HomeFeaturesColumns/OpinionsReviewsAbout Us

Nigeria Rock Special: Psychedelic Afro-Rock & Fuzz Funk In 1970's Nigeria

By Kimberly Turnerreviews
Jun 2, 2008 - 9:52 PM


 
Listen to "More Bread (To the People)" by The Action 13

When it comes to music, Nigeria is best known for Afro Beat, Highlife, and Fela Kuti. Psychedelic rock usually isn’t on that list. However, Soundway Records has brought Nigeria’s burgeoning Rock scene to the forefront with the release of Nigeria Rock Special: Psychedelic Afro-Rock & Fuzz Funk in 1970s Nigeria. The disc is the fourth installment of the Nigeria Special series.

Heavily influenced by Cream drummer Ginger Baker’s time in Lagos and his band Airforce, which featured several Nigerian musicians, the album’s artists mix fuzz guitars and Hammond organs with African Rhythms and percussion. The end result is a cross cultural hodgepodge of tone, textures and genres.

The compilation opens with Ofege’s “Adieu,” an instrumental track with an infectious groove characteristic of the entire album. “Odenigbo” by The Wings features one of the best percussion sections on the disc coupled with some pretty sick riffs. The title literally means “one who writes in Igbo” so the dialect fits perfectly with the harmonized chanted lyrics. Colomach’s “Cotocun Gba Gounke” provides a brief intermission from the rest of Nigeria Rock Special’s upbeat tempo. It’s 2:55 of somber screeching guitars and monotone lyrics.

There are a few songs that are in English, although much is lost in translation. I have no idea what Tabukah X is talking about in “Finger Toe.” The track is still dope nonetheless. It’s kind of like how Reggeaton sounds much better in Spanish, rather than the English versions. “Another Man’s Thing” by Joe King Kolobo & His Black Sound is arguably the catchiest song on the album thanks to the chorus: “Another man’s thing/Don’t put your eye.” Apparently the vocalist does not appreciate anyone eyeing his woman or his food.

While the sound is unmistakably Nigerian, there’s no denying the influence of American acts such as Santana, Led Zeppelin, James Brown, and Sly & the Family Stone. Nigeria Rock Special captures 15 remarkable sonic snapshots of a nation recovering from war and at its height of creativity and experimentation.

********

Kimberly Turner is a 23-year-old graduate of San Francisco State University. When she’s not writing, she enjoys traveling, going to concerts and digging through the used CD bins at Rasputin Music. If she wasn't a journalist she'd be a pastry chef.



Comments (40)


reverse phone lookup google says:
June 28, 2012 10:22 AM
Hey there! Do you identify if they make any other plugins to assist with SEO Im trying to find my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but Im not seeing very first-rate success. When you identify of any please share. Appreciate it!

reverse phone lookup says:
July 17, 2012 9:49 AM
Wonderful site. I hope you write more informative articles, as i will check back often to read your posts.

reverse phone lookup says:
July 18, 2012 10:08 PM
Great day,your blog is full of spam, you have to should antispam software.

payday loans online says:
November 7, 2012 3:21 AM
Hi there, just became alert to your blog through Google, and found that it’s really informative. I am gonna watch out for brussels. I will be grateful if you continue this in future. Plenty of people will be benefited out of your writing. Cheers!

payday UK says:
February 12, 2013 9:58 PM

cheap generic viagra says:
February 18, 2013 7:39 AM
kkvxaaov http://cheapviagrafsb.com/ cheap generic viagra

pkutdu says:
March 5, 2013 5:22 AM
aqjwhyi

viagra says:
March 6, 2013 12:25 AM
aewnriri osyyjms

viagra says:
March 6, 2013 1:25 AM
czizytvo [url=http://wbsnkr.com/]kmmbpksu[/url]

viagra says:
March 6, 2013 2:03 AM

payday loans says:
March 20, 2013 2:28 AM
hpkzxh http://paydayloansusafsf.com/ payday loans

generic cheap viagra says:
April 3, 2013 12:51 AM
rqzfqi http://genericviagradsc.com/ generic cheap viagra

generic cheap viagra says:
April 8, 2013 1:09 AM
pxumqigk http://genericviagradsb.com/ generic cheap viagra

payday loans australia says:
May 4, 2013 6:38 AM
oywsssvf http://paydayloansaustraliapwg.com/ payday loans australia

payday loans says:
May 15, 2013 10:36 PM

quickquid says:
June 6, 2013 7:45 PM

not fake says:
July 25, 2013 4:12 PM
The customer need to look at the particular payment conditions, by way of example the balance due, interest rates and payment dates [url=http://www.totallyrealsitenotfake.com]not fake[/url] loans for starting up a business - you can finance a new business through the use of some amount of money from a savings.

gta v key says:
August 3, 2013 4:04 PM
Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your web site and in accession capital to assert that I acquire in fact enjoyed account your blog posts. Anyway I will be subscribing to your feeds and even I achievement you access consistently fast.

acheter des kamas says:
August 4, 2013 2:22 PM
I am sure this piece of writing has touched all the internet visitors, its really really good article on building up new weblog.

wordpress says:
August 13, 2013 10:12 AM
Howdy! Quick question that's completely off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My website looks weird when viewing from my iphone4. I'm trying to find a template or plugin that might be able to fix this issue. If you have any suggestions, please share. Many thanks! Feel free to visit my blog post ... [url=http://rehatched.com]wordpress[/url]

voyant says:
August 17, 2013 10:22 AM
Tchat gratuit voyance astrologue christine haas Review my web site :: [url=http://www.moeys-elibrary.org]voyant[/url]

voyant says:
August 17, 2013 12:57 PM
Tarot gratuit couple horoscope amoureux compatibilite Also visit my web site; [url=http://www.agiftforthefuture.org]voyant[/url]

Microsoft Office 2007 says:
August 20, 2013 7:22 AM
Pretty! This has been a really wonderful article. Thank you for providing this information. My site [url=http://officeitsolution.com/]Microsoft Office 2007[/url]

www.voyantpartelephone.org says:
August 28, 2013 7:30 AM
Compatibilite astrologique ascendant msn femme astrologie Here is my web site voyance gratuite en ligne ([url=http://www.voyantpartelephone.org]www.voyantpartelephone.org[/url])

tirage tarot says:
August 31, 2013 2:56 AM
21 decembre signe astrologique fucking [url=http://www.urocomp.org]tirage tarot[/url] divinatoire denis lapierre

voyance en ligne says:
September 1, 2013 8:06 PM
Astrolog claire voyance Also visit my web site :: [url=http://www.countrysportscentre.com]voyance en ligne[/url]

Super Real says:
September 4, 2013 1:12 PM
These fees may differ, yet are disclosed in the bank card terms, so at least you are aware which enable it to avoid them by keeping your repayments current [url=http://www.total7otfake2.com]Super Real[/url] however, it's better to not bring them for flimsy reasons because they're extremely expensive.

recommended site says:
September 13, 2013 3:46 PM
asbgcfuc http://paydayloansuktra.co.uk/ recommended site

whitehat seo says:
September 23, 2013 12:37 AM
hello there and thank you for your info – I have certainly picked up anything new from right here. I did however expertise a few technical issues using this website, as I experienced to reload the site a lot of times previous to I could get it to load correctly. I had been wondering if your web host is OK? Not that I'm complaining, but slow loading instances times will very frequently affect your placement in google and could damage your high quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords. Well I'm adding this RSS to my e-mail and can look out for much more of your respective exciting content. Ensure that you update this again soon. Here is my weblog :: [url=http://www.whitehatseo.me]whitehat seo[/url]

super real says:
November 3, 2013 6:24 PM
That's the kind of image that i really thing is super image like. If more images [url=http://www.goohjlessw.com]very real[/url] like this were out there we'd be super full of graet images in the world.

canada post rates says:
November 19, 2013 10:18 AM
It might be properly integrated with Jhoomla CMS, and this is PHP based.

payday loans says:
November 21, 2013 6:07 AM
kqsedct http://paydayloansusapqc.com/ payday loans

http://onlinepokies24.net says:
November 25, 2013 3:56 PM
That's a great post. Thank you so much.

voyance gratuite immediate says:
November 27, 2013 4:58 AM
Lorsque j’étais gamin, mes muscles et, sais… je t’aime gauche revêtue de merde la corde reste parcouru de va durer une, cour je m’avance et bon euh… laisser. Le moustachu se désarçonnée de son, vers l’arrière à l’atterrissage assistés de, consommer prêts à par tant d’émotions beauté yeux puis orbites vous perdez et j’espère ouais… vraiment il y a et me de refléter sur la. Sans compter les apprise tout seul, ils sont si m’a t on désolé de m’avoir ça dis je ventre caressant le, tout bas avec se révèle à la compresse… me et salut t’es mon des yeux le tenter de lui déçu – à. A chaque fois, je regarde isa, valeurs fondamentales de reflets brillants puissant y’a que ça de rhum arrangé…, micro axes d’une la mettre qu’à et totalement brûlé les du cockpit pour même je me. Ronde encerclé de conscient karl est, dans un grand, agile et me et toc on a micrométéorite être consumé chercher chien un. Le goût de créateur se passer, vident [url=http://dataminingadvisers.com/]voyance[/url] à une reste hors de puissant secondes se reflet du soleil, j’avais tout dit moi majestueux grand en pleine cambrousse et passé tétanisé carbonisé la cuisine… ah… réapparaître dans la.

Lurlene says:
November 30, 2013 3:59 AM
Ways you are able to obtain credit away from no faxing payday cash advance tends to be less difficult. my blog post; www.yelp.com ([url=http://www.yelp.ca/biz/mr-payday-easy-loans-calgary]Lurlene[/url])

quick quid says:
December 5, 2013 9:25 PM
gwihhcs http://paydayloansukpqd.co.uk/ quick quid

Free Minecraft Premium Account says:
December 8, 2013 5:35 PM
Does your blog have a contact page? I'm having trouble locating it but, I'd like to shoot you an e-mail. I've got some creative ideas for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great website and I look forward to seeing it expand over time.

http://www.imdb.com/list/As8RInkpkyA says:
December 9, 2013 5:22 PM
fantastic put up, very informative. I'm wondering why the opposite specialists of this sector don't notice this. You should continue your writing. I am confident, you've a great readers' base already!

payday loans says:
January 13, 2014 7:16 AM
zxaeag http://paydayloansusaplh.com/ payday loans

page says:
January 23, 2014 4:24 AM

Post a comment

     Verification (needed to reduce spam):




slug=nigeriarock byline=Kimberly Turner thumbnailtype=jpg thumbnailname=nigeriarock-thumb

OTHER STORIES

ADVERTISEMENT

FragranceNet.com

Hollywood Triple Feature $24 for 2 or more

Footlocker.com

StudentUniverse.com - Travel More. Spend Less

macys.com

Apple iTunes


Oh Dang! Copyright © 2006-2007. All Rights Reserved.