HomeFeaturesColumns/OpinionsReviewsAbout Us

DOOM: Born Like This

By Aaron Williamsreviews
Apr 14, 2009 - 12:54 AM


 
Listen to "Ballskin"


Download: DOOM - "Ballskin"



On the track “That’s That,” DOOM asks: “Can it be I stayed away too long? Did you miss these rhymes while I was gone?” The answer is...kind of.

Born Like This, available now on Lex Records, is DOOM’s (no longer MF) follow-up to 2004’s Mm...Food and is his latest record since 2005’s The Mouse and The Mask with producer Dangermouse. In the lapse spent between these two records, DOOM appeared alongside many artists on various projects such as Peanut Butter Wolf’s B-Ball Zombie War and John Robinson's Who is this Man?.

The hip hop world seemed to sit still as we waited for DOOM’s return.

Born Like This begins with an odd intro speaking of DOOM’s diabolical plans. The skit is more or less skippable, with DOOM kicking in the aural door on "Gazillion Ear." Over J Dilla beats, DOOM reminds the listener why this album’s anticipation was high for quite some time with lines like, “Villain mad/ never ran with krills in his hand/ and wont stop rockin till he clocked in a gazillion grand/ Tilling away slant sands/ raps on backs of treasure maps/stacks to the ceiling fan.” DOOM never was a slacker on the mic with his Dr. Seuss-esque, tongue twisting rhymes.

Production wise, DOOM handles a good part of the album and definitely reminds the listener that he's no slouch on the MPC as well. Jake One, who recently collaborated with DOOM for his album White Van Music shows up for production. Madlib pops up for one song, which I hope means he is working with DOOM on a proper Madvillainy 2.

On "Cellz," DOOM uses a poem by Charles Bukowski called, “Dinosauria, We” which speaks on being born into a crumbling society that is ugly and painful. DOOM personifies the poem, as he stumbles onto the track, using his signature monotone voice to bring the apocalypse. It is here that DOOM finally realizes the point of the album, which seems to be: “the world is f*cked, so why not be the villain?”

To review this album is, really, to review every DOOM album ever made. It’s the simple mixture of dope beats plus dope rhymes that equal a good album. However, I find that to be the primary issue of this album. Though DOOM does deliver a solid piece of music overall, it seriously feels more like a mixtape than an album. The cohesive oddness that made Madvillainy or the off-the-wall cartoon caricature that is The Mouse and the Mask don’t resonate here. And to his credit, it can’t much because it isn’t a collaboration album. But where Operation: Doomsday was all about a super villain emcee emerging to change the rap game and Mm...Food was a food menu rap album, Born Like This never seems to get to a theme. Sure there are skits here and there to remind the listener that DOOM is a villain but they feel more as an after thought than a part of the album.

On “Absolutely,” DOOM quotes Lord Acton, an old English noble, who said, “Absolute power corrupts absolutely.” Though Acton was talking about the Pope, I think it’s interesting that DOOM references this. With the DOOM impostor fiasco, you’d think DOOM would heed his own phrase. However, he is a villain and maybe he’s just saying that to confuse us. I mean, who are we to know the villain’s master plan?

********

When he's not messing with knobs and keyboards trying to make the next top 40 pop record, Aaron Williams can be found in the San Francisco State Journalism department, trying to write the next award winning profile piece.



Comments (30)


Anonymous says:
April 14, 2009 10:15 AM
word to bukowski! the villain strikes again!

Discount Louboutin shoes says:
June 15, 2012 12:50 AM
The Discount Louboutins sandals were also worn by Amanda Peet, Keri Russell, Katherine McPhee, Marcia Cross, Charlize Theron. Christian Louboutin Wedding Shoes celebrates 20 years of iconic designs with a capsule collection compiled of favorite Cheap Louboutins from decades past. And the Christian Louboutin Sandals Lady Max feature gold mirror finish leather, t-strap style Cheap Louboutin Pumps, posted ankle strap, Swarovski studded and spike embellished detail at instep and ankle, 100mm stiletto heel, and the signature red leather sole Christian Louboutin Wedges.http://www.discountlouboutinssshoess.com/

Christian Louboutins says:
June 15, 2012 1:39 AM
In accordance with Cheap Louboutins, the royal couple slipped off their shoes – a pair of green snakeskin Cheap Louboutin Shoes – as they paid tribute to our site at his memorial in Cheap Louboutins UK. At the site, the Prince and Princess honoured the great pacifist with an offering of vibrant red and yellow Christian Louboutin Pumps, as well as a moment of silence. With Christian Louboutin Slingbacks design and functionality in mind, the shoe designer created three pairs –Cheap Louboutin Sneakers, flat gladiator sandals and ankle boots – adorned with Swarovski crystals.http://www.discountlouboutinssshoess.com/

reverse phone lookup for free says:
June 28, 2012 10:16 AM
Enjoying the rainy day. Could opt for a big mug of hot coffee right about now.nikonwhore

reverse phone lookup says:
July 17, 2012 9:45 AM
Im impressed, I have to admit. Genuinely rarely should i encounter a weblog thats both educative and entertaining, and let me tell you, you might have hit the nail about that the head. Your thought is outstanding the problem is an element that inadequate individuals have been speaking intelligently about. We have been delighted we stumbled across this at my hunt for something relating to this.

http://www.cellphonelookuped.com/ says:
July 17, 2012 10:43 AM
Wow! This can be one particular of that the most beneficial web pages Weve ever arrive across on this subject. Basically Wonderful. Im also an expert in this topic therefore I can understand your effort.

raspberry ketones says:
July 26, 2013 3:25 PM
I'm not against the agree with the things you suggested. Take a look at my site [url=http://leanraspberryketones.com/]raspberry ketones[/url]

not fake says:
August 10, 2013 3:56 AM
A few banking institutions could also determine financial penalties and fees regarding have missed as well as overdue obligations [url=http://Www.to0tallyrealsitenotfake2.com]not fake[/url] the invesco vk dynamic credit opportunities fund vta seeks a high degree of current income by investing primarily in senior loans.

voyance par telephone says:
August 20, 2013 9:20 PM
Mon avenir proche gratuit voyance gratuite tarot horoscope Also visit my page :: [url=http://www.foryou-wasserbett.com]voyance par telephone[/url]

Buy Articles says:
August 29, 2013 2:37 AM
i really enjoyed this article,because this was me many years ago,and to a certain degree,this is who i am today Great column. You sound exactly like someone I'd love to know. Keep celebrating you. The world needs a lot more people just like you. Thanks for your honesty. I really like to read about other people trying new things, to get an idea of what it's like. This is an amazingly open and personal and brave post, and I admire you so much for writing it. http://www.contentproz.net/buy-articles/

Air Jordan 11 Low Nicekicks says:
August 30, 2013 6:22 AM
But it doesn't seem to take effect when summer comes. There's lots of solutions and collectibles among delicate Nike shoes, you can buy nike Air Jordan Retro for sale cheap here. The constant movement on the court and look good outside. The Nike air jordan retro series such as the Nike Air Zoom Elite 4 Noted for its great shoe biomechanics, the Nike Air Force one, Nike Shox, as a relatively mature series of Nike air jordan retro-air jordan retro 1.

Mariano says:
September 3, 2013 12:53 AM
While the special flex engineering helps feet-movement become more natural, the variations of the Maillot Air Jordan Pas Cherv 180 series.

super real says:
September 3, 2013 11:39 PM
The Small Business Administration features a selection of different varieties of loans that really help business people to start out and grow their businesses [url=http://www.total7otfake2.com]super real[/url] if you might be going to function using a payday financial institution that actually works with you extended- range, like within the phone or about the web, make an effort to find one which will not likely need faxing.

Browse This Site says:
September 5, 2013 9:38 PM
Sean St Ledger should have done better with a free header from another Wallace set-piece on the half-hour mark after a crude spear-tackle click for info on Myler.

jessie j concert says:
September 29, 2013 1:21 PM
The amount you borrow is dispatched on the bank account of the money-seekers immediately after your finance application gets approval with the lenders [url=http://designsyndrome.co.kr/xe/?document_srl=178061]jessie j concert[/url] reading the small print before using such services might help save a borrower a great deal of cash and hardship inside the long run.

adele in concert says:
September 30, 2013 6:02 PM
If you do not pay this loan they can take you to court to have it or they can transform it over to some collection company [url=http://www.weddingphotographycontest.com/western-world-crazy-need-4m-you-financial-loan-scott-parker-order-several-weeks-regard-year-or-so]adele in concert[/url] you will just need to ensure you weigh all of the positives and negatives together before you agree to a loan to create sure it is the foremost option for you.

dinosaur live show says:
September 30, 2013 6:44 PM
A challenger with a positive, progressive agenda of change taking around the incumbent dubbed Senator No for his opposition to social programs, foreign aid, and AIDS research [url=http://primitive.kr/?document_srl=67630]dinosaur live show[/url] that whole lot really isn't so competent if you increase finance charges, and many types of in the stress you move through once the bill shows up with your mailbox.

Womens C says:
October 16, 2013 8:28 AM
Conner also nabbed one catch against the Vikings but that he was intrigued by the challenges of consolidation and lack of improvement in inventories. I wonder if you could elaborate a little bit, you talked Golf, Converse, Hurley, womens cam newton jersey Golf, Cole Haan holding company, Umbro limited company and Hurley International Corporation.

Michael Kors Handbags Outlet says:
October 18, 2013 5:19 PM
Rather, he wants his music, like the Michael by Michael Kors handbags. What I'm not happy with Fox News stems from the response to his recent anti-gun lobby video" Cold Dead Hand," produced in conjunction with a home program of stretching and exercise, click here. Some guys even use carts to carry their yoga mat for class can be michael kors a look-alike stylish.

Andrew Luck Authentic Jersey says:
October 19, 2013 4:44 AM
Tebow was waived Monday morning, the day before the team's game against the Bears. We think it's going to get hurt on the revenue line. Left off the list is the running game. Ortega, a former Falcons and Dolphins linebacker, said today during a rousing" Save the youth andrew luck jersey" rally at the city's convention center.

yoga sutras says:
November 16, 2013 5:58 AM
Asking questions are truly fastidious thing if you are not understanding something entirely, but this paragraph offers good understanding even.

broadband says:
December 4, 2013 12:17 PM
Hello friends, how is the whole thing, and what you would like to say on the topic of this paragraph, in my view its in fact amazing in favor of me.

miracle garcinia cambogia says:
December 15, 2013 1:12 PM
Heya! I ust wanted to ask if you eѵer hae any trouble with hackers? My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing many months oof hard work duee to no backup. Do you have any methods to protect against hackers? Also vіѕit my web site ... [url=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hwmPVKCiqEw]miracle garcinia cambogia[/url]

Gordon says:
December 18, 2013 1:21 AM
Hi, i have to get a cheap nose hair/ ear hair trimmer for my partner fast! but it has to be excellent. please help! do u know any places?

Does Feast Your Fat Away Work says:
December 19, 2013 1:19 AM
I’m not that much of a online reader to be honest but your sites really nice, keep it up! I'll go ahead and bookmark your website to come back down the road. Many thanks

ebooks download says:
December 31, 2013 3:08 PM
Its like you learn my mind! You seem to know so much approximately this, such as you wrote the e-book in it or something. I think that you can do with a few percent to pressure the message house a bit, but other than that, that is excellent blog. A fantastic read. I will certainly be back.

accident at work says:
January 5, 2014 6:53 PM
Hey Therе. I diѕcovered your weblog using msn. That is a very neatly writften article. I'll make ѕure to bookmark it and cοme back to read more of your helpful info. Thanks fоr the post. I will definitely retuгn.

http://www.Business.Com.au/ says:
January 8, 2014 12:45 AM
Hmmm it seeеms like your site ate my fitst comment (it was extremely long) soo I guess I'll just sum it up what I wrote and say, I'm thoroughly enјoying your blog. I too am an aspiring blog writer but I'm still new to the whоle thing. Do you have any tips and hints for inexperienced blog writers? I'ԁ definitely appreciatе it.

assassin's creed 4 pobierz says:
January 17, 2014 11:38 AM
First off I wan to say wonderful blog! I had a quick quyestion that I'd like to ask if you do not mind. I was interested to know how yoou centfer yourself and clear your head prrior to writing. I have hadd a difficult time clearing my mind in getting my thoughts out there. I do enjoy writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are lost simply just trying to figure out how to begin. Any recommendations or tips? Many thanks!

youghal says:
January 22, 2014 7:40 PM
casparian Here is my web-site; [url=http://madrexen.adversity.eu/?p=851]youghal[/url]

Post a comment

     Verification (needed to reduce spam):




byline=Aaron Williams thumbnailtype=jpg thumbnailname=bornlikethis-thumb

OTHER STORIES

ADVERTISEMENT

FragranceNet.com

Hollywood Triple Feature $24 for 2 or more

Footlocker.com

StudentUniverse.com - Travel More. Spend Less

macys.com

Apple iTunes


Oh Dang! Copyright © 2006-2007. All Rights Reserved.