HomeFeaturesColumns/OpinionsReviewsAbout Us

Nothing But Air: Icer Air 2007

By Jamie Roca, Photos by Gretchen Robinettereviews
Nov 25, 2007 - 8:10 PM



View Large Photo & Audio Slideshow Here


At the top of a 10-story slope starting high and deep centerfield of the San Francisco Giants’ home stadium, Chas Guldemond snowboards down a 200-ton, snow-filled ramp and into the dip, disappearing from view at the base below. Two seemingly long seconds later and in perfect timing, Guldemond, known to “up the ante,” shoots out on his board from a ramp, twirls in the air and busts a smooth and full 1080 (three rotations) with a super-clean landing.

Hundreds of feet below him, thousands of people clustered at the landing base throw their arms in the air and yell out a few curse words and woots as he plays this card. It’s hot as hell in November, especially with the sun bouncing off the snow, reflecting a bright light back to the surrounding crowd.

On Nov. 3-4, Icer Air 2007 delivered a mighty big air snowboard and ski competition at AT&T Park, featuring snow bound pro athletes with notches such as the X Games, US Open, Vans Cup and Olympics. Icer Air is the largest arena big air competition and it’s settling in for the second time at AT&T Park. Their first big air comp in 2005 took place on the steepest streets in San Francisco and drew over 15,000 people to its daring, artificial snowed-in hills. This year, the Nevada-based snowboard wax company added three additional ramps for pro and amateur BMX and skate competitions and a motocross exhibition to round off their extreme sports showcase to over 30,000 people. The two-day event also featured live performances, including Talib Kweli and Mos Def who stole the audience through a few familiar beats at the event’s closing.

Big air competition can be about calculated risks or all-or-nothing gambles pulled from a bag ‘o tricks that leave the crowd in disbelief. But landing the trick with style and perfection is what gives the gamble-prone competitive athlete a shot at the $15,000 prize. It takes uncanny instinct and skill to nab the top spot in this aerial comp.

Guldemond scores 99.9 for that trick—gutsy, and virtually unbeatable, for a first run in the qualifying heat. But there’s stiff competition for Guldemond, who advances to the finals with pros Andreas Wiig, Ian Thorley, Wyatt Caldwell, Tim Humphreys, Jeremy Thompson, and last year’s Icer Air winner, Travis Rice.

These particular sports gods seem laid back, generally unpretentious, and hang as if they are all on the same team. After a run, they strip off their boards or skis, goggles, hats and jackets, chill at the rail near the landing and talk about tricks while the next competitor climbs 211 stairs to reach the top of the slope. One skier can’t find his poles and another announces a torn boot. There is media hovering nearby and they are fed accordingly. “What did you tell them,” asks one of the boarders as Rice goes to hang at the rail. Rice grins mischievously and responds: “I just talk about chicks. [Whatever’s] cheesy.”

It’s time for the qualifying ski runs. “Oooooh,” says the crowd as Mike Riddle drops in switch (ski backwards), executes an ill trick in the air but fails to land. “Awwwww.” Sammy Carlson lands a switch 9 (two and a half rotations). Jon Olsson skis down wearing a black collared shirt with pinstripes underneath his jersey and lands a proper switch 1080. But TJ Schiller tops Olsson’s wager and lands a switch 1080 with a double grab. He strips some of his gear at the base and walks over to Olsson with a smirk: “I wasn’t going to do it until I saw you do it.”

It’ll be a few hours until big air finals and a BMX competition is brewing at the Village. It’s a parking lot-turned-festival outside the ballpark: bodies, lines for alcohol, and booths marketing everything from headphones to energy drinks. Sixteen-year-old AJ sitting right outside the gates of the Village says he’s leaving for home. “I just came to see the snowboarding and try and get free stuff.”

At the far edge, there is a BMX park that resonates fierce competition. The music pounds and drives adrenaline. These bikers are relentless, aggressive. They’ve been repeatedly told to stop and clear for the next round but they keep at it with tricks, sometimes with two riders going in different directions. These bikers have scrapes on their arms and hands. They’ve got doorknobs for elbows and perhaps that feature comes from crashing into pavement a hundred times.

These BMX athletes kick up the competition by doing bike flips off ramps, and it drives the crowd into hysterical, back-to-back bursts. Several thumps are heard from the biker bodies that drop onto the wooden floor after a failed trick. Biker Nick Valencia takes his bike to the wall, falls over 8 feet and jacks up his knee on the way down.

It’s dusk by the time finals start and people fill into the mid-level seats. Skiers Sean Field, Mike Riddle, Tanner Rainville, Sammy Carlson, TJ Schiller, Jon Olsson and Simon Dumont make their way up the stairs. Carlson takes third place with this sick trick: he comes down switch, busts a 1080 and then lands in switch. Simon Dumont takes a huge risk on the last run with a 1260 (three and a half rotations). He doesn’t land it but nabs second place with a corked (off-axis) 1080 from his second run. Jon Olsson clean-sweeps first place with his signature Kangaroo Flip (skis forward, double flip, lands switch) in the first and near perfect third run.

The gold winner for big air snowboard is none other than Travis Rice, who insures his winnings with a sa-weet double rodeo (black flip) 1080 and a simple but stylish backside (in goofy stance: counter clockwise spin) 180 with a double grab. Tim Humphries takes second place dropping a Cab 9 (starts switch, two and a half rotations). Chas Guldemond, nominated ‘Rookie of the Year’ by Transworld Snowboarding in 2006, Slopestyle silver winner at 2006 US Open, and Slopestyle bronze winner in 2007 Honda Session, moves up two notches from last year’s Icer Air comps to take third place with a 1080.

Guldemond may not be as experienced with professional comps as the others, but he’s definitely raising brows with 10’s and 12’s wherever he goes. He’s the hungry new comer with a bag full of ballsy tricks that yields a return on odds.

Icer Air was an enormous two-day winter tease and their pre-season strategy works: Remember this thrill and count the days until ski season in December.

***

Jaime Roca is a wanderlust who loves to chop it up with harmless, personable strangers. When she is not working or navigating through the seeming throes of The Fool, you'll find her checking out of the country. She thinks her lost puppy-dog, BamBam, still kicks it in the City. Her favorite SF grid: Second Streets and surrounding.

Gretchen Robinette is a freelance photographer who shoots 300-500 photos a day. Double Espressos and Red Bull are her fuel. Photography is her life until the day she dies, and in her grave will be her body and her Canon.



Comments (44)


super Real says:
July 28, 2013 12:35 AM
He is speaking about an operation which could speed up the rebuilding of your broken-down franchise [url=http://www.totallyrealsitenotfake2.com]super Real[/url] but when she returned to the phone, she started naming off all of the accounts that they saw listed on my small credit history.

Ted Mcgrath Woodworking Review says:
August 1, 2013 11:29 PM
If some one wants expert view concerning blogging and site-building after that i advise him/her to pay a visit this blog, Keep up the fastidious work.

salt craving says:
August 2, 2013 6:32 PM
I am not sure where you're getting your information, but good topic. I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding more. Thanks for magnificent information I was looking for this info for my mission.

Visit Homepage says:
August 3, 2013 4:34 PM
I am really inspired along with your writing talents and also with the format to your blog. Is that this a paid topic or did you modify it yourself? Anyway stay up the nice quality writing, it is uncommon to peer a great blog like this one these days.. Also visit my site: [url=http://chocolate-cioccolata.com/7/know-your-enemy-finding-the-treatment-for-adrenal-fatigue/]Visit Homepage[/url]

Reviews on The Magic of Making Up says:
August 5, 2013 8:52 AM
Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though you relied on the video to make your point. You obviously know what youre talking about, why waste your intelligence on just posting videos to your weblog when you could be giving us something enlightening to read?

my website says:
August 12, 2013 4:17 AM
For example, in case your benefit amount is $400, you will likely be paid $400 even if the actual costs of the lasting care are merely $300 [url=http://www.tota1llyrealsitenotfake3.com]my website[/url] the following include the few ways in which you'll be able to select the premier pay day loan lenders online to fulfill your short cash requirements.

My partner and I stumbled over here different page and thought I may as well check things out. I like what I see so now i am following you. Look forward to finding out about your web page repeatedly.

Miles says:
August 18, 2013 12:40 PM
I don't know whether it's just me or if perhaps everyone else encountering problems with your site. It seems like some of the text in your posts are running off the screen. Can someone else please comment and let me know if this is happening to them as well? This could be a problem with my internet browser because I've had this happen before. Thank you

Microsoft Office 2007 says:
August 20, 2013 7:25 AM
Fantastic post but I was wanting to know if you could write a litte more on this topic? I'd be very thankful if you could elaborate a little bit further. Appreciate it! My blog post - [url=http://Officeitsolution.com/]Microsoft Office 2007[/url]

reverse phone loo says:
August 20, 2013 9:47 AM
I added this article to my favorites and plan to return to digest more soon. It’s effortless to read and understand as well as intelligent. I truly enjoyed my first read through of this article. my page :: [url=http://50reversephonelookups.weebly.com/]reverse phone loo[/url]

voyance en ligne gratuite says:
August 20, 2013 4:28 PM
Horoscope de la semaine scorpion verseau astrologie compatibilite Have a look at my homepage ... [url=http://www.natashasfoodforpaws.com]voyance en ligne gratuite[/url]

How To Get a Flat Tummy says:
August 21, 2013 1:53 PM
After checking out a handful of the blog posts on your blog, I seriously like your way of blogging. I book-marked it to my bookmark site list and will be checking back soon. Please visit my website too and let me know what you think.

I am actually happy to glance at this webpage posts which consists of tons of valuable data, thanks for providing such information.

Air Jordan Femme Pas Cher France says:
September 3, 2013 2:36 AM
Now surely in case you have a shoe that is too cushioned. Here, you can see from the pictures, such as design, use well represented, sneakers colour effect more lively, freedom and move feeling. Also on this pair of cheap maillot air jordan pas cherv shoes on sale. Westbrook ont apport leurs Bruins de UCLA afin d'conscutives regards 4 Dernier sein 2007, ainsi que 08. However, it remains an important fresh.

my website says:
September 3, 2013 11:19 PM
Payday Money Store Oklahoma City The process is incredibly simple all you've got to complete is usually to apply through an internet application and fill within the required details [url=http://www.total7otfake2.com]my website[/url] for those refused credit coming from a bank or building society there are many avenues available to them but make sure their lender of choice is licensed.

acne medications says:
September 18, 2013 12:47 AM
Wow, marvelous weblog layout! How long have you been running a blog for? you made running a blog look easy. The full glance of your web site is magnificent, as smartly as the content!

strictly come dancing live show says:
September 28, 2013 7:49 PM
Another artist a sculptor as it turns out, but that hardly matters approached him, attempting to [url=http://puppypoo.or.kr/xe/?document_srl=95975]strictly come dancing live show[/url] there a wide range of individuals who don't exercise caution or budget for loan repayment, that has raised public concerns in regards to the payday loan business generally speaking.

Cheap NFL Jerseys Paypal says:
October 16, 2013 6:59 PM
Should the Cheap Jersey Pursue James Jones of Green Bay Packers 14 Kansas City Chiefs 27-16 on Sunday. Williams, who also led Denver to the 30, the day before the 49ers' 24-16 win over the Oakland Raiders Trade Carson Palmer to Cheap Jersey? This is the first NFC matchup in the Meadowlands.

Jason Pierre-Paul Nike Jersey says:
October 17, 2013 3:57 AM
Last October, Womens Cam Newton Jersey announced plans to invest millions in robots and to automate aspects of production. 04 B-$5 29 B, according to this transformation, the profit itself is proving to be less significant and the most idiomatic singing did not really show up until the news is out later today.

Michael Kors Handbags Outlet says:
October 17, 2013 9:57 PM
If you can carry it on board with michael kors you and your dog. It's great for carrying lots of textbooks along with michael kors my own ideas and creations. Even the smallest towns hold some surprises for people who have developed a forecasting model that predicts a win for President Barack Obama. When buying luggage, it's important to note that management's comments include time-sensitive information that may be settled in cash upon conversion, including partial cash settlement.

kemi.org says:
October 18, 2013 7:51 AM
However, cheap basketball jerseys' director of rugby can afford to use actors like us. Her workout tomorrow consisted of showing up in the neutral zone. After all, you're probably in the wrong business.

Ike Taylor Jersey says:
October 18, 2013 4:19 PM
About 8 weeks ago I bought myself a pair of the Cheap Basketball Jerseys I turned the athletic shoe or sneaker as" a sports shoe usually made of canvas. With the New York Jets lost 19-17 at Miami. Adi and Rudolf Rudi and both the name" Adidas" takes over a new mythology, certainly one of these styles. The cheap basketball jerseys showed interest in signing him off the bounce and score.

website says:
October 24, 2013 6:27 PM
I delight in, caause I found just whyat I used to bee looking for. You have eded my four day lengthy hunt! God Bless you man.Have a great day. Bye My blog post [url=http://zaming.fr/sarouel-homme.html]website[/url]

make money home says:
November 1, 2013 2:27 PM
whoah this weblog is great i love studying your posts. Keep up the good work! You realize, a lot of people are looking round for this information, you could help them greatly.

Jorja says:
November 2, 2013 12:31 AM
I like the helpful info you provide in your articles. I'll bookmark your blog and check again here frequently. I am quite sure I'll learn many new stuff right here! Best of luck for the next!

not fake says:
November 3, 2013 10:12 PM
That's the kind of image that i really thing is super image like. If more images [url=http://www.goohjlessw.com]very real[/url] like this were out there we'd be super full of graet images in the world.

camera video Chat facebook says:
November 16, 2013 9:34 AM
wonderful submit, very informative. I ponder why the opposite experts of this sector do nott realize this. You must proceed your writing. I'm confident, you have a great readers' base already! Also vsit my blog - [url=http://www.klickmarks.com/user.php?login=aracelisl]camera video Chat facebook[/url]

moneyformula says:
December 4, 2013 7:38 PM
Hey there! I realize this is sort of off-topic however I needed to ask. Does managing a well-established website such as yours take a lot of work? I am brand new to blogging however I do write in my journal everyday. I'd like to start a blog so I will be able to share my own experience and thoughts online. Please let me know if you have any suggestions or tips for new aspiring blog owners. Thankyou!

www.clashofclanshack.net says:
December 6, 2013 1:46 AM
apagoge  apanage  aparejo  apatite  apelike  apercus  aperies  apetaly. swinneys swipples swirlier swirling swishers swishier swishing switched. Reduces the particular technologies research through 1 day for each scientist.

xnxx says:
December 7, 2013 11:08 AM
Howdy just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The text in your content seem to be running off the screen in Firefox. I'm not sure if this is a format issue or something to do with web browser compatibility but I figured I'd post to let you know. The style and design look great though! Hope you get the issue fixed soon. Thanks

Plants Vs Zombies 2 For Pc says:
December 11, 2013 3:19 PM
I simply could not leave your website before suggesting that I extremely loved the standard info a person provide in your visitors? Is going to be back incessantly in order to investigate cross-check new posts Here is my website: [url=http://www.imdb.com/list/M9IGtAyVP8I/]Plants Vs Zombies 2 For Pc[/url]

free money using paypal says:
December 20, 2013 7:44 AM
Hello! Someone in my Facebook group shared this site with us so I came to check it out. I'm definitely enjoying the information. I'm book-marking and will be tweeting this to my followers! Outstanding blog and fantastic design.

ebook reader test says:
December 21, 2013 5:41 AM
ebook reader test We absolutely love your blog and find almost all of your post's to be what precisely I'm looking for. can you offer guest writers to write content available for you? I wouldn't mind writing a post or elaborating on many of the subjects you write concerning here. Again, awesome website! ebook reader test

kisseunhae.com says:
December 22, 2013 6:01 AM
We're a group of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our community. Your website provided us with helpful info to work on. You have performed an impressive activity and our entire neighborhood shall be grateful to you.

currency linked notes says:
December 23, 2013 8:57 PM
Wonderful website. Lots of helpful information here. I am sending it to several friends ans also sharing in delicious. And naturally, thanks on your effort!

make money online easy and free says:
December 28, 2013 6:49 PM
I needed to thank you for this excellent read!! I absolutely enjoyed every bit of it. I have you book-marked to check out new things you post…

Wade says:
December 31, 2013 4:01 PM
This is really interesting, You are a very skilled blogger. I have joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your great post. Also, I've shared your website in my social networks!

Youtube white noise says:
January 1, 2014 8:43 PM
Do you mind if I quote a couple of your posts as long as I provide credit and sources back to your blog? My blog is in the very same niche as yours and my visitors would certainly benefit from a lot of the information you provide here. Please let me know if this alright with you. Cheers!

multifunktionsdrucker test says:
January 4, 2014 1:09 AM
drucker test I all the time used to read piece of writing in news papers but now as I am a user of net therefore from now I am using net for articles, thanks to web. drucker test My blog ... [url=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n1Zyrs1KeX4]multifunktionsdrucker test[/url]

loan specialist says:
January 4, 2014 10:26 PM
Ahaa, its pleasant conversation on the topic of this post at this place at this weblog, I have read all that, so at this time me also commenting here.

lose weight get ripped says:
January 19, 2014 3:24 AM
Woah! I'm really loving the template/theme of this site. It's simple, yet effective. A lot of times it's difficult to get that "perfect balance" between superb usability and visual appearance. I must say that you've done a fantastic job with this. Also, the blog loads super quick for me on Opera. Exceptional Blog!

Francine says:
January 20, 2014 3:10 AM
I was recommended this web site by my cousin. I am not sure whether this post is written by him as nobody else know such detailed about my problem. You are incredible! Thanks!

work from home entry level jobs says:
January 20, 2014 8:50 AM
Hello, all the time i used to check web site posts here in the early hours in the morning, because i enjoy to learn more and more.

Jasmine says:
January 22, 2014 3:17 AM
Hello There. I found your blog the use of msn. This is a really neatly written article. I'll make sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your helpful information. Thanks for the post. I'll definitely return.

Post a comment

     Verification (needed to reduce spam):




slug=icerair byline=Jamie Roca, Photos by Gretchen Robinette photog=Gretchen Robinette thumbnailtype=jpg thumbnailname=icerair-thumb

OTHER STORIES

ADVERTISEMENT

FragranceNet.com

Hollywood Triple Feature $24 for 2 or more

Footlocker.com

StudentUniverse.com - Travel More. Spend Less

macys.com

Apple iTunes


Oh Dang! Copyright © 2006-2007. All Rights Reserved.