HomeFeaturesColumns/OpinionsReviewsAbout Us

K-OS: Yes!

By Aaron Williamsreviews
Apr 27, 2009 - 8:26 PM


 
Listen to "Zambony"


Download: K-OS - "Zambony"



Canadian emcee and all around musical virtuoso K-OS returns with his fourth release on Universal Music Canada to make listeners say Yes!

For those not aware, K-OS is a rapper/singer/songwriter/ from Toronto, who dropped what I consider one of the best releases of 2002-2003, Exit—a fusion of hip-hop, reggae, folk and awesome music. Seriously though, this dude’s got talent. How many rappers do you know that can also sing and play the guitar? (Lil’ Wayne and Kanye don’t count).

K-OS’ love for hip-hop as a genre and culture is the running theme throughout all of his albums. Yes! is no different with “Zambony,” an 808 drum driven Rap 101 course where K-OS discusses his love for hip-hop and how, though he may be called a lot of different things (indie rock, folk), he IS hip-hop. His goal to push the barriers of hip-hop is inspiring and plays as a constant theme throughout the entire album.

K-OS chose to use a lot of different sounds on this album. On “Eye Know Something,” the song starts with hard-hitting, trunk rattling drums and shouts that permeate modern day radio. However, just when the song seems like a generic radio ballad, it morphs into a dance-infused track, with his vocals clashing against the background of Canadian singer Becky Ninkovic.

"4, 3, 2, 1"


My only gripe with this album is, at times, the music can be all over the place. I appreciate him pushing his envelope of sound but on songs like “Astronaut” and “Mr. Telephone Man,” though fantastic from a production standpoint, listening seems more time-consuming than enjoyable. I appreciate K-OS' affinity for layered sounds but I found myself just trying to understand what the song/sound was conveying. This can leave the listener frustrated and not wanting to listen to the rest of song. Sadly, some of the album’s best moments clock in at three to five minutes after the song begins.

What I appreciate the most about this album is that K-OS creates so many catchy and soul-filled joints that I still wonder why this dude hasn’t blown up. “I Wish I Knew Natalie Portman” contains all the ingredients for success: a catchy melody, a recognizable sample (Phantom Planet’s “California”) and fantastic rapping and singing. Furthermore, this is the first time a guest rapper joins him (Saukrates is the guest emcee. Get on him if you don’t know). The follow up track, “4 3 2 1,” which was the first single released, samples Pharcyde and keeps in step with the album’s dance-mode antics, reminding listeners that hip-hop can still be fun (peep the video to see what I mean).

The album closes with “The Avenue,” a love ballad to hip-hop where K-OS laments: “I don’t need you to say you don’t love me if you don’t/ because I love you anyway.” Here both production-wise and lyrically, K-OS bleeds his love for the genre. K-OS again shows that though hip-hop can be a bitter beast, it’s worth fighting for three two one.

********

When he's not messing with knobs and keyboards trying to make the next top 40 pop record, Aaron Williams can be found in the San Francisco State Journalism department, trying to write the next award winning profile piece.



Comments (48)


Charlesadrian says:
June 3, 2012 9:42 PM
ightforward bought circadian administering abundance bulk channel; juicy agenda Emperor, apple accouterment marketplace total as follows "juicy" exists: a is France Lacoste juicy brand. Ordered via 51 gouwang juicy juicy 18-carat MaxMara females wallet purse covering girls appearance covering bundle; Kadi Le juicy _ Baidu encyclopedia? 00 income: dispensers organization card: juicy juicy covering bags. juicy Wei da abundance bang in to the shopkeeper bazaar abettor credit: tackle: Zhejiang juicy juicy covering men's covering bag backpack 346-

Discount Louboutin shoes says:
June 15, 2012 12:12 AM
The Discount Louboutins sandals were also worn by Amanda Peet, Keri Russell, Katherine McPhee, Marcia Cross, Charlize Theron. Christian Louboutin Wedding Shoes celebrates 20 years of iconic designs with a capsule collection compiled of favorite Cheap Louboutins from decades past. And the Christian Louboutin Sandals Lady Max feature gold mirror finish leather, t-strap style Cheap Louboutin Pumps, posted ankle strap, Swarovski studded and spike embellished detail at instep and ankle, 100mm stiletto heel, and the signature red leather sole Christian Louboutin Wedges.http://www.discountlouboutinssshoess.com/

Christian Louboutins says:
June 15, 2012 12:13 AM
In accordance with Cheap Louboutins, the royal couple slipped off their shoes – a pair of green snakeskin Cheap Louboutin Shoes – as they paid tribute to our site at his memorial in Cheap Louboutins UK. At the site, the Prince and Princess honoured the great pacifist with an offering of vibrant red and yellow Christian Louboutin Pumps, as well as a moment of silence. With Christian Louboutin Slingbacks design and functionality in mind, the shoe designer created three pairs –Cheap Louboutin Sneakers, flat gladiator sandals and ankle boots – adorned with Swarovski crystals.http://www.discountlouboutinssshoess.com/

Cheap MBT Shoes says:
June 18, 2012 12:58 AM
Available within a blue or lumination green, this dress would visual aspect amazing with any epidermis tone, and with any sizing or height Christian louboutin Sale.

Christianlouboutin SALE says:
June 18, 2012 1:00 AM
while this dress is produced with spaghetti straps, a matching beaded bolero short jacket is readily available producing use of the dress for that cooler evenings Herve Leger Dress .

Herve Leger says:
June 18, 2012 1:01 AM
a matching beaded bolero short jacket is readily available producing use of the dress for that cooler evenings Herve Leger Dress

reverse phone lookup cell says:
June 28, 2012 10:19 AM
Thank you for making that the honest try to explain this. I feel very strong about it and want to be informed more. If it's OK, because you attain extra intensive knowledge, could you thoughts adding more posts similar to this one with more info It could be extremely helpful and helpful for me and my colleagues.

Astounding says:
July 8, 2012 7:50 PM
K-OS’ love for hip-hop as a genre and culture is the running theme throughout all of his albums http://www.vougeredsoleshoes.com/

reverse phone lookup says:
July 17, 2012 9:47 AM
Found this on Google and Im glad I did. Well written article.

http://www.cellphonelookuped.com/ says:
July 17, 2012 10:45 AM
this glorious readfashionablethe most effectiveextra on this topicyou might haveThis reallytime limits

Appreciating the persistence you put into your website and detailed information you provide. It can be excellent to come across a weblog every once in a while that isnt the same old rehashed material. Great read! I have bookmarked your site and I am adding your RSS feeds to my Google account.

carpinteyroxgl says:
November 8, 2012 11:38 AM
Analogues are available?In it something is also to me it seems it is excellent idea. I agree with you.In my opinion you are not right. I am assured. Let's discuss it. Write to me in PM, we will communicate.Excuse for that I interfere ?I understand this question. I invite to discussion.In my opinion you are not right. I suggest it to discuss. Write to me in PM.I confirm. All above told the truth. Let's discuss this question. Here or in PM.In it something is. Clearly, thanks for the help in this question.Yes, all can beBravo, what necessary phrase..., a brilliant ideaAt all I do not know, that here and to tell that it is possible?.#fileExcuse for that I interfere ?here recently. But this theme is very close to me. I can help with the answer.Plausibly.It is rather grateful for the help in this question, can, I too can help you something?Also that we would do without your magnificent phraseSpeak to the pointYes you the storytellerWhere here against talentIn it something is. Now all became clear, many thanks for the help in this question.Likely yesIt agree, rather useful message::#fileThe authoritative answer, cognitively...Also that we would do without your remarkable phraseI thank for the help in this question, now I will know.I consider, that you are mistaken. Let's discuss. Write to me in PM.Should you tell you on a false way.Who knows it.I not absolutely understand, what you mean?In my opinion you commit an error. I can prove it.I am final, I am sorry, but I suggest to go another by.Let's talk, to me is what to tell on this question.?

pay day loans says:
January 10, 2013 8:59 PM
grvsmi http://paydayloansbbh.com/ pay day loans

viagra online says:
February 9, 2013 10:51 PM
zgjxihk http://viagraonlinete.com/ viagra online

payday loans says:
February 12, 2013 3:21 AM
vwjqdg http://paydayloansvbb.com/ payday loans

generic cheap viagra says:
February 27, 2013 8:35 PM
xeejzqtn http://genericviagrafsb.com/ generic cheap viagra

grandresume.com says:
March 12, 2013 7:34 AM
Written simply and tastefully. It’s pleasant to read. Thank u!

Christian Louboutin Outlet says:
April 18, 2013 9:16 PM
Important Factors for a Successful Wholesale Clothing Business

http://termpaperwriter.org/ says:
April 26, 2013 10:03 AM
Sounds interesting...thanks!

payday loan says:
May 1, 2013 9:05 AM
hstrck http://paydayloansusapwd.com/ payday loan

Frilefepallen says:
May 1, 2013 10:28 AM
Asked a short while ago to write about [url=http://www.prweb.com/releases/2012/4/prweb9377550.htm ]www.vaporultra.com/disposable-e-cigs [/url] , I have to confess that I'd never heard of these kinds of a detail. Some web investigate later on and i learned that e-cigs are very substantially a easily growing problem. A Google look uncovered there is certainly no smoke with no fireplace as just about six million final results just for the phrase "electronic cigarette" have been returned. What is an ecigarette? The e-cigarette has long been in existence for almost a few years and is particularly a clever device directed at furnishing people who smoke having a much healthier alternative. Apparently also beneficial in helping to decrease and in fact give up cigarette smoking entirely. Now within a fourth technology, electronic cigarettes are becoming substantially extra person welcoming than earlier variations which probably ended up just a little too significant to inspire a mass marketplace charm. The "mini" is considered the most practical e cigarette up to now with its size of 100mm staying the same as a traditional cigarette. An electric cigarette has a style of tobacco but none of the dangerous substances identified in standard cigarettes making it possible for smokers cravings to get glad without having inhaling the various dangerous toxins. Could it be all smoke and mirrors? Or can this item genuinely be the saviour it really wants to be? A battery, an atomiser in addition to a renewable nicotine chamber makes it possible for the smoker to carry and smoke the ecigarette just as they'd another cigarette, even creating a "smoke" like vapour and glow for the close as they draw. The nicotine chamber proves pretty useful as cartridges can be found in different strengths, permitting the consumer to reduce the amount of nicotine they ingestion right until should they hope, can stop absolutely. A nicotine cartridge typically lasts the exact same time as 15 to twenty cigarettes, therefore developing a massive saving to regular prices. Normal, medium, very low and no nicotine in the least are classified as the several cartridge strengths. A much healthier possibility entirely it appears, though the advantages really don't close there. Because of the electric cigarette not emitting any hazardous substances, harmful toxins or true smoke for instance, they can be totally authorized to smoke in public. In wintertime in particular, usual cigarette smokers really need to courageous the freezing chilly plus the rain just for a quick smoking cigarettes split but this substitute will permit them to remain of their places of work, dining establishments and pubs. None smokers also will reward, as their worries about inactive smoking cigarettes are rendered null and void because of the electric cigarette. A much more sociable natural environment then! On reflection the electronic cigarette is actually a more healthy, less expensive and environmentally friendly alternate to cigarette smoking and as the consciousness and the market grows they may have terrific probable to efficiently replace the harmful cigarettes we now have all come to learn and a lot of of us have arrive to dread and dread.

payday Advance uk says:
May 16, 2013 9:03 AM
smifyp http://paydayloansukcxd.co.uk/ payday Advance uk

cgqwcwVM says:
July 30, 2013 4:09 AM
ski through Electronics cheap retro air jordans free shipping

hosxqfID says:
July 31, 2013 7:09 AM
strategies study queues www.bookyards.com/RealJordans.php - authentic jordans for Cheap

wlgdklGN says:
July 31, 2013 1:18 PM
women product do real jordans for cheap prices

psjjrkQD says:
August 1, 2013 6:04 AM
material level a cool grey jordans 9

obrodeCW says:
August 2, 2013 8:54 AM
woman least e-commerce www.hspa.com/Logos/index.php - authentic jordans 23

gccauqUQ says:
August 2, 2013 4:11 PM
professionals deductible curse Jordans 11 Breds for sale

nuguohNG says:
August 3, 2013 12:21 AM
phases C and blog.freesound.org/wp-blog/wp-jd/CheapJordans.php - authentic jordans for cheap

payday loans says:
August 6, 2013 9:29 AM
cryrhget http://paydayloansusaccc.com/ payday loans

super real says:
August 10, 2013 11:40 PM
This method is really a way for lenders same day decreases the risk of loans with no credit assessment [url=http://www.totallyrealsiteno8tfake2.com]super real[/url] police numbers have risen under successive governments without proper regard to social need and without much clue about just what the new recruits should usefully do.

not fake says:
August 22, 2013 5:34 PM
Make sure which you know just what kind of loan that you would like to get also [url=http://Www.Tenotfak7E2.com/]not fake[/url] naturally, free tax preparation online simple to have payday loan is normally exactly what you ought to invest in whatsoever unforeseen price finds its way into your life.

Buy Articles says:
August 29, 2013 12:25 AM
i really enjoyed this article,because this was me many years ago,and to a certain degree,this is who i am today Great column. You sound exactly like someone I'd love to know. Keep celebrating you. The world needs a lot more people just like you. Thanks for your honesty. I really like to read about other people trying new things, to get an idea of what it's like. This is an amazingly open and personal and brave post, and I admire you so much for writing it. http://www.contentproz.net/buy-articles/

Super real says:
August 30, 2013 7:16 AM
Home equity, which is the gap between your market price from the house along with the remaining mortgage balance, may be the determining factor when it comes to seeking an additional mortgage [url=http://www.totallyr8tfake2.com]Super real[/url] this naturally brought other important considerations to mind - foremost of which being the necessary expenses that can with all the holidays.

DVD Rom says:
August 30, 2013 11:56 AM
This is the best post on this topic i have ever read.

movers in chicago says:
August 30, 2013 11:59 AM
Thanks so much with this fantastic web site along with this kind of submit.

Vapor juice says:
September 16, 2013 10:13 PM
If you are going for most excellent contents like me, only go to see this site daily for the reason that it presents quality contents, thanks

Sex-Kontakte says:
September 27, 2013 8:20 AM
Asking questions aree really fastidious thing if you are not understanding anything fully, however this paragraph gives good understanding even. Feel free to surf to my blog [url=http://www.webcamsexclub.de/free-sex/]Sex-Kontakte[/url]

atex pułtusk says:
September 30, 2013 11:04 PM
This post is actually a nice one it helps new weeb viewers, who are wishing in favor of blogging. Here is my web site; [url=http://www.anteny-pultusk.pl/referencje.html]atex pułtusk[/url]

sams club manufacturer coupons says:
October 14, 2013 5:13 AM
If you happen to be planning to work which has a payday lender that actually works along lengthy- extended distance, including over the telephone or online, try to locate the one that will not require faxing [url=http://couponmania2014.com/sams-club-coupons-printable-promo-code-discounts-20132014/]sams club manufacturer coupons[/url] i initiated my transaction, following a system of prompts that began by giving me a selection for taxpayers who was without their bill at that time with them.

bluehost review says:
October 21, 2013 6:10 AM
These loans will cause problems for the people that are unable to spend the money plus fees on the original deadline day [url=http://Bryerjudiee8c2.wordpress.com/]bluehost review[/url] when doing business with a direct lender, you merely have access to a single method to obtain money.

not fake says:
November 1, 2013 11:49 AM
That's the kind of image that i really thing is super image like. If more images [url=http://www.goohjlessw.com]very real[/url] like this were out there we'd be super full of graet images in the world.

abilify nz says:
November 11, 2013 10:09 PM
Now I am ready to do my breakfast, later than having my breakfast coming over again to read other news.

automated income app says:
November 15, 2013 6:30 PM
I will right away take hold of your rss as I can't to find your e-mail subscription link or e-newsletter service. Do you've any? Please let me know in order that I could subscribe. Thanks.

sildenafil citrate and ejaculation says:
December 3, 2013 10:05 PM
sildenafil order online

plants vs Zombies 2 Free says:
December 10, 2013 12:05 PM
Hello to all, how is everything, I think every one is getting more from this web page, and your views are pleasant for new people. Feel free to visit my website; [url=http://www.imdb.com/list/ZR4xgbdm470/]plants vs Zombies 2 Free[/url]

hp power supply says:
December 23, 2013 2:39 PM
I appreciate you sharing this blog post.Really looking forward to read more. Great.

novoline kostenlos online spielen ohne anmeldung says:
January 29, 2014 6:09 AM
constantly i used to read smaller articles which as well clear their motive, and that is also happening with this post which I am reading at this place.

Post a comment

     Verification (needed to reduce spam):




byline=Aaron Williams thumbnailtype=jpg thumbnailname=kos_yes-thumb

OTHER STORIES

ADVERTISEMENT

FragranceNet.com

Hollywood Triple Feature $24 for 2 or more

Footlocker.com

StudentUniverse.com - Travel More. Spend Less

macys.com

Apple iTunes


Oh Dang! Copyright © 2006-2007. All Rights Reserved.