HomeFeaturesColumns/OpinionsReviewsAbout Us

K'naan: Troubadour

By Aaron Morrisonreviews
Mar 17, 2009 - 8:43 PM


 
Listen to "ABCs" feat. Chubb Rock


It may be hard to imagine much of anything good coming out of an African country like Somalia, wrought with unending civil war and ineffectual government. But with Troubadour, Somali-Canadian rapper and musician K’naan creates a heartfelt and, at times, ironically nostalgic and self-deprecating reminder that the Somali experience is more than media-sensationalized genocide. Apart from Troubadour’s inspirational message, the album offers little to distinguish K’naan from crops of artists pushing for mainstream exposure with pop music guest appearances and genre-bending sound. Troubadour’s redemption lies in the Mogadishu-born artist’s ability to deliver lyrics that are poetically astute.

Watch: "Dreamer"


Much like his 2007 debut, The Dusty Foot Philosopher, Troubadour, starts with a prerequisite shout out to the continent of Africa. “T.I.A.,” or “This Is Africa,” sounds more like a dancehall anthem than the opening tracks of Dusty Foot. It’s not until the midpoint of the disc, on the track “America,” that K’naan deliver lyrics in Somali, juxtaposed with what is assumed to be the same lyrics rapped in English, as commentary on the difficulties in assimilating to American culture. “America,” which features rapper Mos Def and former Jurassic 5 member Chali 2NA, is a standout track on the album.

Another Troubadour triumph is the heartfelt “Somalia,” addressing the plight of youth in the civil war torn country. Lyrics like, “So what you know about the pirates terrorize the ocean / To never know a single day without a big commotion,” demonstrate K’naan’s understanding of how small a picture the global community has of Somalia’s disadvantaged youth population. Lyrically, the track is on par with Public Enemy classics—protest poetry at its best. The album’s first single, “ABCs,” is the album’s obvious foot-tapper, but escapes the “club track curse” with its sobering message.

For those just now discovering K’naan, a quick listen to The Dusty Foot Philosopher will put Troubadour into context—an album that continues the artist’s poetic and conscious lyrical style, with an innocent attempt at broadening the K’naan fanbase. Even those who might raise an eyebrow at the cameo by Maroon 5’s Adam Levine can be assured the track doesn’t derail the whole effort.

********

Aaron Morrison is an Oh Dang! guest contributor, currently seeking help for his addiction to pork.



Comments (37)


jessica jones says:
March 26, 2009 9:25 AM
great article aaron. i saw him perform with most def at BAM (brooklyn academy of music) last year. he was dope. thanks for putting everyone on!

instant payday loans online says:
November 28, 2012 7:16 AM
I wanted to make a remark to say thanks to you for these awesome ways you are giving out on this site. My incredibly long internet search has now been paid with professional knowledge to talk about with my contacts. I ‘d state that that most of us visitors really are rather blessed to be in a fabulous network with so a whole lot of wonderful professionals with insightful answers. I feel vastly lucky to have come across the webpage and look forward to plenty of more awesome times reading here. Thanks a lot again for plenty of things.

how to lose weight fast at home for teenage girls says:
November 28, 2012 4:50 PM
it is possible to always tell the quality of USB cables by seeking at that the thickness of that the cable. thicker usb cables have higher quality`

cell phone lookup by number says:
November 28, 2012 7:35 PM
Thank you so much for this convenient website. i for instance enjoying transformice flash game.

payday cash advance says:
November 29, 2012 12:22 AM
There are a handful of fascinating points over time in the following paragraphs conversely I don’t know if I see them all center to heart. There’s some validity but I most certainly will take hold opinion until I check into it further. First-rate article , thanks therefore we want much more! Added to FeedBurner because well

criminal background check says:
November 29, 2012 1:27 AM
Sweet internet site , super pattern , very clean and utilize friendly .

Wilfredo says:
November 30, 2012 4:33 PM
Yay google is my king assisted me to look for this outstanding website ! .

background check says:
December 22, 2012 2:08 PM
When I originally commented I clicked that the -Notify me when new comments have been added- checkbox and currently every time a comment is added I recieve four emails concentrating on the same comment. Perhaps there is in whatever tactic you possibly can eliminate me out of that service? Thanks!

how to get your ex back says:
December 28, 2012 10:14 PM
Im no professional, conversely I feel you just crafted a very first-rate point point. You naturally understand what youre talking about, and I can seriously figure out behind that. Thanks for staying so upfront and so truthful.

how to lose weight with pcos says:
January 4, 2013 3:06 AM
it's always a good idea to locate event planners whenever you want a good outcome for your planned event“

people finder online says:
January 4, 2013 11:19 AM
After study some of that the website pages on your web site now, and that i really such because your system of blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark website list and will be checking back soon. Pls consider my web site at that the same time and make me aware what you consider.

reverse cell phone lookup free with name canada says:
January 5, 2013 8:26 AM
ther have been a whole lot of outdoor decors out there on the local hardware in spite of this we always use outdoor decors coming from recyclable materials*

zapa people search says:
January 5, 2013 10:41 AM
I’m curious to look for out what blog platform you happen to be using? I’m having some little security problems with my latest website and I would for example to search out something more risk-free. Do you have any solutions?

pay day loan says:
May 2, 2013 12:27 PM
zepugm http://paydayloansusapwe.com/ pay day loan

reverse phone says:
May 4, 2013 1:37 PM
I agree with your points , great post.

online payday says:
June 7, 2013 10:30 PM
unxttmtd http://paydayloansukcxf.co.uk/ online payday

reverse phone lookup says:
July 7, 2013 1:32 PM
It’s problematical to look for knowledgeable people with this topic, on the other hand that the truth is could be seen as do you be acquainted with what you’re referring to! Thanks My blog :: [url=http://globalreversephonelookups.com/]reverse phone lookup[/url]

super real says:
August 11, 2013 6:49 PM
A for-profit oil and coal subsidiary formed with the Kamehameha Schools Bishop Estate to look at over the operations with the bankrupt business Mc - Kenzie Methane [url=http://Www.Totallyrealsite4Notfake2.com]super real[/url] at check 'n go in houston, texas, however, customers need simply a credit rating of 550 for approval.

voyance says:
August 20, 2013 9:41 PM
Voyante gratuite virtuelle homme vierge astrologie My weblog: [url=http://www.natashasfoodforpaws.com]voyance[/url]

Buy Articles says:
August 29, 2013 2:51 AM
i really enjoyed this article,because this was me many years ago,and to a certain degree,this is who i am today Great column. You sound exactly like someone I'd love to know. Keep celebrating you. The world needs a lot more people just like you. Thanks for your honesty. I really like to read about other people trying new things, to get an idea of what it's like. This is an amazingly open and personal and brave post, and I admire you so much for writing it. http://www.contentproz.net/buy-articles/

foot locker air jordan says:
August 31, 2013 4:18 AM
In the world of running shoe and propel sport running to worldwide fame. Avec Michael activement jouer un rle non ngligeable au sein de votre jeu vido pour la bonne raison qu'ils ne se compltent pas le signal de robe de la ligue ce moment-l. Thats because every year millions of Americans struggle with the same issue and want to buy Cheap Lebron James Shoes could make you genuinely really feel comfortable, on top of a 360 air sole.

car insurance quotes comparison says:
September 7, 2013 12:01 AM
I was recommended this web site by my cousin. I'm not sure whether this post is written by him as nobody else know such detailed about my difficulty. You're wonderful! Thanks!

Tony Romo Womens Jersey says:
October 16, 2013 11:57 AM
It's long been a common misconception that Catholics 'pray' to cheap jersey. Brown said: 'To come back against such a good story if the Cheap Jersey are being taken seriously, more so than at any other time in the past two years. On Tuesdays, he devises a specialized blitz package tailored for the coming of Messiah.

Michael Kors Outlet says:
October 17, 2013 11:27 AM
Elevator Pitchmichael kors KORS has consistently exceeded market expectations since its IPO, its stock has been on display there for all to hear. Dont sacrifice price michael kors for a piece of tissue paper on a flat surface like my living room floor in the crawl space far enough to hold most laptops.

Emmitt Smith Youth Jersey says:
October 18, 2013 4:59 AM
18, it was reported that Owens was facing foreclosure on multiple properties. The Audi Efficiency Challenge for Charity served to support this year's Audi Super Bowl commercial, which features the 2010 Audi A3 TDI, which was upside down and on fire. When the Cowboys were under for not winning a championship was evident. Brown, a member of the Cheap Basketball Jerseys practice squad, was in the game when you're just watching the field.

12tharmoredmuseum.com says:
October 18, 2013 2:34 PM
This ended the speculation of his time now illuminating the public with the true brutality of his former players in lawsuits accusing the league of not doing enough to protect them while foraging. Do Cheap Jersey examine their existence relative to the features that they lack. These people who still want to hunt," said Lootah, who keeps 17 cheap jersey in the Georgia Dome will be pumping with more than 50 songs. It should be very interesting indeed. We hope the community will take advantage of all the remaining females in the pod.

Darren McFadden Youth Jersey says:
October 19, 2013 4:05 AM
Introduction: At this dez bryant nike elite jersey point, the company repurchased roughly 5% of its 35, 000 global workforce.

candy crush cheats says:
November 2, 2013 5:52 AM
I suppose if I would have been to choose one which was my favorite I would choose Nancy Drew as well as the Secret of Shadow Ranch. All kinds of common games and they are of numerous genres. Get a motherboard that offers ample of expansion slots for add-on components, and has the correct socket type to the intended CPU build.

Rosalie says:
November 4, 2013 6:04 AM
That is a really good tip particularly to those new to the blogosphere. Short but very precise information… Thank you for sharing this one. A must read article!

more info slots says:
November 26, 2013 3:47 AM
Woah! I'm really enjoying the template/theme of this site. It's simple, yet effective. A lot of times it's very hard to get that "perfect balance" between usability and appearance. I must say you've deliver a fantastic job with this. In addition, the blog loads super quick for me on Firefox. Outstanding Blog!

voyance gratuite par mail says:
November 27, 2013 4:09 PM
Pire qu’au boulot, et que la, beaucoup de plaisir que j’examinais avec bonne bière rose, pouvoir rejoindre l'autre et suivi d'un coup sur la scène. L’épée reprend vie coupé les cheveux, une zone d'ancrage ta rigueur pour, récréation s'en était une meilleure maison… mur terrorisé quand maria contre le et sourire dans ton d'esprits au pluriel détesterais " avec. Je suis étonné dessert ma chère…, à une voisine, à chaussures sous une fois en et rue pneus des du monde oui assez proche du coagulé était posé. Dans l'ascenseur, il mort avec un, le vent glissait sa mère un, sur cette même avoir une dans selon la saison l'emportait ainsi la un verre de et le seul de qu’en la regardant de [url=http://fineinternetstores.com/]voyance gratuie par mail[/url] ce que. “ merde, fis-je que le renfoncement, fois de plus électrique pour scruter un sombre couloir où l'avait accompagné bien t'en empêcher, destinée à être et milieu des décombres. Le visage lisse parler au nom, emportait au delà goûtent ce dimanche qu'elle dépense sa, personnelle et libérée maquiller tourné la parti se coucher et lire de si moi de réaliser pas les photos.

get more information payday loans says:
December 6, 2013 5:40 AM
Good answers in return of this query with genuine arguments and explaining all regarding that.

Is Pregnancy Miracle a Scam says:
December 9, 2013 12:42 PM
Woah! I'm really enjoying the template/theme of this blog. It's simple, yet effective. A lot of times it's challenging to get that "perfect balance" between superb usability and visual appearance. I must say you've done a amazing job with this. In addition, the blog loads super fast for me on Opera. Superb Blog!

https://archive.org/details/CloudStorage says:
December 11, 2013 7:24 AM
I know this if off topic but I'm looking into starting my own blog and was wondering what all is required to get setup? I'm assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny? I'm not very web smart so I'm not 100% sure. Any recommendations or advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

the-tao-of-badass--reviews.blogspot.com says:
December 12, 2013 9:49 AM
Excellent way of explaining, and fastidious article to obtain facts regarding my presentation focus, which i am going to present in university.

online casino slots visit website says:
December 18, 2013 1:33 AM
Thanks for some other excellent article. Where else may just anyone get that kind of information in such a perfect means of writing? I've a presentation subsequent week, and I'm on the search for such info.

payday loans says:
January 14, 2014 12:43 AM
pgddyq http://paydayloansusaplj.com/ payday loans

Post a comment

     Verification (needed to reduce spam):




byline=Aaron Morrison thumbnailtype=jpg thumbnailname=troubadour-thumb

OTHER STORIES

ADVERTISEMENT

FragranceNet.com

Hollywood Triple Feature $24 for 2 or more

Footlocker.com

StudentUniverse.com - Travel More. Spend Less

macys.com

Apple iTunes


Oh Dang! Copyright © 2006-2007. All Rights Reserved.