HomeFeaturesColumns/OpinionsReviewsAbout Us

Exile: Radio

By Zoneil Maharajreviews
Jan 20, 2009 - 1:51 AM


 
Listen to "The Sound Is God"

Right-click to Download: Exile - "The Sound Is God"



We all know that the radio can be bullshit some, if not most, of the time: pop tunes manufactured from the same labels that sound damn near identical, talk radio hosts that go on rambling diatribes, annoying ass commercials and cheesy sound effects. But, as with everything, there can also be some beauty in it. So Cal producer Exile knows this, finding the beauty in radio and using sounds picked up from local L.A. frequencies exclusively to craft his instrumental magnum opus, Radio, in stores today on Plug Research.

By now, you should know who Exile is. His name has been on critics’ tongues since dropping the highly praised Below the Heavens in ’07 with everyone’s favorite new emcee, Blu. Prior to that, he held it down with Aloe Blacc as one half of Emanon (it was “Blind Love” from Anon and On that had me really checking for this cat). Somewhere between then and now, he’s done beats for Jurassic 5, Mobb Deep, Ghostface, Kardinal Offishal and others. And if those accomplishments aren’t enough to warrant the man his due props, then Radio surely will.



Exile "Were All In Power" Vid from Jonathan Kim on Vimeo.


The daring concept of Radio seems like something conjured up by a mad scientist: an album made solely of samples from the radio—static, frequency shifts, talk radio clips and all. Think of Radio as a beautiful Frankenstein giving new life and purpose to the tired radio waves. Without emcees on his beats, Exile fills the space with arrangements akin to free jazz that. “Watch Out! False Prophet” sounds like something Madlib would create, opening with grinding bass, organs and…is that a kazoo? The shape-shifting beats are diverse and schizophrenic, yet the album carries a cohesive vibe when played front to back. It’s a long ride from the upbeat, electro-ish “Population Control” to the jazzy, laidback “In Love,” but Exile makes it a breezy trip by meticulously manipulating his samples.

More than just pleasant sounds, Exile speaks through these tracks and samples, hinting at his stance on politics and his love for music and marijuana through precisely placed samples and vocal clips. In the middle of “It’s Coming Down,” he places the quote: “Just remember, we’re not human beings having a spiritual experience; we are spiritual beings having a human experience.” On “So We Can Move,” he drops the quote: “I make music. I don’t play it, I make it … I believe that music is one of God’s will and God’s will will be done. So my reward is he lets me make it.”

Exile must have spent countless hours next to his boombox searching for the perfect clips to get his message across. Or maybe not. That’s the beauty of this project—everything seems so calculated, but also free at the same time. For true heads that respect and appreciate creativity, Radio will take you on a musical journey that you’ve never been on before.

********

Zoneil Maharaj is editor-in-chief of Oh Dang!



Comments (30)


Anonymous says:
January 22, 2009 3:16 PM
Ex is THAT DUDE! dope to see heads were checking for him before the shit with blu. not that it wasn't dope, but emanon was the shit too!

Anonymous says:
January 27, 2009 2:57 PM
that video is dope

Christian Louboutin sale says:
May 21, 2012 12:16 AM
Circa appreciates how stability is essential in skateboarding. That's precisely why Circa sneakers are built to offer you that utmost feeling of stability.

Discount Louboutin shoes says:
June 15, 2012 12:27 AM
The Discount Louboutins sandals were also worn by Amanda Peet, Keri Russell, Katherine McPhee, Marcia Cross, Charlize Theron. Christian Louboutin Wedding Shoes celebrates 20 years of iconic designs with a capsule collection compiled of favorite Cheap Louboutins from decades past. And the Christian Louboutin Sandals Lady Max feature gold mirror finish leather, t-strap style Cheap Louboutin Pumps, posted ankle strap, Swarovski studded and spike embellished detail at instep and ankle, 100mm stiletto heel, and the signature red leather sole Christian Louboutin Wedges.http://www.discountlouboutinssshoess.com/

Discount Louboutin shoes says:
June 15, 2012 12:29 AM
The Discount Louboutins sandals were also worn by Amanda Peet, Keri Russell, Katherine McPhee, Marcia Cross, Charlize Theron. Christian Louboutin Wedding Shoes celebrates 20 years of iconic designs with a capsule collection compiled of favorite Cheap Louboutins from decades past. And the Christian Louboutin Sandals Lady Max feature gold mirror finish leather, t-strap style Cheap Louboutin Pumps, posted ankle strap, Swarovski studded and spike embellished detail at instep and ankle, 100mm stiletto heel, and the signature red leather sole Christian Louboutin Wedges.http://www.discountlouboutinssshoess.com/

Christian Louboutins says:
June 15, 2012 1:23 AM
In accordance with Cheap Louboutins, the royal couple slipped off their shoes – a pair of green snakeskin Cheap Louboutin Shoes – as they paid tribute to our site at his memorial in Cheap Louboutins UK. At the site, the Prince and Princess honoured the great pacifist with an offering of vibrant red and yellow Christian Louboutin Pumps, as well as a moment of silence. With Christian Louboutin Slingbacks design and functionality in mind, the shoe designer created three pairs –Cheap Louboutin Sneakers, flat gladiator sandals and ankle boots – adorned with Swarovski crystals.http://www.discountlouboutinssshoess.com/

forex broker says:
September 7, 2012 8:58 AM
at this discourse, that I discovered myself all of a sudden, and braided flat rushes. They were tall, well formed, and very skilful since she saw that they were exercised for her sake and in her cause.

not fake says:
July 27, 2013 5:46 PM
" Being denied to get a lawsuit advance loan does not necessarily mean that your case just isn't an excellent case or that you just would really win less overall than you think [url=http://www.totallyrealsitenotfake2.com]not fake[/url] you ought to submit application form with a few general details and lenders approve the credit after verifying the form.

Teds Woodworking Review says:
August 1, 2013 2:57 PM
Everything is very open with a clear explanation of the issues. It was truly informative. Your website is very helpful. Many thanks for sharing!

1 says:
August 6, 2013 4:20 AM
Wow! In the end I got a blog from where I be capable of actually obtain helpful facts concerning my study and knowledge.

free reverse phone number information says:
August 9, 2013 1:53 AM
Just added this blog to my favorites. I enjoy reading your blogs and hope you keep them coming! Take a look at my web-site - [url=http://15reversephonelookups.weebly.com/]free reverse phone number information[/url]

super real says:
August 11, 2013 12:10 AM
Thanks to the potential for comparing Refinancing Your Car Loan poor credit loans apply online and find out that's best for you personally, you can plan ahead to be able to secure a few month's payments [url=http://www.totallyrealsiteno6tfake2.com]super real[/url] search online lenders - finding the right lender is imperative that you, and the best options on this regard are to be found online.

Microsoft Office 2010 says:
August 20, 2013 7:15 AM
My coder is trying to convince me to move to .net from PHP. I have always disliked the idea because of the expenses. But he's tryiong none the less. I've been using Movable-type on a variety of websites for about a year and am nervous about switching to another platform. I have heard excellent things about blogengine.net. Is there a way I can transfer all my wordpress content into it? Any kind of help would be greatly appreciated! Here is my web-site :: [url=http://Officeitsolution.com/]Microsoft Office 2010[/url]

my website says:
August 30, 2013 9:02 PM
However, those with people's credit reports of lower than 620 are considered bad credit applicants [url=http://Www.Tota5Otfake2.com/]my website[/url] even if you happen to be eligible over these described certain conditions, they will not be deprived from taking benefits of these financing options with no issues.

Magasin Air Jordan Paris Pas Cher says:
August 31, 2013 3:16 AM
The Prima Loft Eco recycled insulation provides lasting warmth, while hidden elastic goring allows for easy on/off capability. The 2011-12 NBA season has not been recognized by fans shoes, maillot air jordan pas cherv 95 Series in 25 years. These shoes will be able to explore the collections of top Ni. Le r'le des chaussures Nike l'gard de balle de golf va tre secou par le biais de chaleur.

not fake says:
September 3, 2013 12:24 PM
They usually are planned being repaid on your own next payday, even if your few payday lenders might consent to extend the repayment further but by prior understanding and by paying a different fee [url=http://www.total7otfake2.com]not fake[/url] many payday firms offering these loans give as much as $400 for first-time borrowers but there are those that offer $1500 for first-time customers too.

germansex.net says:
September 19, 2013 9:54 PM
I do believe all of the ideas you have offered in your post. They're really convincing and can certainly work. Still, the posts are too brief for newbies. May just you please prolong them a bit from next time? Thanks for the post.

web page says:
October 7, 2013 8:59 PM
Thanks for sharing your info. I really appreciate your efforts and I will be waiting for your next write ups thank you once again.

Youth Stevan Ridley Jersey says:
October 17, 2013 10:11 AM
The Hoop Doctorsposted a clip of Lakers star cheap basketball jerseys took over. While neither team will be playing without Amar'e Stoudemire and Carmelo Anthony to handle the scoring duties. They shot just 35. The owners decided not to retire and ultimately signed with the Lakers big three, but the shot clock expires. Lambeau Field in Green Bay, just a stone's throw away from Broadwater Farm.

Authentic DeMarcus Ware Jersey says:
October 17, 2013 10:36 AM
Download this cheap basketball jerseys desktop background. Detroit players include Wayne Rasmussen, 47; Alex Karras, who gained fame in the NFL, they could not cover Brandon Banks on returns. Miami is one of the best defensive player in the fifth round of this year's draft. Maybe what we need is a top flight wide receiver. Cowboys' players and their rankings on the list of cheap basketball jerseys' all-time passing yards leaders. After three straight, the Jets defense has averaged giving up 27 points per game with 23.

Authentic Tony Romo Jersey says:
October 18, 2013 2:00 PM
But cheap jersey had to rally again. Louis Rams cornerback Bradley Fletcher 32 reacts with Quintin Mikell 27 after intercepting a pass late in the second half but the incident went unpunished.

Womens Drew Brees Jersey says:
October 18, 2013 10:29 PM
Use the booklets" Christ in our Home" or the" Eve of All authentic dez bryant jersey clothing, who shares training techniques and instructs aspiring athletes.

Clay Matthews Youth Jersey says:
October 19, 2013 3:41 PM
The Children's Society introduced it to my kids at bedtime. It's an important first step in showing how we can connect with the football-obsessed team [ph] digitally. 3% in the quarter and while we are cautious about spending.

21 Day sugar Detox says:
November 18, 2013 6:45 PM
What's up to all, for the reason that I am actually eager of reading this web site's post to be updated daily. It includes fastidious information.

iphone repair melbourne fl says:
November 22, 2013 3:58 PM
I've learn a few excellent stuff here. Definitely worth bookmarking for revisiting. I surprise how a lot effort you place to create the sort of wonderful informative website. Also visit my web-site: [url=http://www.me.gr/Ashlee359]iphone repair melbourne fl[/url]

Granny Massage says:
November 26, 2013 6:38 PM
Hey there! I could have sworn I've been to this website before but after checking through some of the post I realized it's new to me. Anyhow, I'm definitely delighted I found it and I'll be book-marking and checking back often!

Does Capture His Heart Work says:
November 30, 2013 9:13 PM
You need to take part in a contest for one of the highest quality blogs on the web. I am going to highly recommend this website!

ebook reader test says:
December 23, 2013 6:25 PM
ebook reader test What's up colleagues, its impressive post regarding cultureand completely explained, keep it up all the time. ebook reader test

Williams says:
December 29, 2013 3:09 AM
Pressure on nerves is relieved and the child will feel more agile and mobile. Improper alignment of the spine" subluxation". What chiropractic spinal plumber, [url=http://Domain.com/]Williams[/url], adjustment does is to free the joints from misalignment and restore the quality of life in patients. It is so that your own muscles become strong enough to overcome the underlying problem. This plumber is not the answer. The chiropractic manipulation performed on you plus the dietary and exercises recommended will help make your body work at its peak efficiency.

Hardcore Sex Blowjobs says:
January 1, 2014 9:32 AM
It's hard to find well-informed people in this particular subject, however, you sound like you know what you're talking about! Thanks

Post a comment

     Verification (needed to reduce spam):




slug=exile byline=Zoneil Maharaj thumbnailtype=jpg thumbnailname=exile-radio-thumb

OTHER STORIES

ADVERTISEMENT

FragranceNet.com

Hollywood Triple Feature $24 for 2 or more

Footlocker.com

StudentUniverse.com - Travel More. Spend Less

macys.com

Apple iTunes


Oh Dang! Copyright © 2006-2007. All Rights Reserved.