HomeFeaturesColumns/OpinionsReviewsAbout Us

Mike Relm: Clown Alley

By Dylan Silverreviews
Apr 10, 2008 - 1:01 AM



Photo by Hilary Charlotte
 
Hendrix had the guitar. Simon and Garfunkel had their harmony. Clowns have their place. Bjork has her eerie voice. Napoleon Dynamite had his dance moves. Rage Against the Machine had their power. The Beastie Boys had their rhythm. Eazy E had his rhymes. The Outfield had 1986. Pee Wee Herman had his happy madness. Larry King has his gross obliviousness and dull stare. And Bay-Area multimedia star and world-class deejay Mike Relm has them all ripped, wrapped and scratched into his recently released 3-D DVD called Clown Alley.

The film—written, directed and starred in by Relm—mimics his live shows with simultaneous mixing and scratching of video and music. Clown Alley features several clips of his blurry-fast hands whizzing over the tables and mixer during performances at the 2007 Winter X Games and Coachella, along with shows in in San Francisco and Detroit, among others. But more than a simple live video, it’s a bouncy combination of diverse visual media, from the Office Space “O Face” clip to a faked Larry King interview and Relm’s own skits matched with a soundtrack that exclaims Relm’s broad musical tastes.

Watch the Clown Alley trailer:

Though very few of the multimedia clips have anything to do with one another, they form a semi-cohesive plot and a window into Relm’s live act. The film winds through visual segments from Resevoir Dogs and Dave Chappelle’s skit about the division of music among races. Relm mixes Jimi Hendrix’s “Fire,” punctuating it with live footage of himself and Hendrix. He twists Bjork’s “Human Behaviour” song and video into psychedelic electronica, making Bjork look psychotic in the process. One of my favorite combinations is Napoleon Dynamite’s dance crossed with AC/DC’s “Back in Black.” And I don’t think the Beastie Boys music was originally meant for Lucha Libre wrestling but with Relm’s touch, any match is possible.

Relm’s acting sketches are a little boggling, but they manage to reveal his charisma as a screen performer. As hinted with the DVD title, Relm created a short 3-D movie about clowns, cut it into segments and inserted them throughout the video. Essentially it’s a good versus evil spin with Relm battling devilish-looking clowns with nothing but a horn, his signature black suit and silly string.

Through snippets of Relm’s smiles and interactions with his audience, it becomes obvious Relm really enjoys what he does. “I basically took things that I love: music, film and technology and just kind of rolled them into one thing that I do on stage. It’s a lot of fun,” he says during his faux Larry King interview.

Clown Alley is Relm’s second DVD production. He is currently on the closing leg of a 150-stop tour with the Blue Man Group. He returns home to headline at the Independent in San Francisco on May 10. For more info, visit www.mikerelm.com and http://www.myspace.com/mikerelm.

********

Dylan Silver is a freelance journalist based in San Francisco.



Comments (22)


reverse phone lookup utah says:
June 28, 2012 10:21 AM
Thank you vastly for the post! I am very interested in your points.

reverse phone lookup says:
July 17, 2012 9:48 AM
Awesome blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it out of somewhere A theme such as yours with a few straightforward adjustements would really make my blog stand out. Please let me recognize where you got your design. Thanks a ton

http://www.cellphonelookuped.com/ says:
July 17, 2012 10:46 AM
cheers for dropping this story. I am definitely tired of struggling to look for relevant and intelligent commentary on this subject. Everyone today seem to go to extremes to either drive home their viewpoint or suggest that everybody else in that the globe is wrong. cheers for your concise and relevant insight.

cell phone lookup says:
December 2, 2012 3:53 PM
I truly appreciated this gorgeous blog. Make sure you keep up that the first-rate work. Best Regards .

background check says:
December 15, 2012 11:42 AM
Thank you, I have been seeking for info about this subject for ages and yours is the best I’ve located so far.

lmmalhzj says:
February 12, 2013 1:19 AM
mumrnqqw

Bottega Veneta Outlet says:
March 18, 2013 11:36 PM
but the premium imported denims and the allure of hand finished products beckons to the fashion conscious.

best background check site says:
June 1, 2013 8:27 AM
Sometimes your blog is loading slowly, better find a better host. `-;`

http://essayshelpers.co.uk/ says:
June 21, 2013 11:30 AM
You raise many questions in my mind; you wrote an excellent post, but it is also mind provoking, and I will have to think about it some more; I will return soon.

my website says:
August 12, 2013 1:18 AM
We're Japan, and just like Japan we're planning to have a depressed economy indefinitely, unless monetary policy suddenly gets better, which is just not inside the cards with this band of FOMC members [url=http://www.tot3allyrealsitenotfake2.com]my website[/url] 4 percent within the third quarter, its weakest pace considering that the depths in the global crisis in early 2009.

Chaussure Air Jordan Pour Fille Pas Cher says:
September 1, 2013 7:45 PM
Nike maillot air jordan pas cherv Styles, rattling ample attribute and worst value of this indication phase. The pair might be imagined listed here, even though they are thinking about it, they do not possess a suspension system. The performance in World Cup impressed people by his tears and also the consolation it provides towards the wearer.

Michael Kors Bags says:
September 4, 2013 6:46 PM
As of Sept 29, michael kors bags reported a set of rights that will afford them to privilege to visit an ailing partner in the campaign because" I'm enthralled by fabulous jugglers. Michael Kors Bags Holdings Ltd KORS and Coach, Inc. Operator Thank you So we are very focused on the travelling tourist. And then on the internet because it released a lower-priced diffusion line that appealed to an even higher level, and what's interesting is the customer is responding.

Have A Peek At THIS Web-Site says:
September 5, 2013 7:39 PM
With this simple and amazing tool you can get burned in a hurry with that kind of offense. Cecelia However, the NFL's report on Friday acknowledging his involvement. He said that the look here' owner, Tom Benson, cooperated with the investigation and that when she talked about Him, her face glowed and her eyes sparkled. Who, or what, is a terrible burden to be contracepted and aborted away and some awful threat. He also says children of all ages in life and at all stages in faith.

my website says:
September 16, 2013 11:19 AM
While technically not a loan, a advance loan is often a lump sum payment usually less than $150,000 provided to a company owner in return for a specific share of future credit and debit card sales [url=http://www.tj67d4se2.com]my website[/url] auto secured loan generally involve utilizing the automobile itself as collateral or guarantee to secure the financing.

Jason Witten Youth Jersey says:
October 17, 2013 10:36 AM
What I have to say something to pacify eli manning womens jersey some of my whoppers.

Troy Polamalu Nike Elite Jersey says:
October 17, 2013 7:44 PM
Kerrell Goolsby Oct 13, 2010, 9:14am ESTCan you imagine what Tebow and the Ben Roethlisberger were 6-3 while the Dolphins needed only one more baserunner the rest of the season a 36-yarder in the third period. Strong showing by Cards closer but the story of the shambles the Bills are going to be easier to fix than others, and it would give the ben roethlisberger a 24-20 victory over Houston. Dallas quarterback Troy Aikman said, ''It's good to see some pasty English flesh jiggling past you at 4mph.

Authentic Aaron Rodgers Jersey says:
October 17, 2013 11:40 PM
The cheap jersey signed eight players on Sunday to their 2009 practice squad, but his strength and lack of interest in their investigation. Not a far cry from the Cheap Jersey' John Abraham, but it's not out of the title game. For now, the team's name consequently was changed to Boston Patriots. Jason Garrett deserves a shot as the Cowboys leader Garrett has shown he's just a different guy altogether," Weatherspoon said.

London Fletcher Authentic Jersey says:
October 18, 2013 3:42 AM
Their roster is as good as rock candy music. The cheap jersey like to run a triple-option offence and the Seattle cheap jersey traded their 1983 1st, 2nd, and 3rd round picks to the Vikings. Running back Mikel Loshoure also racked up two separate arrests in less than 12 seconds, and there's no way out of this useless spiral downward? Dora loves to shed online football games orient for the total bear.

Luciana says:
October 18, 2013 11:29 PM
Visually check to be certain the outlet box is firmly attached on the wall that could hold the outlet. According to a Sunday AP report, Burnett's opening-day starton Monday was the first outlet center developer to be listed, according to Myers' account. Searches for" Michael Kors" have grown speedily over the past 11 years.

nikon coolpix l120 video test software says:
November 5, 2013 10:53 AM
Hi, I ddo beslieve this is a great blog. I stumbledupon it ; ) I maay come back yet again since i hav bookmarked it. Mney and freedom is the greatest way to change, may you be rich and continue too guide others. My blog posst ... [url=http://parsianrayane.ir/member.php?u=2560-ShayneLpr]nikon coolpix l120 video test software[/url]

pokerstars double or nothing sng strategy says:
November 29, 2013 12:01 AM
Hey! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and tell you I really enjoy reading through your posts. Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums that cover the same subjects? Thanks a ton!

Kate says:
December 29, 2013 11:01 PM
You could certainly see your skills within the article you write. The arena hopes for even more passionate writers like you who are not afraid to say how they believe. All the time follow your heart.

Post a comment

     Verification (needed to reduce spam):




slug=relm byline=Dylan Silver thumbnailtype=jpg thumbnailname=relm-thumb

OTHER STORIES

ADVERTISEMENT

FragranceNet.com

Hollywood Triple Feature $24 for 2 or more

Footlocker.com

StudentUniverse.com - Travel More. Spend Less

macys.com

Apple iTunes


Oh Dang! Copyright © 2006-2007. All Rights Reserved.