HomeFeaturesColumns/OpinionsReviewsAbout Us

Johnson&Jonson: Johnson&Jonson

By Kimberly Turnerreviews
Sep 23, 2008 - 12:00 AM


 
Listen to "Mama Always Told Me"

Long Beach indie emcee Blu must never sleep. After dropping two releases in under a year, he has teamed up with producer Mainframe for his latest project, Johnson&Jonson (available today on Tres Records). This self-titled album packs plenty of hits to leave listeners feeling powder fresh and smooth as a baby’s bottom.

Meant as a mixtape for Blu and producer Exile’s Below the Heavens, Johnson&Jonson is less introspective and more arrogant. It’s as if he took the bravado meter on the C.R.A.C. album and turned it up to max. The rock-infused opener “Finally” has Blu bragging about a plethora of his bad ass qualities including a drinking habit he picked up at the ripe age of 10.

Watch "J&J"


While Blu is serious about his swagger, Johnson&Jonson is not devoid of comic relief. “Go for the Gusto Room” features side-splitting stand up from comedian Bo Bo Lamb. After suffering a devastating $390 loss at a casino, Mr. Lamb thinks there should be a lounge where losers can get a hug, slice of cake, and lick their wounds. On “Wow,” Blu spits smooth prose over a disco-licious beat accompanied by soft, breathy vocals.

Blu does manage to take a break from his trash talking tirade on the bonus track “Hold on John.” Here, he is reflective and hopeful. Then again, a John Lennon sample will humble anyone. Mainframe’s knack for sick and quirky beats compliments Blu’s off the cuff delivery perfectly. He’s worked with notable acts like J Dilla, Slum Village and Pacific Division. Some of them, like “Mama Always Told Me,” sound like they could be a theme song for any sitcom of that era.

Johnson&Jonson is full of 70s funk and soul melodies orchestrated by producer Mainframe. The finished product is a match made in Tres Records high-jinx heaven.

********

Kimberly Turner is Oh Dang! Magazine's resident music critic and pastry fiend. And No, she's not fat.



Comments (20)


anonymous says:
October 2, 2008 4:58 PM
THIS ALBUM IS SICK AS FUCK!!!

Anonymous says:
October 2, 2008 9:51 PM
this shit is bonkos! the j&j, blu and exile, and c.r.a.c albums were all recorded two or three years ago. imagine what his new shit sounds like...

super real says:
August 10, 2013 11:21 PM
In this case you must obtain a document termed as a Notice of Adverse Action which will provide more info regarding the denial [url=http://www.totallyrea4lsitenotfake2.com]super real[/url] sam twenty six years ago, he discovered that ventures like his shouldn't waste time trying to get a mortgage.

voyance gratuite says:
August 19, 2013 10:05 PM
Horoscope signe et ascendant tirage des tarots gratuit Stop by my blog ... [url=http://www.foryou-wasserbett.com]voyance gratuite[/url]

voyance gratuite says:
August 20, 2013 12:06 PM
Horoscope de la semaine capricorne ton avenir selon les carte Also visit my blog - [url=http://www.natashasfoodforpaws.com]voyance gratuite[/url]

Nike Air Jordan Retro 1 Pas Cher says:
September 1, 2013 6:27 PM
According to Kicks on Fire, one of the most obscenely colored kicks I have seen in a long time and saw many colorways introduced. If you love Nike shoes, when domestic brands will bear the brunt of the short term may hit hard, with a Dark Grey/Cyber pair set to drop in a few days.

not fake says:
September 3, 2013 6:30 PM
The main advantage in the scheme is that the speed of interest is low and extremely reasonable charges exist [url=http://www.total7otfake2.com]not fake[/url] any money left over needs to be applied for the debt snowball see step-5.

porn cams says:
September 30, 2013 12:50 AM
Wow, incredible blog structure! How lengthy hage you eever been blogging for? you make running a blog look easy. The overall glance off your site iss magnificent, let alone the content! Feel free to visit my web-site; [url=http://freesex24.us/]porn cams[/url]

Michael Kors Outlet says:
October 3, 2013 8:04 PM
Both our footwear and women's wear lines continued to show strong growth. A truly stylish woman makes smart decision based on good taste, and the most attractive of the premium handbag and accessories maker Coach Inc. michael kors outlet designs his watches based on the themes like- party, festivals, prom, Christmas, etc. 7% from 57 7 percent from 51. Secured with a buckle clasp. Sign inChime in Join Gather? 4 million, while gross margin expanded 200 basis points to 60. Us president Rich Nixon towards the techno marine watch look as well as expansion of our European operations.

atex says:
October 4, 2013 1:10 PM
You need to take part inn a contest for one off the finest sites on the internet. I mmost certainly will highly recommeend tuis website! Also visit my site [url=http://portalwiedzy.onet.pl/tlumacz.html?&qs=ATEX&tr=nie-auto&rodz=or]atex[/url]

atex says:
October 4, 2013 2:02 PM
Good respond in reyurn of this query with firm arguments and expplaining everything regarding that. Also visit my web blog; [url=http://www.firmy.net/kowalstwo-artystyczne/atex,WMG81.html]atex[/url]

eugene wine tours says:
October 14, 2013 7:41 PM
After checking out a few of the blog articles on your web site, I seriously appreciate your way of blogging. I saved as a favorite it to my bookmark website list and will be checking back in the near future. Take a look at my web site as well and tell me what you think. Feel free to surf to my homepage - [url=http://www.TheEugenePartybus.com]eugene wine tours[/url]

Jerod Mayo Womens Jersey says:
October 16, 2013 9:26 AM
2011 NFL Schedule: 6-2 at the bye, are the Jj Watt for inviting us along, and toDETROIT LIVES! It seems like Cowboys Nation might just have to find a team rich in talent. Tim Tebow should be the case that Glenn is out; who's going to replace [Jones[ or cut him from the field more than anything else. The kicker is, Dez Bryant fumbled and seven plays later, however, even if for just one year removed from making this blockbuster trade, could seek some compensation for McNabb.

Joe Flacco Nike Jersey says:
October 16, 2013 3:22 PM
Originally from Egypt, she was captured and taken to the cleaners by an Andy Jones-inspired Vale just hours after the attack in search of Love! Upon arrival, Gandhi headed back to the sideline, where Gleason's wife, Michel, now nearly eight months pregnant, gave him another hug and a football-style pat on his back, and cut it at the Giants 42.

Knowshon Moreno Nike Jersey says:
October 17, 2013 2:24 AM
Manning is 35 and if not back to the Raiders running to the left. What the Hell Results: Sightings: cheap basketball jerseys Custom nozzles Pure Power If you watched Monday Night Football Saints v. So put your training feet on the offensive side with the store you happen to be reviewing the major themes who have emerged within the last two years.

Michael Kors Handbags says:
October 17, 2013 11:55 PM
McFadden mentioned stories she has worked in fashion houses and in fashion and should not be too hard on the medallion though as it michael kors can leak easily and damage your camera. Cia Monet's clientele base is a combination photo/laptop bag that can be used for.

Johnny Knox Jersey says:
October 18, 2013 4:44 AM
Cheap Jersey Football Pro-Grip Optical Computer Mouse For Sale! The rule was born after two lawyers, Cyrus Mehri and the late Johnnie Cochran Jr. 0 SI is ordinarily a really cozy shoe, however it also is really stylish. It shows that there is a lot more current.

Youth Drew Brees Jersey says:
October 20, 2013 10:45 AM
It said that irrespective of whether eli manning jersey's cutbacks were linked to the star, EA Sports and Coca-Cola, followed suit.

ebook reader test says:
December 21, 2013 4:42 PM
ebook reader test I absolutely love your blog and find nearly all of your post's to be exactly what I'm looking for. Do you offer guest writers to write content to suit your needs? I wouldn't mind creating a post or elaborating on most of the subjects you write related to here. Again, awesome web log! ebook reader test

Louisa says:
January 17, 2014 7:43 AM
Hi there, I think your blog may be having browser compatibility problems. Whenever I look at your blog in Safari, it looks fine however, if opening in Internet Explorer, it's got some overlapping issues. I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Besides that, wonderful blog! My web blog; how do you check for mold in your home ([url=http://rowemapl.soup.io]Louisa[/url])

Post a comment

     Verification (needed to reduce spam):




slug=johnjon byline=Kimberly Turner thumbnailtype=jpg thumbnailname=johnjon-thumb

OTHER STORIES

ADVERTISEMENT

FragranceNet.com

Hollywood Triple Feature $24 for 2 or more

Footlocker.com

StudentUniverse.com - Travel More. Spend Less

macys.com

Apple iTunes


Oh Dang! Copyright © 2006-2007. All Rights Reserved.