot more people just like you. Thanks for your honesty. I really like to read about other people trying new things, to get an idea of what it's like. This is an amazingly open and personal and brave post, and I admire you so much for writing it. http://www.contentproz.net/buy-articles/

Ez Trader Stocks says:
September 4, 2013 11:04 AM
I know this web site provides quality dependent articles or reviews and additional stuff, is there any other web site which presents these kinds of stuff in quality?

fluitteNeurne says:
September 23, 2013 5:20 PM
http://www.azurema.com/c-216.html Polo Ralph Lauren, 2003 M. a number of these promoters in transient transfection.?

DiaplyDoldina says:
October 4, 2013 11:37 PM
注目度が高まっており ますが、激しく損壊した遺体からはいずれも内臓の一部が持ち去られており欧州中南米アジア太平洋の. http://www.yellowvw.com/

Marilou says:
October 6, 2013 1:47 AM
Excité,flottant mère-in-law sauf utiliser à Impure club penguin code cheats for unlock items online i have a code. encourager de devant jours club penguin book codes 2011 card jitsu handbook.Energetic,floue sous-sol au sommet frottez à l'intérieur obligation club penguin cheat codes for card jitsu to unlock cards. croquis d'ailleurs certains free club penguin codes for puffles.Forte,clair utiliser malgré symboliser à partir de Besoin d' club penguin unused codes for treasure book 2011. debout en ce qui concerne emploi free club penguin coin codes 2011 unused.

full article says:
October 14, 2013 8:22 PM
utikayk http://paydayloansusatrd.com/ full article

income home.com says:
October 19, 2013 9:05 PM
Hi there! I know this is kinda off topic however , I'd figured I'd ask. Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest authoring a blog post or vice-versa? My blog goes over a lot of the same subjects as yours and I feel we could greatly benefit from each other. If you are interested feel free to send me an email. I look forward to hearing from you! Fantastic blog by the way!

build fast muscle says:
October 21, 2013 8:25 PM
I am not sure where you're getting your information, but great topic. I needs to spend some time learning more or understanding more. Thanks for wonderful info I was looking for this info for my mission.

diet pills that work says:
October 21, 2013 8:29 PM
I have read so many articles concerning the blogger lovers however this piece of writing is genuinely a pleasant post, keep it up.

Hypothyroidism Revolution says:
October 28, 2013 2:39 AM
I am really happy to glance at this weblog posts which contains plenty of valuable facts, thanks for providing such data.

my website says:
November 3, 2013 9:51 PM
That's the kind of image that i really thing is super image like. If more images [url=http://www.goohjlessw.com]very real[/url] like this were out there we'd be super full of graet images in the world.

honestfatloss4idiotsreview.tumblr.com says:
November 12, 2013 10:40 PM
Howdy! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and say I genuinely enjoy reading your blog posts. Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums that cover the same topics? Appreciate it!

free microsoft points generator says:
November 13, 2013 11:28 PM
Hello, Neat post. There is an issue together with your website in internet explorer, might check this? IE still is the market leader and a huge section of folks will miss your great writing because of this problem. Feel free to surf to my site ... [url=http://www.Youtube.com/watch?v=-4uCIsuB6XQ]free microsoft points generator[/url]

small dog breeds says:
November 23, 2013 4:17 PM
whoah this blog is wonderful i really like reading your articles. Stay up the good work! You know, many individuals are hunting round for this info, you could help them greatly.

How to Get Unlimited Gems in Clash of Clans says:
November 25, 2013 5:01 AM
That is a really good tip particularly to those fresh to the blogosphere. Short but very accurate information… Appreciate your sharing this one. A must read post! Feel free to visit my blog [url=https://youtube.com/watch?v=5UYAywpwItg]How to Get Unlimited Gems in Clash of Clans[/url]

quick quid says:
November 28, 2013 1:34 AM
sogtwwk http://paydayloansukpqg.co.uk/ quick quid

http://thefatlossfactor--Review.Blogspot.com/ says:
December 1, 2013 2:09 AM
Hello, its nice piece of writing concerning media print, we all understand media is a enormous source of facts.

payday advance says:
December 5, 2013 9:21 AM
hrtkhoz http://paydayloansusapqd.com/ payday advance

related site slots casino says:
December 6, 2013 1:27 PM
Great delivery. Sound arguments. Keep up the good effort.

Free Clash of Clans Hack says:
December 13, 2013 8:22 AM
This website really has all the info I wanted concerning this subject and didn't know who to ask. Feel free to surf to my blog post ... [url=http://Www.Youtube.com/watch?v=ebC9YMaB-sI]Free Clash of Clans Hack[/url]

personal loans says:
December 16, 2013 1:58 AM
hqnmzf http://paydayloansusapqj.com/ personal loans

https://www.rebelmouse.com/Venus_Factor_Review/ says:
December 16, 2013 6:30 AM
Hello, I wish for to subscribe for this website to obtain most up-to-date updates, so where can i do it please help.

Is Adonis Golden Ratio a Scam says:
December 23, 2013 4:31 AM
Pretty section of content. I just stumbled upon your blog and in accession capital to assert that I get in fact enjoyed account your blog posts. Any way I will be subscribing to your feeds and even I achievement you access consistently quickly.

likenation says:
December 29, 2013 8:55 PM
I was suggested this website by my cousin. I'm not sure whether this post is written by him as nobody else know such detailed about my trouble. You are incredible! Thanks!

xnxx says:
January 4, 2014 12:38 AM
Hello There. I found your weblog the usage of msn. That is an extremely neatly written article. I'll make sure to bookmark it and come back to learn extra of your useful info. Thank you for the post. I'll certainly comeback.

http://Dog-Food-Secrets--Review.blogspot.com says:
January 21, 2014 4:22 AM
Hi there, after reading this remarkable paragraph i am as well cheerful to share my know-how here with colleagues.

Post a comment

     Verification (needed to reduce spam):




byline=Sam Devine thumbnailtype=jpg thumbnailname=unagi_eel-thumb

OTHER STORIES

ADVERTISEMENT

FragranceNet.com

Hollywood Triple Feature $24 for 2 or more

Footlocker.com

StudentUniverse.com - Travel More. Spend Less

macys.com

Apple iTunes


Oh Dang! Copyright © 2006-2007. All Rights Reserved.