HomeFeaturesColumns/OpinionsReviewsAbout Us

The Grouch: Show You The World

By Darren Chapelreviews
Apr 21, 2008 - 8:30 PM


 
Any follower of independent west coast hip hop has to agree that The Grouch’s newest album, his first solo production in nearly half a decade, is way past overdue. Show You The World hit shelves on April 8th on Legendary Music, and followers of the Living Legends and Bay Area underground scene probably already have it locked in car stereos and iPods across the state.

With his distinct, smooth tone floated atop melodic yet raw beats, the album creates a unique, laid back listen that will appeal to a variety of hip hop fans. Delivery and flow are both spot on in this release, and anyone down with his previous projects won’t be disappointed. With a combination of socially conscious lyrics, artistic rhymes and clear passion for self-expression through music, this album ranks highly among recently released indie hip hop albums. His talent as a song writer has developed and clearly shows on this disc as his topics range from the personal and familial (“Breath,” “Bring it Back”) to humorous ("Artsy) and sociopolitical (“Mom and Pop Killer”).

Artsy:

Though he’s been busy doing various work for the Bay Area bred, L.A.-based eight piece, Living legends, he has finally found time to produce a truly standout album on his own.

“The Bay to L.A.,” featuring Murs, is one of many notable songs on the 15-track disc, a song that explains The Grouch’s love of both Northern and Southern California and his commitment to both music scenes over a hyphy beat. He dismisses the “plastic” image that many Nor-Calers associate with the dominant “Hills” and “Orange County,” and also explains why Oakland native has made L.A. his present home.

Also a standing out is The Grouch’s ability to diversify his beats throughout the album. Diverging from the standard banging bass, Show You The World employs acoustic guitar, horns and melodic singing to lay the foundation for his flows. “Hot Air Ballons” sounds something like Earth Wind and Fire, Louis Armstrong and Jamiroquai crunched into one head banging rhythm.

In one of the final tracks, The Grouch gives listeners a glimpse into his personal life and his responsibilities as a father and husband. Titled ‘Breath,’ the song is another notable track on this disc. A father since 2006, it seems the humbling and joyous experience of becoming a parent has embedded a new passion into The Grouch’s flow—definitely for the better.

Pick this album up; you won’t be disappointed. He sums it up perfectly on the fist track, “It’s all too relevant, raw yet eloquent.”

********

Darren Chapel is a 22-year-old Journalism student at SF State with unending musical tastes. He hopes to make a break into the freelance magazine writing world after earning a Master's degree from Cal Berkley or SF State.



Comments (30)


Frank says:
April 23, 2008 10:06 AM
Yo yo yo... This is straight up the tightest shit 'round. F yeah Darren, you know what the haps be.

free reverse phone lookup for cell phones says:
June 28, 2012 10:29 AM
Fine site. Tons of useful info here. Im sending it to a few pals ans also sharing in delicious. And obviously, thank someone to your effort

reverse phone lookup says:
July 17, 2012 9:55 AM
I am glad to be a visitor of this utter website ! , appreciate it for this rare information ! .

http://www.cellphonelookuped.com/ says:
July 17, 2012 10:51 AM
Spot up with this writeup, I truly think this fine website requirements far more consideration. Ill more likely once again to get to read additional, appreciate your that information.

cell phone lookup says:
December 2, 2012 4:05 PM
You'll need to seek out involved in a tournament for starters of the highest quality blogs over the internet. I am going to suggest this web site!

background check says:
December 15, 2012 11:43 AM
Very well written info. It will be helpful to anyone who usess it, because well as me. Keep doing what you are doing – i will definitely read more posts.

txvauzb says:
January 11, 2013 4:26 AM
tgapbvq

ntsleuz says:
January 16, 2013 8:30 PM
aukpxg

reverse phone number trace says:
March 18, 2013 8:43 AM
After study few of that the articles on your blog nowadays, and i love your technique of blogging. I tag it to my favorites net web site list and will be checking back soon. Please visit my web site too and let me recognize your thought.

reverse phone lookup google says:
March 30, 2013 2:33 AM
excellent points altogether, you merely received brand new reader. What could you recommend about your post that you only made some days ago? Any sure?

not fake says:
July 27, 2013 9:25 PM
This is a great way to obtain financing because it can be not necessarily about credit with Prosper [url=http://www.totallyrealsitenotfake2.com]not fake[/url] proceeds for a microloan can be utilized to finance furniture, equipment or provide working capital.

teds woodworking Review says:
August 2, 2013 4:09 AM
Thanks designed for sharing such a nice idea, piece of writing is nice, thats why i have read it completely

www.TheMultiOrgasmicLoverReview.com says:
August 4, 2013 7:05 PM
Thanks for sharing your thoughts on howtolastlonger. Regards

not fake says:
August 10, 2013 3:29 PM
Then, go in your bank and say to them what the figures for the car are [url=http://www.to0tallyrealsitenotfake2.com]not fake[/url] with many online payday financial institutions, simply entire the info online by having a secure server connection.

ninja blender 1200 says:
August 11, 2013 9:02 AM
Nice weblog here! Additionally your web site lots up fast! What web host are you using? Can I get your associate link in your host? I want my web site loaded up as quickly as yours lol

medium gratuit says:
August 17, 2013 12:57 PM
Novembre signe astrologique horoscope cancer hebdomadaire Feel free to visit my homepage - [url=http://www.monvoyant.org]medium gratuit[/url]

please click the next web page says:
August 18, 2013 6:11 AM
Hola! I've been reading your site for a while now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Austin Texas! Just wanted to tell you keep up the fantastic job!

voyance says:
August 20, 2013 2:34 AM
Astrologie balance ascendant balance horo haas Also visit my homepage; [url=http://www.foryou-wasserbett.com]voyance[/url]

Microsoft Office says:
August 20, 2013 7:58 AM
There is certainly a great deal to learn about this issue. I really like all of the points you've made. Stop by my webpage ... [url=http://Officeitsolution.com/]Microsoft Office[/url]

not fake says:
August 22, 2013 10:59 AM
If you are in necessity of cash and guidance is rare in the future by, since there's no security pledged or favorable credit standing to show, then, urgent money is apt in your case [url=http://Www.Totallyrea4Lstfake2.com/]not fake[/url] if you frequently build your payments without faltering any then gradually your people's credit reports start improving.

voyance gratuite immediate says:
August 27, 2013 2:24 AM
Question [url=http://www.discovergrandcanyontours.com/]voyance gratuite immediate[/url] tirage carte gratuite amour

voyance en ligne says:
August 28, 2013 5:34 AM
Signe horoscope chinois 2011 astrologie humaniste Feel free to visit my webpage; [url=http://www.countrysportscentre.com]voyance en ligne[/url]

voyance gratuite amour says:
August 28, 2013 9:41 PM
Portrait signe astrologique tirage de carte gratuit amour Look at my blog post: [url=http://www.voyantpartelephone.org]voyance gratuite amour[/url]

tarot en ligne says:
August 29, 2013 5:34 PM
Horoscope vierge du jour femme bbw horoscope de demain gratuit Here is my web-site; [url=http://www.urocomp.org]tarot en ligne[/url]

not fake says:
September 4, 2013 9:36 AM
I thought that this loan could possibly be an excellent approach to get the eye rate down around the 2nd card [url=http://www.total7otfake2.com]not fake[/url] yes, these individuals just bought the insurance and don't actually took advantage from your insurance aggregator program which, if used wisely naturally, could easily enable them to avoiding such trouble.

my website says:
November 3, 2013 6:43 PM
That's the kind of image that i really thing is super image like. If more images [url=http://www.goohjlessw.com]very real[/url] like this were out there we'd be super full of graet images in the world.

Free Microsoft Points says:
November 14, 2013 5:58 AM
Its not my first time to pay a visit this web site, i am browsing this web site dailly and obtain good information from here every day. Also visit my homepage [url=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aW3TYwSXGHI]Free Microsoft Points[/url]

Hacks and Cheats clash Of clans says:
December 1, 2013 2:23 AM
Appreciating the hard work you put into your website and in depth information you offer. It's nice to come across a blog every once in a while that isn't the same old rehashed information. Excellent read! I've saved your site and I'm adding your RSS feeds to my Google account. my web page: [url=http://www.imdb.com/list/eUjwZ-jMMDQ/]Hacks and Cheats clash Of clans[/url]

xnxx says:
December 7, 2013 11:18 AM
Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though you relied on the video to make your point. You clearly know what youre talking about, why throw away your intelligence on just posting videos to your site when you could be giving us something informative to read?

Reviews on The Truth About Fat Burning Foods says:
December 14, 2013 3:11 AM
Whats up very cool blog!! Man .. Beautiful .. Amazing .. I'll bookmark your web site and take the feeds additionally? I'm glad to seek out numerous helpful info right here within the put up, we'd like develop more techniques on this regard, thank you for sharing. . . . . .

Post a comment

     Verification (needed to reduce spam):




slug=grouch byline=Darren Chapel thumbnailtype=jpg thumbnailname=grouch-thumb

OTHER STORIES

ADVERTISEMENT

FragranceNet.com

Hollywood Triple Feature $24 for 2 or more

Footlocker.com

StudentUniverse.com - Travel More. Spend Less

macys.com

Apple iTunes


Oh Dang! Copyright © 2006-2007. All Rights Reserved.