HomeFeaturesColumns/OpinionsReviewsAbout Us

People Under the Stairs: Fun DMC

By Jamilah Kingreviews
Nov 26, 2008 - 1:20 AM


 
Listen to "Anotha BBQ"

Recently, rap mogul P.Diddy announced that he’s releasing an electro-pop-soul album. Haters and fans probably wondered how much he was inspired by Kanye’s 808s and Heartbreaks. And while underground hip-hip heads may not exactly be checking for Diddy’s latest venture, the move has got to make you wonder: does anyone just do straight up hip-hop anymore? And does such a thing even exist?

The answer is mixed. On Fun DMC, the sixth studio album from underground heavyweights People Under the Stairs, emcees/producers Double K and Thes One take their dub-influenced production and tight vocals to the level of unfuckwidable by sticking to exactly what they know best. And they do it by talking about the trials and tribulations of two ordinary hip-hop heads from LA.



The album is packed with their classic California house party sound, but also segways into moments of deep introspection, where the rappers explore fleeting memories and death. Along the way, they offer up their ‘fuck you’ to whack gangsta rappers. “Fuck drug dealers, I got addicts in my family” says Thes on “Critical Condition.”

The LA-based b-boys dug deep to showcase their fun-loving feel. On their website, they say they wanted to “get the ambiance of the dudes playing dominoes, the meat sizzling on the grill, the planes flying by…” Accordingly, most of the album was recorded live at summer picnics and BBQs, with short interludes of old-timers talking about high school sweethearts and ping-pong.

It’s cheesy as hell to say that they’ve ‘come full circle,’ but they’ve definitely proved once again why they’re a force to be reckoned with. The album’s content is basically a list of certified bangers, spanning everything from the party life (“The Fun”) to Sly & Robbie inspired community anthems (“People’s Riddim”). And of course, there’s the obligatory Cali anthem, “California,” which seamlessly riffs off Dre and Pac’s “California Love.”

In a musical age of vocoders and everyone searching for the next best trend, it’s refreshing to hear a group stick to a formula that works.

********

Jamilah King likes to call herself a writer as long as it pays the bills. She's currently an editor for WireTap Magazine, and her writing has also appeared in the San Francisco Bay Guardian, TheNation.com and on her bootleg blog, Grits & Eggs.



Comments (15)


Bassy Dave says:
January 16, 2009 4:10 PM
Great review. You are the first one to pick up on a lot of their beat-making tendencies whereabout the unorthodox hip-hop rhythm takes on a dub feel, which I love. I agree with all your sentiments about the album, except one thing. Dre and Pac's "California Love" used the talkbox vocal riff from the original Zapp & Roger song "california Love". PUTS most likely sampled the original source. I recommend giving a listen to 2002 PUTS album "OST" if you enjoyed these dope cuts.

david says:
January 16, 2009 4:17 PM
Great review. You are the first one to pick up on a lot of their beat-making tendencies whereabout the unorthodox hip-hop rhythm takes on a dub feel, which I love. I agree with all your sentiments about the album, except one thing. Dre and Pac's "California Love" used the talkbox vocal riff from the original Zapp & Roger song "california Love". PUTS most likely sampled the original source. I recommend giving a listen to 2002 PUTS album "OST" if you enjoyed these dope cuts.

Christian Louboutin Outlet says:
April 18, 2013 9:14 PM
And this is one of the few reasons why almost 70% of wholesale clothing business start-ups fail in their first year.

http://essayacademy.org/ says:
May 30, 2013 6:04 AM
Nice post and it would be great for everyone. Thanks a lot for spreading this information here.

my website says:
August 11, 2013 10:37 AM
You can send them a post-dated make sure that covers the credit amount and also the service charge, or instruct these phones debit the whole amount out of your banking account about the due date [url=http://www.totallyreal4sitenotfake2.com]my website[/url] enterprises that accommodate currency charters for restaurants are a lot more than happy to help you get started attain a staunch approach of your hard earned money bind.

voyance en ligne says:
August 20, 2013 9:22 PM
Expert voyance voyance gratuite belgique Feel free to surf to my site :: [url=http://www.foryou-wasserbett.com]voyance en ligne[/url]

medicare insurance says:
August 29, 2013 2:25 PM
For the reason that the admin of this site is working, no hesitation very rapidly it will be well-known, due to its feature contents.

Dell laptop batteries says:
September 12, 2013 2:19 PM
That is very kind of you to write this share for us, thanks a lot.

kredyt gotówkowy rzeszów says:
September 20, 2013 12:00 PM
Everything is very open with a clear description of the issues. It was definitely informative. Your site is very helpful. Many thanks for sharing! Also visit my blog :: [url=http://www.iamrichbitch.com/2013/09/no-credit-verify-payday-loans/]kredyt gotówkowy rzeszów[/url]

exercise For face says:
October 3, 2013 9:38 AM
Heya i'm for the first time here. I came across this board and I in finding It truly helpful & it helped me out much. I am hoping to present something back and help others like you helped me.

Hurrah! In the end I got a blog from where I be able to really obtain helpful facts regarding my study and knowledge.

Mckenzie says:
November 29, 2013 10:01 PM
I got this web page from my buddy who told me concerning this web site and now this time I am browsing this site and reading very informative content here.

Boost Your Bust Review says:
December 7, 2013 8:13 PM
Hi, after reading this amazing paragraph i am as well happy to share my experience here with colleagues.

blogspot.com says:
December 9, 2013 10:44 AM
I go to see everyday a few web pages and sites to read content, except this webpage presents feature based articles.

Visit Website says:
January 1, 2014 2:05 PM
I like your blog.Thanks for the post.I am waiting for your new post.

Post a comment

     Verification (needed to reduce spam):




slug=fundmc byline=Jamilah King thumbnailtype=jpg thumbnailname=fundmc-thumb

OTHER STORIES

ADVERTISEMENT

FragranceNet.com

Hollywood Triple Feature $24 for 2 or more

Footlocker.com

StudentUniverse.com - Travel More. Spend Less

macys.com

Apple iTunes


Oh Dang! Copyright © 2006-2007. All Rights Reserved.