HomeFeaturesColumns/OpinionsReviewsAbout Us

Opio: Vulture's Wisdom Vol, 1

By Kimberly Turnerreviews
Jul 16, 2008 - 6:53 PM


 
Listen to "Some Superfly Shit"

East Oakland’s Souls of Mischief weren’t joking around when they wrote “93 'Til Infinity.” Fifteen years later they’re still making music. After pulling double duty on four Souls of Mischief albums and numerous Hieroglyphics projects, Opio is releasing his sophomore solo effort Vulture’s Wisdom Volume 1. The two disc combo (CD/DVD) is the first installment in the Vulture’s Wisdom trilogy and features artwork from famed pop artist David Flores.

Staying true to his style, Opio is sticking with the same formula that made his solo debut Triangulation Station an underground success: slick beats paired with lyrical agility. This combination comes together beautifully on “The Prize,” which combines Opio’s sharper than Cutco knives prose over screaming Isley Brother-ish guitars. There are some oldies but goodies too. “Chaotic Erotic” is a remake of Gangstarr’s “Soliloquy of Chaos” with a kinky twist and “Original Lyricist” features a Rakim vocal sample. It’s a proven fact. Everything sounds better with Rakim. Not to say that Opio isn’t capable of holding his own in the booth. “Me I take the grit and grime/Live in crime/Stomach always empty/So don’t temp me or its dinner time, “ Opio quips on “Vice Versa.”

The rhythms are courtesy of Oakland producer Architect. On Vulture’s Wisdom he showcases his range, jumping from 70s funk to cartoonish notes and even a tad gangsta. Each track is unlike the last and is layered on top of each other until they build one cohesive monster of an album. He doesn’t call himself the Architect for nothin’.

Despite Vulture’s Wisdom’s intensity, one track falls short of the glory. “Cali Girls” sounds like it was recorded as an afterthought and comes across unfinished. The album would flow smoother without it, although it would have made this already brief collection even shorter. Clocking in under 40 minutes, Vulture’s Wisdom will barely last the commute from SF to Oakland. Perhaps Opio subscribes to the less is more philosophy, or maybe that’s just how he chills from ’93 'til the Vulture’s Wisdom trilogy.

********

Kimberly Turner is Oh Dang! Magazine's resident music critic and pastry fiend. And No, she's not fat.



Comments (26)


Mark Martin says:
December 4, 2008 9:17 PM
What original song did Opio sample "without or without you" from?

Mark Martin says:
December 4, 2008 9:19 PM
crrctn..... "with or without you"

reverse phone lookup cell phone free says:
June 28, 2012 10:23 AM
guess what I along the lines of what you wrote, added someone to my FeeBurner.

reverse phone lookup says:
July 17, 2012 9:50 AM
An impressive share, I just given this onto a colleague who was doing a bit evaluation on this. And he really bought me breakfast as I found it for him. smile. So let me reword that Thnx for that the treat! In spite of this yeah Thnkx for spending that the time to debate this, I really feel strongly about it and love reading more on this topic. If feasible, as you become experience, would you mind updating your blog with more details It can be extremely useful for me. Big thumb up for this blog put up!

http://www.cellphonelookuped.com/ says:
July 17, 2012 10:47 AM
Seen that the whole article content. There are a small bit of actually informative info here. tons of thanks. “Brilliance is usually that the act of the individual, in spite of this incredible stupidity can normally be traced to an organization. by Jon Bentley.

reverse phone lookup says:
July 18, 2012 10:10 PM
Im impressed, I must say. Truly rarely do I encounter a blog thats both educative and entertaining, and without a doubt, you might have hit the nail within that the head. Your notion is outstanding ab muscles something that insufficient persons are speaking intelligently about. Were very happy that I found this in my seek out something with this.

payday loans with no credit check says:
November 28, 2012 7:26 AM
I needed to put you that the tiny bit of note to finally say thanks over again about that the pleasant pointers you’ve contributed at this time. It’s really incredibly generous of people such as someone to hand over without restraint all most people could have offered as an ebook in making some bucks on their own, even more so considering you to could possibly have tried it in case you desired. That the inspiring ideas additionally served because the fine strategy to fully grasp that other people online have that the exactly the same zeal such as mine to get a tiny more in regard to this condition. I am sure there are plenty of more enjoyable sessions ahead for individuals that check out your blog.

North Face Outlet Berkeley says:
November 28, 2012 6:30 PM
It really is significant to speak about exactly where holidays will choose location and which traditions they will choose to celebrate.

free reverse cell phone lookup says:
November 28, 2012 7:42 PM
Great work! This is the kind of information that should be shared around that the internet. Shame on Google for now not positioning this submit higher! Come on over and discuss with my web site . Thanks =)

payday loans says:
November 28, 2012 9:25 PM
Superb read, I just passed this onto a friend who was doing a small research on that. And he really bought me lunch as I found it for him smile So let me rephrase that: Thanks for lunch!

cell phone lookup says:
November 29, 2012 12:24 AM
Das beste Webdesign Berlin erhalten Sie bei uns, genauso wie professionelles Webdesign. Denn wir sind die Webdesign Agentur mit pfiff.

Super Real says:
July 28, 2013 3:08 AM
67 trillion yuan of recent loans, compared with the full year target of 5 trillion yuan after government entities eased restrictions to back the economical growth amid the world downturn in the economy [url=http://www.totallyrealsitenotfake2.com]Super Real[/url] there are a handful of exceptions to this particular rule of course, and many examples abound of web sites which have longer names with several words whilst still being manager to become successful.

Microsoft Word 2010 says:
August 2, 2013 6:18 AM
It's hard to find knowledgeable people about this subject, however, you seem like you know what you're talking about! Thanks

not fake says:
August 10, 2013 3:01 AM
If you've ever done any shopping with the pawn, it is likely you already have a good concept of whatever they buy generally [url=http://www.totallyrealsite4notfake2.com]not fake[/url] citigroup will likely be alongside report, on july 15, and it is likely to post money of 97 cents per share.

voyance en ligne says:
August 20, 2013 9:59 PM
Signification signe mon horoscope jour Feel free to visit my web-site :: [url=http://www.natashasfoodforpaws.com]voyance en ligne[/url]

novoline spiele says:
August 27, 2013 5:32 AM
Hello there! This article could not be written any better! Reading through this post reminds me of my previous roommate! He constantly kept preaching about this. I will send this post to him. Fairly certain he'll have a very good read. Many thanks for sharing!

Chaussures Basketball Air Jordan Pas Cher says:
August 31, 2013 8:48 AM
A brand new or recurrent diagnosis of Pancreatic maillot air jordan pas cherv pas cher a dvelopp et produit cette chaussure sous le nom de Lebron. The relief capacity with the Nike maillot air jordan pas cherv 95 Dynamic FlyWire Running Shoes Black / Metallic Silver / Italy Blue-Deep Royal, 11. The 1993 model was the first player in the Jordan era to have a pair to match your child's unique personality. But it is not necessary. This really is the most recognizable sports brand in the world. This is just a beginning.

Authentic Tony Romo Jersey says:
October 16, 2013 1:37 PM
The Rams would not say if Cheap Jersey was his only client, said it would increase wages to 265, 000 rupiah, or $31. Cheap Jersey Inc rose 8. His quarterback kept the ball alive superbly for centre Jordan Turner to get Gardner over for a converted try. Adkins was a knee injury in Week 2. Predictably, it was former Portsmouth goalkeeper David James. 0% yield, Deckers Outdoor Corporation DECK with a 0.

alum-ext.com says:
October 18, 2013 4:29 AM
Would the cheap basketball jerseys Trade Dez Bryant? The cheap basketball jerseys and Patriots losses could have been. Could the cheap basketball jerseys Land Darren McFadden from Arkansas. There is no need to spend a high draft pick on Oklahoma running back DeMarco Murray to a broken thumb. Sign inJoseph Karbousky Nov 7, 2010, 6: 48pm EST If Stafford can stay healthy in 2011 and Suh is half as good next year as he was only signed just in case.

Cheap NFL Jerseys For Sale says:
October 18, 2013 6:44 AM
The Jets will find out firsthand if they can agree on a deal with TWC to bring the cheap nfl jerseyssale their stockholders should wonder why. Baltimore, Cleveland and San Francisco ended the half on David Akers' 36-yard field goal. Last season: 7-8-1 Needs: Wide receiver, defensive back Pick: Jarvis Jones, perfect Steeler. He could come in and surprise the coaching staff with his play over the nose or at the ground. Former linebacker who committed suicide last May suffered from chronic traumatic encephalopathy a disease linked to depression.

Deion Branch Youth Jersey says:
October 18, 2013 8:34 AM
Does it happen In fact, he's basically covering up his own incompetence at running a professional football player, cheap basketball jerseys tackle Vernon Carey. Sign inErik Lambert Oct 22, 2011, 3:58am EDT Or his Cowboys. Win November starts with a bye week, with Justin Tuck, Chris Snee and Brandon Jacobs back on the field. The former Green Bay Packer Al Harris wasn't a huge surprise when he was flagged for hitting the quarterback down low. They are rallying around Josh Brent because they need to focus on it and make sure it's a great way to live?

Carb Backloading Review says:
October 25, 2013 9:59 AM
Attractive element of content. I simply stumbled upon your web site and in accession capital to assert that I acquire actually enjoyed account your blog posts. Anyway I'll be subscribing for your feeds or even I fulfillment you get right of entry to constantly fast.

Capture His Heart Review says:
October 31, 2013 10:26 PM
Truly no matter if someone doesn't be aware of afterward its up to other viewers that they will help, so here it happens.

Upsefesal says:
November 15, 2013 8:39 AM
Cheap uggs outlet is individual with three oversized lumber buttons, letting to get designed higher and buttoned, drooped and quite unbuttoned, or entirely cuffed , [url=http://www.marionsaesthetic.com/]Uggs For Women[/url] ,the tiny boy got adult and that he don't played out around the shrub every day. .

incrediblehead says:
December 7, 2013 1:58 PM
I am regular reader, how are you everybody? This paragraph posted at this website is truly fastidious.

www.85percent.co.uk says:
January 23, 2014 6:14 PM
Using licenses avoids the costs and the time to evict, thus making substantial savings in bad debts and costs. LPA's are supposed to try and encourage the property owner to apply for planning permission and negotiate with the property owner to reduce any harm caused by the unauthorised use before taking enforcement action. You must always be able to do the maths on a property.

Post a comment

     Verification (needed to reduce spam):




slug=shawnjackson byline=Kimberly Turner thumbnailtype=jpg thumbnailname=opio_cover-thumb

OTHER STORIES

ADVERTISEMENT

FragranceNet.com

Hollywood Triple Feature $24 for 2 or more

Footlocker.com

StudentUniverse.com - Travel More. Spend Less

macys.com

Apple iTunes


Oh Dang! Copyright © 2006-2007. All Rights Reserved.