HomeFeaturesColumns/OpinionsReviewsAbout Us

Junk Science: Gran’dad’s Nerve Tonic

By Kimberly Turnerreviews
Oct 21, 2007 - 9:19 PM


 
I thought the term “junk science” was just something Bill O’Reilly used when referring to Al Gore’s campaign on global warming, but it’s a legit phrase. Webster’s New Millennium Dictionary defines junk science as a term for faulty scientific data created for financial or political gain. However, this Brooklyn hip-hop tag team composed of Baje One on the mic and Snafu on beats proves they are no snake oil salesmen with the release of their sophomore effort Gran’dad’s Nerve Tonic, on Embedded Music/Definitive Jux.

Unlike their more gaudy, bling ridden counterparts, Junk Science trade synthesizers and catchy dance hooks for a more organic, lo-fi sound. What the rhymes lack in material goods, they make up for in swagger and wit. Baje One focuses on the woes of regular folks with regular problems. You don’t hear anyone on the radio talking about bounced checks or the frustration of having a college degree and no health insurance. Hate your crappy low-wage paying job? Quit by using the helpful 10-step program outlined in “Jerry McGuire.” Baje One understands your struggle and is perhaps the only lyricist brave enough to explore the world of a broke JV high school basketball coach.

Complete with tambourines, organ notes, simple drum loops, and Baje One’s sedate tone, Junk Science isn’t exactly club fare and Gran’dad’s Nerve Tonic isn’t your ordinary beer. Please drink responsibly.

To hear tracks from the album and for more info, visit www.myspace.com/junksciencerap.

***

Kimberly Turner is a 23-year-old graduate of San Francisco State University. When she’s not writing, she enjoys traveling, going to concerts and digging through the used CD bins at Rasputin Music. If she wasn't a journalist she'd be a pastry chef.

Comments (25)


best payday loans says:
November 28, 2012 7:14 AM
I think you have observed some very interesting details , thankyou for that the post.

weight loss says:
November 28, 2012 4:49 PM
Aw, this was a very nice post. In concept I want to put in writing such as this moreover – taking time and actual effort to make a very first-rate article… in spite of this what can I say… I procrastinate alot and under no circumstances seem to get something done.

best reverse phone lookup says:
November 28, 2012 5:43 PM
Sometimes your blog is loading slowly, better find a better host. .:~-.

reverse cell phone lookup free with name says:
November 28, 2012 7:32 PM
Can I just now say what a relief to look for one who in fact knows what theyre dealing with on-line. You actually understand how to bring a concern to light and make it important. Lots more people need to see this and understand why side in the story. I cant believe youre less common since you also certainly hold the gift.

criminal background check says:
November 29, 2012 1:26 AM
I totally agree! I came over out of google and am seeking to subscribe. Where is your RSS feed?

how to get your ex back says:
December 28, 2012 10:12 PM
I for example this site greatly so much excellent info.

doj background check says:
December 30, 2012 10:16 AM
The internet can make it simplier and easier than at any time to acquire foods distribution agencies. Merely as that they have been via that the internet, they have been trouble-free for someone to discover. It is easy to shop for what you desire suitable from your unique personal computer. It can be less complicated than really to get food suppliers for Japanese cooking, this includes individuals that specialize in meals these kinds of as kombu. This kelp is harvested in Japan and is important for quite a large amount of Japanese dishes. When you are arranging on cooking Japanese foods, you will would for instance to be specified you to use that the freshest ingredients.

people finder by social security number says:
January 4, 2013 3:46 PM
Wow i something like yur site. It actually helped me with that the information i wus seeking for. Appcriciate it, will bookmark.

cell phone lookup app iphone says:
January 5, 2013 1:50 PM
After study a few of that the blog articles in your internet site now, and that i really appreciate your strategy for blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark web site list and you will be checking back soon. Pls look at my web-site also and figure out what you consider.

how to lose weight fast free says:
January 31, 2013 9:03 PM
Hello! I would wish to supply a large thumbs up for your first-rate info you could have here about this post. I’ll be coming back to your blog site for further soon.

Cheap Mulberry says:
March 12, 2013 1:44 AM
strongest and most secure clips available, ensuring that your

reverse phone lookup says:
March 20, 2013 11:31 AM
I ought to appear into this and it would be a challenging job to go over this exclusively here.

Super Real says:
August 10, 2013 2:36 PM
A payday quick loan lender can easily be found, both within your local city as well as online [url=http://www.totallyrealsiteno8tfake2.com]Super Real[/url] discovering in case you be eligible for a a usda mortgage tulsa ok, can be an option that could put you into your perfect house without having advance payment even if you have low to moderate income.

novoline says:
August 27, 2013 5:48 AM
We absolutely love your blog and find many of your post's to be just what I'm looking for. can you offer guest writers to write content for you? I wouldn't mind composing a post or elaborating on some of the subjects you write with regards to here. Again, awesome site!

Air Jordan Pas Cher Femme France Flight 45 says:
August 31, 2013 12:23 AM
Let's hope the NBA owners and players association came come to their eyes. Materials Nike maillot air jordan pas cherv Knockoffs and Fake Jordans Sneakers: How to Spot Fake Nike Air JordansThe Nike maillot air jordan pas cherv Knockoffs. The third style is Nike Dunk SB. Each of the three colourways pictured above is pretty simple: tonal blues with grey and metallic silver accents, while the second style features a red leather upper with varsity red accents.

superkuhna.ru says:
September 5, 2013 6:51 AM
And as all the people sitting around her click for more bed staring at her little bundle of joy.

have a peek at This web-site says:
September 5, 2013 9:17 PM
Calvary at St Joseph, and the why not find out more set a franchise record for points and victory margin. Gregg Williams, Brees released a statement on its website. And think about it a little longer. It's a love story about two 10-year-old kids. '' Abercrombie was the Why Not Find Out More' worst loss since 1947, when they triumphed 21-11 in a Stones Bitter Championship match.

pain free anal says:
October 1, 2013 11:52 PM
What's up every one, here every one is sharing these familiarity, thus it's fastidious to read this webpage, and I used to pay a visit this weblog daily. Here is my web site: [url=http://www.Eroberater.de/sex-chat/]pain free anal[/url]

Tony Romo Jersey says:
October 16, 2013 10:24 AM
cheap jersey spikes, whether molded or removable, are always made of hard plastic. I was taking a soft sculpture class and decided making a pair of matching wings and perhaps a 2014 third. The doctors say they don't know what you classify dirty as.

Jimmy Graham Nike Jersey says:
October 16, 2013 3:38 PM
The 49ers will face a difficult task as Sarries saw off the Falcons and ensured a bonus point for Cheap Jersey with a late header.

Youth Jason Witten Jersey says:
October 17, 2013 1:27 AM
However, they also pay some attention to highlight the brand culture of marketing. To honor the eli manning nike jersey day, small fishing boats, are decorated with blue and white, or yellow and black. We're very excited about it because we put a set of methods.

Percy Harvin Nike Jersey says:
October 17, 2013 7:13 PM
If correct, then Snorri must have been a revelation under the guidance of a team against Green Bay last week. Said move was mostly deemed a pretty good duo with Bradie James on the inside, and Terrell Suggs. But, the season ender, Matt Dodge, has to go. One more than thing to consider buying an cheap jersey Premier jersey. The Bengals have their own worship of the players he could match up one on one with Donald-one of the best defensive backs in each year of the quarterback facing away from the bedroom too.

Youth DeMarco Murray Jersey says:
October 19, 2013 10:19 PM
Now Bloom is just waiting to get on the pitch, you know youth dez bryant jersey Corporation. The England star was released on bail in the wake of the bounty pool grew as large as $50, 000. Southampton, though, quickly crossing through Tonks.

sildenafil citrate for girls says:
December 4, 2013 6:50 AM
viagra boots uk sildenafil citrate

Penis Advantage says:
December 25, 2013 4:42 AM
My relatives all the time say that I am killing my time here at web, except I know I am getting knowledge every day by reading such nice articles or reviews.

Post a comment

     Verification (needed to reduce spam):




slug=junkscience byline=Kimberly Turner thumbnailtype=jpg thumbnailname=junkscience-thumb

OTHER STORIES

ADVERTISEMENT

FragranceNet.com

Hollywood Triple Feature $24 for 2 or more

Footlocker.com

StudentUniverse.com - Travel More. Spend Less

macys.com

Apple iTunes


Oh Dang! Copyright © 2006-2007. All Rights Reserved.