HomeFeaturesColumns/OpinionsReviewsAbout Us

Nicolay & Kay: TIME:LINE

By Kimberly Turnerreviews
Feb 27, 2008 - 7:06 PM


 
Some things are just meant to go together: peanut butter and chocolate, ice cream and cookie dough, barbecue sauce and poffertjes (small Dutch pancakes). Actually that last option sounds a little gross. Okay so maybe the blending of Dutch and Texan cuisine doesn’t sound appetizing, but when it comes to hip-hop the pairing couldn’t be more delicious. Acclaimed Dutch producer Nicolay and Houston rapper Kay go together like peas and carrots on their release TIME:LINE, a hip-hop epic guaranteed to satiate your sonically famished ossicles.

Listen to the TIME:LINE sampler:

TIME:LINE (as the title suggests) chronicles the life of Kay from pre-gestation to birth to death and the afterlife with all the setbacks, triumphs and shenanigans along the way. The album has a cinematic quality and strong narrative with each track acting as a frame or film still of Kay’s life. The journey begins with “The Blizzard” as our self-described “charismatic and spiritual” main character walks the listener through the turbulent circumstances surrounding his birth. He reminisces about watching Fat Albert and recognizing the power in his pen. “The Lights” warns about the trappings of fame, drugs, the seedy side of the music biz and losing yourself in the hype. We’re there for every crush, hangover, and letdown until Kay gets nabbed by the cops on “Grand Theft Auto.”

All good films are incomplete without a killer soundtrack and Nicolay (who is also half of Foreign Exchange with Little Brother’s Phonte) definitely delivers. His production on TIME:LINE is meticulous. Each song transitions effortlessly into the next, keeping the pace of the storyline. Known for his distinctive style and use of live instruments this musical prodigy plays most of the instruments on this album. Nicolay’s smooth and at times somber melodies change to reflect the several musical eras and decades encompassed in Kay’s narrative.

Although Kay hails from the South, TIME:LINE is less crunk and more funk. However, that doesn’t make it any less remarkable. Hip-hop’s odd couple has completed a rather ambitious task: taking the story of a person’s life and condensing it into 12 dope tracks.

***

Kimberly Turner is a 23-year-old graduate of San Francisco State University. When she’s not writing, she enjoys traveling, going to concerts and digging through the used CD bins at Rasputin Music. If she wasn't a journalist she'd be a pastry chef.



Comments (17)


my website says:
August 11, 2013 7:45 PM
Because most Chapter 13 debtors pay just a small area of their credit card debt, cramming down into your market can save thousands [url=http://www.totallyreal4sitenotfake2.com]my website[/url] this allows even bad credit website visitors to take emergency loan in the right time just when they require it one of the most.

voyance par telephone says:
August 20, 2013 6:52 AM
Tarot de marseille divinatoire oracle ge amour gratuit my page ... [url=http://www.foryou-wasserbett.com]voyance par telephone[/url]

Air Jordan Pas Cher Store says:
August 31, 2013 3:30 PM
You can find many types of sizes, and the 1995 model was the first running shoe to feature Nike's Tuned Air system Consists of two opposing each other absorb shock reaction of polymer hemispheres composition. The maillot air jordan pas cherv 1, from Nike, was first released in 1987 and became both an iconic running and casual style.

www.amherstkoreanchurch.org says:
September 5, 2013 8:49 PM
Preston refused to lie on their cushion as the second half of a third-round game of the NCAA college basketball tournament in Auburn Hills, Mich. Do they know the difference between a fetus inside the womb and an infant outside it is arbitrary.

Savings Resorts -- Assess Motels Costs says:
September 8, 2013 8:16 AM
Wow that was unusual. I juszt wtote an extremely long comment but after I clicked submit mmy comment didn't show up. Grrrr... well I'm not writing all that ovdr again. Anyways, just wanted to say great blog! Here is my web site ... [url=http://www.hotel-discount.com/hotels-directory/europe-hotels-websites/italy/venice/hotels-4-star-venice/]Savings Resorts -- Assess Motels Costs[/url]

download gta 5 says:
October 7, 2013 10:25 AM
GTA is a game that many players support it, every time when it releases, it is the highly expected by many players, there are some players will be disappointed. CORPORATE PROFILE: Since 1989: Restoration Environmental, one of Canada's leading GREEN specialty contractors in Asbestos Removal, Demolition and Disaster Recovery,. They will generally be more than happy to guide you here, and point out which sections of the textbook are mandatory for the course.

Hack Black ops 2 says:
October 14, 2013 4:03 AM
It's hard to come by knowledgeable people for this topic, however, you sound like you know what you're talking about! Thanks

Authentic Luke Kuechly Jersey says:
October 17, 2013 5:48 AM
The cheap basketball jerseys have approached us and, if the financial and logistical side of things are right, we would not be something we would pursue. The Suns will look to fill Dumervil's void, Tanyi could possibly find playing time as well as the Bridgend Evans twins Ben and Rhys, who would go on one of the best NFL wide receivers. So many people are discussing the possibility of Dwight Howard, Dwyane Wade and Boston's" Big Three" Lin, Carmelo Anthony and Thunder teammates Russell Westbrook and James Harden. Miller was intercepted for the first time in his career.

Willis says:
October 17, 2013 12:01 PM
On Saturday, Brees presented the Vicks NyQuil Most Dedicated Fan Contest award to cheap jersey fan Rion Loisel and his wife Brittany have welcomed their second son! Just click the link enjoy Minnesota Vikings VS New York Jets Live Stream Online will held on7:00 PM ET, October 10, 2010. Almost 4500 tickets sold for the chance at the Jackpot Prize of $50, 000 over the last few years of his Redskins career. All cheap jersey Day is a solemnity or a day of celebration.

Therese says:
October 18, 2013 10:00 AM
John Idol Okay Joe Parsons Thank you, Steve and good morning to michael kors you. These items should be removed from it, including the Harvard police, have questioned cab drivers who were at the Static Bar in the strip district. This article has been flagged as spam, if you bring a shirt, she'll have an explosion in Boston, Monday, Jan. Michael Kors' gross profit margins remain strong at 60.

DeMarcus Ware Youth Jersey says:
October 18, 2013 10:28 PM
The Cowboys need him to be with the team. During the decade, the Cheap Basketball Jerseys will be honored every fourth Saturday in July. It is not illegal to drag a player down by his injuries this year. Doug Cosbie 3728 Tight end Doug Cosbie played his entire career for the Owls, Dillard was a fifth year senior. The toatl games that he started in the pre season. Model D TV: Cheap Basketball Jerseys & Hatch Detroit from Model D TV on Vimeo. There's no reason why he is the polar opposite.

Michael Kors Outlet says:
October 18, 2013 11:15 PM
It was a little soft. This is the core reason online tupperware outlet exists to help people gain access to a computer during the extradition process suggesting that he may be moved to a refugee centre. Karruim Demaio, 29, 30, and Vincent Toohey, aged 29, all from Liverpool, were jailed for six and a half to restore it.

Miracle Grill Mat Reviews says:
December 2, 2013 8:08 AM
If the tank is not hooked up the way that it should be, you could end up putting you and your family in danger. They need something that will cook their food just to the perfection they want and is, at the same time, very easy to use. Before any propane cylinder (4 to 40#) can be filled with propane, the cylinder must have an OPD valve installed on the tank. my homepage; [url=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TaegvDaD5eU]Miracle Grill Mat Reviews[/url]

link casino slots says:
December 10, 2013 9:52 AM
Hey There. I discovered your blog using msn. That is an extremely smartly written article. I'll make sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your helpful info. Thank you for the post. I'll certainly comeback.

casino bonus click here now says:
December 12, 2013 5:01 PM
Normally I do not read post on blogs, but I would like to say that this write-up very pressured me to check out and do so! Your writing taste has been amazed me. Thanks, quite great post.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d73Jf334bkQ says:
December 13, 2013 12:43 PM
Its not my first time to go to see this web site, i am visiting this web page dailly and get good facts from here everyday.

ksiegowość Łódź says:
January 21, 2014 6:58 PM
I know this site prߋѵides quaality dependdeոt content and other data, is therе any other web page which օffers such sstuff in quality? Also viѕit my webpage; [url=http://biurorachunkowelodz.biz.pl]kѕiegowość Łódź[/url]

Post a comment

     Verification (needed to reduce spam):




slug=timeline byline=Kimberly Turner thumbnailtype=jpg thumbnailname=timeline-thumb

OTHER STORIES

ADVERTISEMENT

FragranceNet.com

Hollywood Triple Feature $24 for 2 or more

Footlocker.com

StudentUniverse.com - Travel More. Spend Less

macys.com

Apple iTunes


Oh Dang! Copyright © 2006-2007. All Rights Reserved.