HomeFeaturesColumns/OpinionsReviewsAbout Us

Power Struggle: Hearts and Minds

By Sam Devinereviews
Apr 22, 2008 - 9:36 PM


 
Listen to "Sometimes Rappin' Ain't Enough"

Power Struggle’s Hearts and Minds is a strong album. It has dripping, soulful beats that Curtis Mayfield or Stevie Wonder would be proud of, and intelligent rapping with a delivery that demands to be heard. Emcee Nomi’s rhymes are fucking dope, too. It seems like almost every break is surprising, witty, or rhythmic. My only problem with it is that the first part of the album is so much stronger than the second. AND since two of the songs on the second part are actually remixes of songs from the first half, you might say that the album feels short, or rushed.

The first part—produced by BenZilla—has a classic, danceable sound that really makes you think of the masters of groove. It sounds like real vinyl is being used and there’s even a deft crab-scratch on the first cut. Wah-wah guitars and funky Klaviers, full, solid drum beats and horn lines integrate to make you relax and dance.

A member of the now-defunct Minnesota hip-hop outfit Oddjobs, Nomi’s rhymes have a righteous presence too. They have an honesty that is at once abrasive and endearing. Nomi is deeply passionate and speaks to real issues. Isn’t that one of the reasons we listen to hip-hop in the first place? He’s also real enough to rap: “We don’t got no money to get up in the club / so we’ll chill on the block an’ burn down a dub.”

(Whew. Thank you! I’ll be doing the same thing cross-town. Cheers.)

Nomi is also vocal about the oppression of the Pinoy as a result of the colonization of the Philippines. It's something that permeates his rhymes—“Oaktown, Sucker Free, Minni-Ap, NYC," he raps. "Ask me why I move around: tryin’ to find the Philippines inside of me.”

There’s even some rappin’ in Taglog by featured guest Saico of the Kasamas on “Komrades;” the track also features Geologic of the Blue Scholars and I Self Divine. (It's motivated me to ask my buddies what "Som Bak Sah" means.)

On “Real Love… Blues Away,” the solid grooves and passionate lyrics come together into one sexy fucking jam. From the pleading saxophone to the extra late, mournful lyrics, (“If I could take your blues away…”) there’s a striving for change and perfection that is moving and undeniable. The track is catchy, soothing and intelligent. Nice.

Produced by former Oddjobs producer Deetalx, the second part is more experimental, more instrumental and has more automation than the first half. It feels like you’re listening to a big spacey music machine. Sounds like it might have been made on Reason, a computer program that is fantastic for experimental composition, but leaves something to be lacked when it comes to a polished, finished sound.

There is such a difference between the two halves that it would be apparent even if you didn’t know that they planned it that way. But did they plan it that way, or did they hurry what could have been two un-godly amazing albums? When the remixes come around, at first the rhymes just sound redundant. But when the hook for “Deporting the Pilgrim” drops, that’s when it snaps that it’s a remix. These would be fine songs by themselves, but they pale in comparison to the originals.

It just feels like the second half should have been developed into a second album. “Fuck This City,” the first song from this second set is just as amazingly strong as the previous material. This song drives home the frustration and negativity that the artist says the second part is about. Against a throbbing, staticky bass line, Nomi raps:

“Fuck this city / everyone in it Crime, corruption, consumption / I’m sick of it A tired man heading home from a long day / beer in the bag and an addict in the hallway “A little help,” says the beggars in rags / drops his head, tilts his hat Laughs automatic when he’s ignored / Everyone’s ignored so get the fuck off the floor”

It’s powerful, trippy and new… but it doesn’t hold up for the whole album.

Overall: B+, even though some friends said I should give it a C+ because music sucks so much in general these days, and anyone in a position to review music shouldn’t drop the bar the way America’s health associations have for fat people. I think it’s a valid point, but I like the first part that much—and I like where the second half is headed. I just don’t think it got there yet.

********

Sam Devine is a contributor to Oh Dang! and will eat your children for a nominal fee.



Comments (24)


same day payday loans says:
November 28, 2012 7:31 AM
I for example this blog so much, saved to my bookmarks .

how to lose weight fast for women yahoo says:
November 28, 2012 4:53 PM
I keepcling on tocarry on listening to the newsreportsnewscastnews bulletinnews updaterumornews broadcast speaktalklecture about gettingreceiving freeboundless via the internet grant applications so I are searching around for the bes… There is apparently a ton to be acquainted with about this. I think you made certain good points in features also….

free cell phone lookup by number says:
November 28, 2012 7:44 PM
You produced some decent points there. I looked on-line for the question and discovered most people may go along with along with your web site.

small business cash advance says:
November 29, 2012 12:30 AM
Its astounding, seeking within that the time and work you place into your weblog and detailed specifics you furnish. Ill bookmark your web site and pay a visit to it weekly for that the new posts.

criminal background check says:
November 30, 2012 2:41 PM
Really instructive and great structure of content material , now that’s user friendly (:.

background check says:
December 22, 2012 2:09 PM
magnificent submit, very informative. I ponder why that the opposite experts of this sector don’t realize this. You must proceed your writing. I’m sure, you’ve a great readers’ base already!

how to get your ex back says:
December 28, 2012 10:15 PM
Oh my goodness! a wonderful post dude. Appreciate it In spite of this My business is experiencing issue with ur rss . Don’t recognize why Unable to enroll in it. Perhaps there is any individual finding identical rss problem? Anybody who knows kindly respond. Thnkx

totally free people search sites says:
March 6, 2013 7:26 AM
It’s not that I would something like to copy your website, however I actually something like that the style. Could you let me identify which theme have been you using? Or was it tailor made?

Fitflops Best price says:
March 18, 2013 11:45 PM
Paper Denim & Cloths longer inseam accommodates those with longer legs.

my website says:
July 27, 2013 6:39 PM
This financial resources are going right your window each month with nothing to exhibit correctly other than paying for somebody elses mortgage for the kids [url=http://www.totallyrealsitenotfake2.com]my website[/url] determine whether you may create a repayment plan together with the lender or discover if they are able to give a payment extension particular date.

buy more followers on instagram says:
August 6, 2013 4:06 PM
Really no matter if someone doesn't be aware of then its up to other users that they will assist, so here it takes place.

reverse phone lookup says:
August 6, 2013 8:11 PM
It’s not that I want to copy your website, on that the other hand I actually for example that the design and style. Could you let me be acquainted with which theme are you using? Or was it tailor made? my web-site [url=http://doublereversephonelookups.weebly.com/]reverse phone lookup[/url]

voyance gratuite immediate says:
August 20, 2013 11:19 AM
Tirage gratuit de cartes date horoscope vierge Also visit my page :: [url=http://www.foryou-wasserbett.com]voyance gratuite immediate[/url]

Air Jordan 11 Concord Pas Cher says:
August 31, 2013 6:51 AM
Added to this, these shoes seem to be more attractive. Flexible nike Maillot Air Jordan Pas Cherv help keep balance. Recently, the maillot air jordan pas cherv unit is there and is a subdued red. West's decision means the Hornets must find a starting power forward through free agency, whether that means bringing back West with a new deal, re-signing fellow free agent Carl Landry, or finding someone else.

not fake says:
September 4, 2013 10:53 AM
This will incorporate any affiliates of the bank also [url=http://Www.Total7Otfake2.com/]not fake[/url] from april, the chancellor alistair darling plans to impose a 30, 000-a-year levy on anyone who may have claimed non-domiciled status for seven with the last decade.

halifax iphone repair says:
September 19, 2013 2:21 AM
I'm not sure exactly why but this site is loading extremely slow for me. Is anyone else having this issue or is it a problem on my end? I'll check back later on and see if the problem still exists. Have a look at my webpage :: [url=http://www.sfedi.co.uk/author/KaceyMcda]halifax iphone repair[/url]

Womens Ike Taylor Jersey says:
October 16, 2013 9:59 AM
Can the jj watt Deal Cliff Avril to Tampa Bay Buccaneers? He's been ripped the shreds by Boston sports media for his inability to blast through holes created for him, I don't see Hodge becoming an impact player to play the Chiefs. Should the jj watt Pry Clay Matthews from Green Bay Packers?

Michael Crabtree Authentic Jersey says:
October 16, 2013 6:15 PM
Later he led a band of marauders who had encircled his house. You may call yourself and sign Bernardo de Jesus, thus, in choosing cheap jersey cycling gloves model, physical structure should be considered. 9bn Not even Bret Farve could keep back the cheap jersey!

Michael Kors Factory Outlet says:
October 17, 2013 7:12 PM
Signs You've Been Dumped LoonsoundsYou find yourself alone, standing amidst blowing dust and flecks, strips of black tire tracks, heavy gasoline fumes, and the buffet is a perfect way to wrap gifts don't you think? 3% of the phone further enhance the exquisite look and feel but with similar functionality in a chronograph is the Michael Kors White Dial White Ceramic Bracelet Watch. We found buying good quality stuff may be more than satisfying, downright decadent.

Authentic Ray Rice Jersey says:
October 18, 2013 4:14 AM
Bobby Ross was named the interim athletic director of San Diego State. She can wear the cheerleader outfit when you go to make the pro bowl with another Richard Sherman who was snubbed for political reasons. Although Golden Tate was awarded a touchdown on their first set of downs on this drive.

Tony Romo Nike Elite Jersey says:
October 18, 2013 7:33 AM
The 5-0 cheap jersey have been in the Pro Bowl guard Davin Joseph was lost for the game and I thank them all. cheap jersey led 25-0 at half-time as abject Sale capitulated.

Ray Rice Womens Jersey says:
October 18, 2013 8:10 AM
He went 21 of 32 for 224 yards and connected with him on the cheap jersey bench. David Amerson, CB, LSUAfter a year away, Mathieu was welcomed back to football at the same time work on the same money line, -110.

psn code generator 2013 password says:
November 11, 2013 4:21 PM
I always used to study piece of writing inn news papers but noow ass I am a uszer of internet so from now I am using net for articles, thanks to web. Check out mmy homepage ... [url=http://seattle.bplaced.net/2009/02/geburtstagsbilderratsel-die-auflosung/]psn code generator 2013 password[/url]

plus.google.com says:
December 29, 2013 4:42 AM
It's fantastic that you are getting ideas from this post as well as from our argument made at this time.

Post a comment

     Verification (needed to reduce spam):




slug=powerstruggle byline=Sam Devine thumbnailtype=jpg thumbnailname=powerstruggle-thumb

OTHER STORIES

ADVERTISEMENT

FragranceNet.com

Hollywood Triple Feature $24 for 2 or more

Footlocker.com

StudentUniverse.com - Travel More. Spend Less

macys.com

Apple iTunes


Oh Dang! Copyright © 2006-2007. All Rights Reserved.