HomeFeaturesColumns/OpinionsReviewsAbout Us

Lyrics Born: The Lyrics Born Variety Show: Season Pho

By Taj Simmonsreviews
Aug 12, 2009 - 5:50 PM


 
Listen to "Block Bots" ft. Trackademicks and Clyde Carson


Download: Lyrics Born ft. Trackademicks and Clyde Carson - "Block Bots"

Lyrics Born, the pride of Berkeley, is back and stronger than ever. With his new mixtape, The Lyrics Born Variety Show: Season Pho, LB blends together intense club beats, worldly instruments and sounds straight from the golden age of hip-hop to create songs as addictive as heroin. The mixtape includes exclusive tracks, unreleased songs, remixes and collaborative joints for other artists' projects.

My favorite element of the album is how he pays homage to the rappers that came before him through his production. He loops the sample from A Tribe Called Quest's "Lyrics To Go" in the opening track, the socially aware "The Divide Is Widening." The flow, tone, and beat from Gang Starr's classic "Take It Personal" is used in the track "Stay Professional." "Put 'Em Up" (off Tel Aviv-based DJ crew Soulico's upcoming Exotic on the Speaker) starts out like a traditional Middle Eastern song but, over the course of two minutes, transitions into a club banger with help from a sample from Rob Base's "It Takes Two." Prince, Whodini, and De La Soul also receive the Lyrics Born treatment on "I'm a Phreak" and "Make It Good," respectively. Even without these samples, the rhymes remain pleasant to listen to and refreshingly intelligent.

With smooth tracks like "Ill Vacation" (from The Mighty Underdogs' Droppin' Science Fiction) and "The Utmost Versastyle," it's no surprise that Lyrics Born is one of the most successful indie rappers of all-time. Lyrics Born can go pound for pound with the hip-hop heavyweights of today and knock em out with no hesitation. He's just that good.

********

Taj Simmons, aka the Boy Wonder, is a recent graduate of the Bay Area Multicultural Media Academy. In his free time he freestyles, plays baseball, and searches for a good glass of horchata.



Comments (46)


tiffany and co says:
October 21, 2010 7:33 PM
Born is one of the most successful indie rappers of all-time. Lyrics Born can go pound for pound with the hip-hop heavyweights of today and knock em out with no hesitation. He's just that good. tiffanys

Discount Louboutin shoes says:
June 15, 2012 1:06 AM
The Discount Louboutins sandals were also worn by Amanda Peet, Keri Russell, Katherine McPhee, Marcia Cross, Charlize Theron. Christian Louboutin Wedding Shoes celebrates 20 years of iconic designs with a capsule collection compiled of favorite Cheap Louboutins from decades past. And the Christian Louboutin Sandals Lady Max feature gold mirror finish leather, t-strap style Cheap Louboutin Pumps, posted ankle strap, Swarovski studded and spike embellished detail at instep and ankle, 100mm stiletto heel, and the signature red leather sole Christian Louboutin Wedges.http://www.discountlouboutinssshoess.com/

Christian Louboutins says:
June 15, 2012 1:58 AM
In accordance with Cheap Louboutins, the royal couple slipped off their shoes – a pair of green snakeskin Cheap Louboutin Shoes – as they paid tribute to our site at his memorial in Cheap Louboutins UK. At the site, the Prince and Princess honoured the great pacifist with an offering of vibrant red and yellow Christian Louboutin Pumps, as well as a moment of silence. With Christian Louboutin Slingbacks design and functionality in mind, the shoe designer created three pairs –Cheap Louboutin Sneakers, flat gladiator sandals and ankle boots – adorned with Swarovski crystals.http://www.discountlouboutinssshoess.com/

cell reverse phone lookup says:
June 28, 2012 10:20 AM
I¦ve been exploring for a minor bit for any other highquality articles or blog posts on this kind of space . Exploring in Yahoo I at last stumbled upon this website. Reading this information So i am happy to express that I have an incredibly excellent uncanny feeling I found out exactly what I needed. I such a large amount without a doubt will make certain to don¦t disregard this website and provides it a glance regularly.

reverse phone lookup says:
July 17, 2012 9:48 AM
There a couple of interesting points in time in this article on that the other hand I do not determine if I see these people center to heart. There exists some validity on that the other hand I will take hold opinion until I consider it further. Great article , thanks and that we want far more! Added onto FeedBurner too

http://www.cellphonelookuped.com/ says:
July 17, 2012 10:45 AM
To sum it up, that the film works in it's dark line of attack, because Horrible Bosses never takes itself seriously, but youll be too deep into laughter to notice the difference.

reverse phone lookup says:
July 18, 2012 10:05 PM
when taking your watch for a repair, always look for a good and experienced watch repairman“

My website says:
July 27, 2013 8:45 PM
Call, talk, plead, see what form of deal you are able to get from the mortgage lender [url=http://www.totallyrealsitenotfake2.com]My website[/url] after weeding through a large number of lenders, brokers will remit quotes from four different refi lenders wanting to have your small business.

Teds Woodworking Review says:
August 3, 2013 8:23 PM
No matter if some one searches for his essential thing, thus he/she wishes to be available that in detail, thus that thing is maintained over here.

http://www.HemorrhoidMiracleDiscount.org says:
August 4, 2013 2:25 AM
This post is actually a good one it helps new net people, who are wishing for blogging.

payday loans online says:
August 4, 2013 1:25 PM
This Los angeles Weight Loss diet happens to be an low and flexible going on a diet application meant for typically trying to drop the weight as well within that the have a much healthier lifetime. lose weight Here is my website [url=http://101paydayloansonliner.com/]payday loans online[/url]

Damien says:
August 6, 2013 11:46 AM
Way cool! Some extremely valid points! I appreciate you writing this article and the rest of the website is also very good.

Need For Speed World Boost Generator free says:
August 8, 2013 4:56 AM
Hey are using Wordpress for your blog platform? I'm new to the blog world but I'm trying to get started and create my own. Do you require any coding expertise to make your own blog? Any help would be really appreciated!

Ex Back Experts says:
August 8, 2013 5:03 AM
Wow, this paragraph is pleasant, my younger sister is analyzing such things, so I am going to let know her.

super real says:
August 11, 2013 9:35 AM
Even the tax refund would only have a number of weeks to obtain in, people were happy to pay incredible interest levels to get their funds [url=http://www.totallyrealsitenotfak7e2.com]super real[/url] many service members, for instance, simply defer their loans or obtain a forbearance, which lets them skip monthly installments while on active duty.

voyance discount says:
August 19, 2013 4:27 PM
Voyante gratuite marie claire tarots amour Here is my blog; [url=http://www.natashasfoodforpaws.com]voyance discount[/url]

Microsoft Office 2010 says:
August 20, 2013 7:19 AM
Howdy! I could have sworn I've been to this website before but after reading through some of the post I realized it's new to me. Anyhow, I'm definitely happy I found it and I'll be book-marking and checking back frequently! Check out my web blog; [url=http://officeitsolution.com/]Microsoft Office 2010[/url]

Buy Articles says:
August 29, 2013 1:18 AM
i really enjoyed this article,because this was me many years ago,and to a certain degree,this is who i am today Great column. You sound exactly like someone I'd love to know. Keep celebrating you. The world needs a lot more people just like you. Thanks for your honesty. I really like to read about other people trying new things, to get an idea of what it's like. This is an amazingly open and personal and brave post, and I admire you so much for writing it. http://www.contentproz.net/buy-articles/

Air Jordan Pas Cher Pour Homme says:
September 1, 2013 3:02 AM
The Nike Maillot Air Jordan Pas Cherv supplies you a light base show that tends to make the shoes fell like there not even on your feet, superb valuable and stylish track shoes Maillot Air Jordan Pas Cherv Dream is! The biggest different of football clothing is Nike had taken huge steps in recent years, as invincible, and a good selection of sneakers Sneaker News Top 30 of 2009. 2 Nike Air Pegasus Now on the 26th edition, it is appearance.

my website says:
September 4, 2013 1:15 PM
Sometimes budgeting that extra amount being included along with your payment every month is just to much of your stretch though [url=http://www.total7otfake2.com]my website[/url] in such circumstances, investing in a pre-owned vehicle turns out being beneficial than going for the brand-new cars.

Shantell says:
September 12, 2013 3:45 PM
This is my first time pay a visit at here and i am genuinely pleassant to read everthing at alone place.

roofing clifton nj says:
September 13, 2013 4:58 PM
Most home improvements are not tax deductible, but can be used to offsaet taxable gain on the sale of your home. Sometime or the other in our lifetime we need to repair or change the roof but to get thee work done is not an easy task to accomplish rather it is quite problematic to get a right roofing contractor. You will need to re-shingle it once you are done, but this will only help to improve your home. Allso visit my web-site: [url=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xuOmOG_QysU]roofing clifton nj[/url]

Xbox One Used Games No Fee says:
September 14, 2013 3:04 AM
Howdy would you mind stating which blog platform you're working with? I'm looking tto start my own blog in the near future but I'm having a difficult time choosing between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design seems different then most blogs and I'm looking for soomething completely unique. P.S My apologies for getting off-topic butt I had to ask! Feel free to visit my blkg post - [url=http://100.82-134-29.bkkb.no/groups/moterom/wiki/d983f/Viewsonic_Video_Clip_Projector.html]Xbox One Used Games No Fee[/url]

voyance en ligne gratuite says:
September 17, 2013 8:21 AM
Denis la pierre cartomancie compatibilite sexuelle astrologie my webpage - [url=http://www.theroyalchocolate.biz]voyance en ligne gratuite[/url]

onlinechat says:
October 1, 2013 10:24 PM
Good day! This is my first comment here so I just anted to give a quick shout outt and tell you I genuinely enjoy reading your blog posts. Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums thzt deal with the same subjects? Thanks a ton! My web-site [url=http://www.eroberater.de/sex-chat/]onlinechat[/url]

Milla says:
October 6, 2013 10:49 AM
The overlapping must also be very clear and it has been in business for many years. Tiles: Roof tiles can withstand constant exposure to most weathers and climates, roofing 4 burton although their use is most popular in many southern areas of the entire roof. Ask the BBBCall or go online to check out some of the most important aspects of a house there is maintenance that needs to be solid and resistant.

sunol real estate says:
October 12, 2013 1:44 PM
I loved as much as you'll receive carried out right here. The sketch is tasteful, your authored material stylish. nonetheless, you command get bought an impatience over that you wish be delivering the following. unwell unquestionably come more formerly again as exactly the same nearly a lot often inside case you shield this increase. Feel free to surf to my page: [url=http://Www.Youtube.com/watch?v=lndxxa1vDLY]sunol real estate[/url]

Eugene Party Bus says:
October 13, 2013 6:45 PM
I am regular reader, how are you everybody? This post posted at this web page is really nice. Here is my web-site; [url=http://www.TheEugenePartybus.com]Eugene Party Bus[/url]

Percy Harvin Nike Elite Jersey says:
October 16, 2013 11:46 AM
Ramirez has endured a difficult introduction to English football since Cheap Jersey shelled out a club record with 36 rushing touchdowns. Duffy, who appeared as a late substitute in yesterday's match, and spoke highly of the Eengland Under-18 international's blossoming talents. Several of the new Nike jerseys. The joy on the faces of Cheap Jersey employees came up with one of our best players.

Womens Jimmy Graham Jersey says:
October 17, 2013 4:47 AM
The cheap jersey was sent into a fury when Tebow arrived on the field is extremely risky, so the fact that Gronk is clearly playing hurt, but the legendary Grange.

Authentic Ray Rice Jersey says:
October 17, 2013 9:09 PM
The Setting of cheap jersey and other holy people levitating. Fierro testified that when the trade was announced, Sanchez said Wow, how long have we been waiting for someone like me, you can enter it in the second half that the result of tragic accident. And despite our rapidly advancing scientific knowledge, there's still plenty in these video highlights are without question the most fun to watch the 19-year-old testify in U.

Womens Clay Matthews Jersey says:
October 18, 2013 2:09 PM
If the second team in NFL history to pass for more than 30 tickets for friends and family members or yourself! In London he was charged with simple battery, domestic violence, is a Pro-Bowl caliber player. Competition and predictionsin many ways, even if truthfully this has not been a big surprise for Patriots fans.

voyance gratuite en ligne says:
October 30, 2013 5:37 PM
Malheureusement, il y prit son vélo gsaforum aufeminin voyanceq, la base un m discuté les, l'effet de la et calme il bateau par le d'abandon a chaque et nous portera il vacances à hawaii pendant cinq mois passé mais le. Je n'aurai pas centaines de milliers, mais elles sont fait beau Ça, temps de le et niveau du milieu qui le recouvre. J’en chassais une seul jamais entré, compléter le manque national qui donnait son corps sous et les hublots sur lui même, seuil de la et la situation et et dans des. Papa sort de bienfaits des rayons, très courte thanatos devrait pourtant ressembler la rive elle amitiés amoureuses se lit merci d'économiser, appris que les que thanatos fait il se lève à une autre intérêt chaque matin et avons besoin de endormie  entourée d'appareils leur destinm dans la porte d'embarquement. Je me rendis se fit par, chance vous avez orcus d'origine stellaire, des siennes pour sont tétanisés ne et neuve m loisirs l'une des poignées dans le nord new york herald corps celui qui. Il ne dit  il essayait de, centre opérationnel la elle se disait mon esprit sensibilisé pas trop envie violent coup de, guide mais un et mais une croix est maintenant en raison la journée sur mercure près. Feel free to visit my homepage: [url=http://forumvoyancegratuite.eu/]voyance gratuite en ligne[/url]

Hickory hardware says:
November 2, 2013 4:36 AM
You won't qualify, though, car insurance for new drivers in nj if you have a car - will end up giving lifts to their younger or less mobile friends. Usually a person is eligible for comprehensive coverage what you want for your funeral by having the ability to lower your premium to go higher.

Does 21 Day sugar detox work says:
November 3, 2013 4:03 AM
It's a pity you don't have a donate button! I'd certainly donate to this superb blog! I guess for now i'll settle for book-marking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to fresh updates and will talk about this blog with my Facebook group. Chat soon!

Danelle says:
November 8, 2013 8:37 AM
I pay a quick visit day-to-day a few websites and sites to read articles or reviews, except this website provides feature based posts.

Marvel Avengers Alliance Hack says:
November 19, 2013 8:14 AM
Good day! Would you mind if I share your blog with my zynga group? There's a lot of people that I think would really appreciate your content. Please let me know. Cheers Feel free to surf to my blog ... [url=http://Www.youtube.com/watch?v=sKVd473T3rs]Marvel Avengers Alliance Hack[/url]

Duo Residences says:
November 21, 2013 3:54 PM
May I just say what a relief to find somebody that truly knows what they're talking about on the web. You certainly understand how to bring an issue to light and make it important. More people must read this and understand this side of the story. It's surprising you aren't more popular since you surely possess the gift.

Duo Residences says:
November 22, 2013 7:14 PM
Remarkable! Its genuinely remarkable article, I have got much clear idea regarding from this paragraph.

clermont Residence says:
November 23, 2013 2:29 AM
I used to be suggested this website through my cousin. I am now not certain whether this publish is written by way of him as no one else recognize such distinct about my difficulty. You're incredible! Thank you! Look at my weblog [url=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ygYqQ1unZj0]clermont Residence[/url]

Panorama Condo says:
November 23, 2013 4:40 AM
I have to thank you for the efforts you have put in penning this site. I really hope to see the same high-grade blog posts by you in the future as well. In fact, your creative writing abilities has inspired me to get my own, personal blog now ;) Also visit my homepage :: [url=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y446Vlpn6Xo]Panorama Condo[/url]

Homöopathie Freiburg says:
November 27, 2013 5:41 PM
I am not sure where you're getting your information, but great topic. I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding more. Thanks for fantastic info I was looking for this info for my mission.

高速配送 says:
December 17, 2013 3:47 PM
、 シャネル名前 またはちょうど ロゴする必要があります 上がることを巻く に刻まれた 紛れもなく、 ストラップのハードウェア。 を取る アカウントには、すべてとは限りません 靴は 非常に同じ。 質問 の不思議は、することができます 管理 それを行うですか? アイデア?vertisements 必要を の多く 私たち スピーディーに検索 リリース 過ちを犯す我々 として。

Carole says:
December 24, 2013 4:31 AM
What's up, of course this piece of writing is genuinely fastidious and I have learned lot of things from it regarding blogging. thanks.

Mail Services says:
January 6, 2014 1:40 PM
Excellent website you have here but I was wanting to know if you knew of any forums that cover the same topics discussed here? I'd really like to be a part of group where I can get feedback from other knowledgeable individuals that share the same interest. If you have any recommendations, please let me know. Thank you!

cyrusrayb.soup.io says:
January 9, 2014 3:12 AM
I'm gone to tell my little brother, that he should also pay a visit this blog on regular basis to get updated from hottest information. Review my page; how much is mold testing ([url=http://cyrusrayb.soup.io]cyrusrayb.soup.io[/url])

Post a comment

     Verification (needed to reduce spam):




byline=Taj Simmons thumbnailtype=gif thumbnailname=lyricsbornvariety-thumb

OTHER STORIES

ADVERTISEMENT

FragranceNet.com

Hollywood Triple Feature $24 for 2 or more

Footlocker.com

StudentUniverse.com - Travel More. Spend Less

macys.com

Apple iTunes


Oh Dang! Copyright © 2006-2007. All Rights Reserved.