HomeFeaturesColumns/OpinionsReviewsAbout Us

Time Machine: Life Is Expensive

By Kimberly Turnerreviews
Jun 9, 2008 - 10:00 PM


 
Listen to "The Groove That Just Won't Stop"

With soaring gas prices and rising food costs you could say the latest release from Time Machine, Life is Expensive, is just stating the obvious. Luckily the LA threesome of emcees Biscuit, Jet Set Jay, and Producer/DJ Mekalek put together an album that is more creative than its title lets on.

Life is Expensive opens with the mellow “In the City of Everything.” It’s a casual, matter of fact account of a typical LA day from buying tamales out of someone’s trunk to the hovering of helicopters. The tempo of the disc quickly picks up with the sassy second track “(If you know what) I Mean” and continues the poppy, drum machine happy vibe with “The Groove that Just Won’t Stop.” The song could easily become a party and club staple next to classics like Deee-Lite’s “Groove is in the Heart.” That’s not surprising considering the group has already proved its party prowess with their popular remix of MIA’s “Boyz.”

Producer Stereok’s instrumental contribution “Mountains” breaks up the celebration with smooth 80s era inspired synthesizers and provides the perfect transition into the pessimistic title track “Life is Expensive.” Biscuit and Jet Set Jay lay ominous lyrics about diseases and natural disasters over an equally menacing but toe-tapping beat that together propel the listener towards the apocalypse.

Life is Expensive is both intelligent and entertaining and demonstrates a level of creativity that has rarely resurfaced in hip-hop since A Tribe Called Quest and De La Soul. With their tongue & cheek humor and finely honed beat making skills, Time Machine prove that underground hip-hop can have pop appeal without sacrificing substance.

********

Kimberly Turner is Oh Dang! Magazine's resident music critic and pastry fiend. And No she's not fat.



Comments (7)


my website says:
August 10, 2013 11:07 PM
A car is a desire for each and every individual [url=http://www.totallyrealsiteno8Tfake2.com]my website[/url] this will offer you numerous possible offers to have a look at when deciding what's best in your case along with your budget.

live sex says:
August 29, 2013 3:21 PM
Thanks for sharing your thoughts. I really appreciate your efforts and I will be waiting for your next write ups thanks once again. Also visit my web blog: [url=http://www.mazzula.com/live-sex/]live sex[/url]

Summer says:
September 18, 2013 12:59 PM
Appreciating the time and effort you put into your website and detailed information you present. It's nice to come across a blog every once in a while that isn't the same outdated rehashed material. Fantastic read! I've bookmarked your site and I'm including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

express manufacturer coupons says:
October 15, 2013 10:30 AM
The difference lies inside proven fact that these lenders will be more lenient and forgiving than other finance institutions [url=http://couponmania2014.com/express-coupons-printable-promo-code-discounts-20132014/]express manufacturer coupons[/url] thanks to the potential for comparing advance cash loan in s a poor credit loans apply on the internet and discover which can be best to suit your needs, it is possible to prepare yourself as a way to secure several month's payments.

Www.AnabolicCookingReview.info says:
November 5, 2013 10:20 AM
Undeniably consider that which you stated. Your favorite reason seemed to be at the web the simplest factor to remember of. I say to you, I certainly get annoyed while other people consider concerns that they plainly don't know about. You controlled to hit the nail upon the highest and defined out the whole thing without having side effect , folks could take a signal. Will probably be again to get more. Thank you

rebelmouse.com says:
November 20, 2013 8:51 PM
I'm really enjoying the design and layout of your website. It's a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more pleasant for me to come here and visit more often. Did you hire out a developer to create your theme? Great work!

casino in north carolina says:
December 15, 2013 4:08 PM
Good post. I learn something new and challenging on blogs I stumbleupon every day. It will always be interesting to read articles from other authors and use a little something from their websites.

Post a comment

     Verification (needed to reduce spam):




slug=timemachine byline=Kimberly Turner thumbnailtype=jpg thumbnailname=timemachine-thumb

OTHER STORIES

ADVERTISEMENT

FragranceNet.com

Hollywood Triple Feature $24 for 2 or more

Footlocker.com

StudentUniverse.com - Travel More. Spend Less

macys.com

Apple iTunes


Oh Dang! Copyright © 2006-2007. All Rights Reserved.