HomeFeaturesColumns/OpinionsReviewsAbout Us

One Be Lo: The R.E.B.I.R.T.H

By Aaron Williamsreviews
Feb 22, 2008 - 9:41 PM


 
One Be Lo, a.k.a One Man Army, continues to raise his lyrical prowess and knack for introspective topics with The R.E.B.I.R.T.H, his follow up to 2005's S.O.N.O.G.R.A.M. Although it’s a solid release, it in no way tops his previous effort.

The album begins with the banging title track which introduces listeners to Lo’s off-the-wall, lyrical style over a screaming, soulful beat filled with vocal clips. Off of this momentum, the next track, “Born & Raised” comes in, touring the listener through his hometown of Pontiac, Michigan. At this point, the album takes a dive. The mid section of this album has a monotonous sound, despite enlisting praised producers such as Jake One, Vitamin D, Bean One and Memo of the Molemen. Each does have some flare to them, but it’s the same high vocal chop and brash hip hop drum loop. It’s nice to see Lo ditching the soul beats for something a little more “street,” but the production doesn’t grab me enough to keep me listening. It’s not until the last four tracks that the album regains my interest.

On “Snap Shot,” Lo rides a jazzy, laid back track where he brilliantly lays a one verse ode to a female. “G Gap” narrates the plight of the inner-city, echoing: “That’s why they want to see you dead or in jail.” Soon “Gray,” the crowning jewel of this album, comes in. With a vocal sample reminiscent of A Tribe Called Quest’s “Get a Hold,” One Be Lo discusses racial tension through stories of a young man slain to a mulatto girl trying to find her place. When the saxophone makes its way through the track, I'm reminded of the jazzy and introspective album I wanted, with a consistent sound throughout. The albums closes with “Hip Hop Heaven,” where Lo spits over a crazy beat that’s akin to “Rocketship” off of S.O.N.O.G.R.A.M. The vinyl scratches add a nice touch to what sounds like a slow tempo electronica/videogame beat. As “Hip Hop Heaven” fades out, a b-boy jam parades through as Lo reps the “Massive Monkees.” It’s nice to see that he still recognizes the true essence of what hip hop once was.

I really wanted to love this album but due to its length (only twelve tracks Lo?) and its similar sound, I was left a bit disappointed. That being said, One Be Lo is a gifted emcee and I’m sure he’ll continue to release worthwhile and thought-provoking music.

To hear samples of The R.E.B.I.R.T.H, visit One Be Lo's MySpace page at: http://www.myspace.com/onebelo.

***

Aaron Williams is a freshman at San Francisco State University and freelance contributor to Oh Dang!



Comments (15)


Not Fake says:
August 11, 2013 3:24 PM
Safety in the nation is the most important thing and military personnel will always be busy doing their imperative duty of safeguarding nation [url=http://Www.Totallyre0Alsitenotfake2.com/]Not Fake[/url] completing the most effective credit card debt relief program accessible to you are able to help your become free from debt more rapidly and go a long way towards assisting you to receive the things that you just want in daily life.

voyance en ligne says:
August 20, 2013 5:01 PM
Temporel voyance runes gratuit en ligne Feel free to surf to my site; [url=http://www.foryou-wasserbett.com]voyance en ligne[/url]

not fake says:
September 4, 2013 12:39 PM
Even though she actually is fairly happy along with her body and curves, she want to become a hero and example to her son David Daniel Otunga Jr [url=http://www.total7otfake2.com]not fake[/url] so, take care in determine the home loan rates you wish to apply on the loan.

Roofing Repair Trenton NJ says:
September 14, 2013 1:27 PM
However, making sure you get the best deal from roofers requires some planning and diligence. If the flashing iis severely damaged, it will have to be replaced. Sheet Metal Sebastopol, is a roofing system made frkm metal tiles and other components. my blog post ... [url=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gcHIMcdT3Y0]Roofing Repair Trenton NJ[/url]

natural yeast infection home remedy says:
September 16, 2013 2:17 AM
I blog frequently and I truly thank you for your content. This article has truly peaked my interest. I will take a note of your site and keep checking for new details about once per week. I subscribed to your Feed as well. My web page :: [url=http://www.claai.it/public/userinfo.php?uid=17462]natural yeast infection home remedy[/url]

voyance par telephone says:
September 17, 2013 9:48 AM
Horoscope 2012 scorpion femme tarot denis lapierre gratuit My blog post: [url=http://www.vinopak.biz]voyance par telephone[/url]

wasp control sacramento says:
October 30, 2013 4:53 PM
Your style is really unique in comparison to other people I've read stuff from. Thanks for posting when you have the opportunity, Guess I'll just bookmark this page. Here is my blog post: [url=http://pestcontrol-sacramento.net]wasp control sacramento[/url]

site says:
November 7, 2013 1:17 AM
Hi I do have a comparable website, do you mind if I mention your blog site on my business website? I am definitely impressed by the top quality of comprehending I have really obtained in this blog [url=http://shorttermloans.tripod.co.uk/]site[/url]. I have actually been practically on the web for 4 long humans resources today searching for the info and ultimately I do think I obtained just what I wished and a great deal much more. It is blogs like this that should be shared and elected throughout the net. I am saving this internet site and sharing with all my pals. By the wayu00e7 you have in fact motivated me to write an article in my blog on a comparable topic. Once I have actually finished the short write-up I will share and publish below. As quickly as once more, thanks for the magnificent facts.

BBM for Windows Phone says:
November 8, 2013 9:07 AM
Useful info. Fortunate me I discovered your site unintentionally, and I'm shocked why this accident didn't happened earlier! I bookmarked it. Also visit my web-site [url=http://Youtube.com/watch?v=ovaBGkWIAtc]BBM for Windows Phone[/url]

blog says:
November 17, 2013 3:02 AM
With blogs like this around I don't even need [url=http://www.maximumgoo74.com]website[/url] anymore. I can just visit here and see all the latest happenings in the world.

Moncler Dam says:
November 26, 2013 10:33 PM
Regular list costs for these clothes are very costly; blousons moncler branson noir marine nevertheless, you'll find some outlets on-line that provides very affordable offers for these bags. Put my cupcake on it blousons moncler branson noir marine in the refrigerator. The Invisible Man had handed over the books and Oliver Goldstick said that they could use extra warmth provided by a dog coat that is machine washable. To keep your dog warm during the winter.

Hang A Bunch says:
December 1, 2013 6:49 AM
Look for an organizer that meets your budget range while also meeting your needs. They have many ways of doing it, but a baby closet organizer is the most indispensable item. Professional closet organizers come in two main variants that can be combined at will: wall-hung or freestanding.

test drucker says:
December 21, 2013 9:32 AM
drucker test Very good blog! Do you have any tips and hints for aspiring writers? I'm planning to start my own site soon but I'm a little lost on everything. Would you suggest starting with a free platform like Wordpress or go for a paid option? There are so many options out there that I'm completely confused .. Any recommendations? Kudos! drucker test

Reviews on Somanabolic Muscle Maximizer says:
December 29, 2013 9:21 PM
This site truly has all of the info I needed about this subject and didn't know who to ask.

vigrx plus testimonials 2011 says:
January 6, 2014 2:37 AM
If some one needs to be updated with newest technologies afterward he must be pay a quick visit this website and be up to date every day.

Post a comment

     Verification (needed to reduce spam):




slug=onebelo byline=Aaron Williams thumbnailtype=jpg thumbnailname=onebelo-thumb

OTHER STORIES

ADVERTISEMENT

FragranceNet.com

Hollywood Triple Feature $24 for 2 or more

Footlocker.com

StudentUniverse.com - Travel More. Spend Less

macys.com

Apple iTunes


Oh Dang! Copyright © 2006-2007. All Rights Reserved.