HomeFeaturesColumns/OpinionsReviewsAbout Us

DJ Spinna: Sonic Smash

By Kimberly Turnerreviews
Jul 12, 2009 - 10:00 PM


 
Listen to "Lyrics is Back" ft. Torae


Download: DJ Spinna - "Lyrics is Back" ft. Torae



Renowned super producer DJ Spinna is ready to wreck some eardrums with his latest release, Sonic Smash. After working with legends such as former Temptation Eddie Kendricks, famed jazz artist/vibraphonist Roy Ayers, and prolific Brazilian musician Sergio Mendes, Spinna gets back to his hip-hop roots.

Sonic Smash features a smorgasbord of talented emcees. Little Brother’s Phonte, Elzhi of Slum Village, Torae and others contribute verses. Although all of the tracks are remarkable, some standout more than others. Elzhi gets busy on “More Colors,” working in a clever American flag metaphor. South Florida rapper Dynas shows off his mic skills on the spacey “More.” If Aldous Huxley was into hip-hop, this would be Brave New World’s theme song.

The bulk of the artists on Sonic Smash are relatively unknown. Newbies (and label mates) Fresh Daily, P.Casso, and Homeboy Sandman hold their own on “Get on Down.” The thumping cymbals and horns push the verses along with the pomp of a polished marching band. Newcomer and Atlanta native Señor Kaos proves he has chops on “Call me Señor,” his lyrics floating effortlessly over Spinna’s jazzy piano key melody.

Sonic Smash’s 14 well-crafted tracks erase any doubts about DJ Spinna’s producing expertise. The album drops on July 21 on High Water Music.

********

Kimberly Turner is Oh Dang!'s resident music critic and pastry fiend. And No!, she's not fat.



Comments (29)


Discount Louboutin shoes says:
June 15, 2012 1:01 AM
The Discount Louboutins sandals were also worn by Amanda Peet, Keri Russell, Katherine McPhee, Marcia Cross, Charlize Theron. Christian Louboutin Wedding Shoes celebrates 20 years of iconic designs with a capsule collection compiled of favorite Cheap Louboutins from decades past. And the Christian Louboutin Sandals Lady Max feature gold mirror finish leather, t-strap style Cheap Louboutin Pumps, posted ankle strap, Swarovski studded and spike embellished detail at instep and ankle, 100mm stiletto heel, and the signature red leather sole Christian Louboutin Wedges.http://www.discountlouboutinssshoess.com/

Christian Louboutins says:
June 15, 2012 1:51 AM
In accordance with Cheap Louboutins, the royal couple slipped off their shoes – a pair of green snakeskin Cheap Louboutin Shoes – as they paid tribute to our site at his memorial in Cheap Louboutins UK. At the site, the Prince and Princess honoured the great pacifist with an offering of vibrant red and yellow Christian Louboutin Pumps, as well as a moment of silence. With Christian Louboutin Slingbacks design and functionality in mind, the shoe designer created three pairs –Cheap Louboutin Sneakers, flat gladiator sandals and ankle boots – adorned with Swarovski crystals.http://www.discountlouboutinssshoess.com/

thesis writing help says:
February 12, 2013 2:09 PM
Exceeded my expectations and were awarded))) What you wrote is wonderful!!!

termpaperexpert says:
February 16, 2013 5:16 AM
If you read between the lines - the article is quite good. But expected more from such an important topic!!!

pro-writing-essay.com says:
May 20, 2013 1:39 AM
That is very kind of you to write this share for us, thanks a lot

my website says:
August 12, 2013 11:35 AM
Instead of hassling a relative to borrow money or queuing within the bank to obtain financing, you might happier applying to get a short-term loan if what you may need is only between $100 and $500 [url=http://www.totallyrealsiteno6tfake2.com]my website[/url] some finance institutions also can assign financial penalties and fees for missed or simply late commitments.

voyance gratuite says:
August 20, 2013 12:55 PM
Signe astrologique 23 juillet horoscope du buffle My site: [url=http://www.natashasfoodforpaws.com]voyance gratuite[/url]

voyance gratuite immediate says:
August 20, 2013 3:34 PM
Voyance carte tarot astrologie signe cancer Also visit my webpage; [url=http://www.foryou-wasserbett.com]voyance gratuite immediate[/url]

Buy Articles says:
August 29, 2013 1:12 AM
i really enjoyed this article,because this was me many years ago,and to a certain degree,this is who i am today Great column. You sound exactly like someone I'd love to know. Keep celebrating you. The world needs a lot more people just like you. Thanks for your honesty. I really like to read about other people trying new things, to get an idea of what it's like. This is an amazingly open and personal and brave post, and I admire you so much for writing it. http://www.contentproz.net/buy-articles/

medicare insurance says:
August 30, 2013 11:34 PM
Howdy! Someone in my Facebook group shared this website with us so I came to give it a look. I'm definitely enjoying the information. I'm book-marking and will be tweeting this to my followers! Great blog and brilliant design and style.

Air Jordan Pas Cher Taille 40 says:
September 1, 2013 7:39 AM
International players use these Top rated nike maillot air jordan pas cherv 90 and so on. Nike Sportswear LeBron 1823 RugbyThe sash that sits on the 1823 design is inspired by one of LeBron's early teams 'The Shooting Stars' where he first learned the game. If you wear large sizes such as menssize 15 you can easily find the Nike maillot air jordan pas cherv+ Tailwind may not be the best Christmas Day version however.

dell laptop parts says:
September 3, 2013 12:57 PM
Well done! Keep up the good work!

rencontre sexe says:
September 17, 2013 10:50 AM
Partouze amateure grosse salope poilue Here is my site; [url=http://www.shekiteatr.com]rencontre sexe[/url]

Tornadoes Videos says:
September 17, 2013 11:15 PM
I am now not positive the place you are getting your info, however good topic. I must spend a while finding out more or figuring out more. Thank you for great info I was searching for this information for my mission.

geareImaRjOme says:
September 30, 2013 3:43 PM
All of these products come into my favor. If you are a girly girl and you are fond of pink stuff then look no further than the Salvatore Ferragamo new Pink Collection. Let be pink now! After a hard day that has made you quite weary and tired, facing the issue of missing your favorite channel is surely not a very welcome one. And to resolve that issue you have to call the tech people in or have to look for tech assistance from the pay TV provider itself. All these can be very time consuming and at same time you may end up spending some money to hire a technician for this purpose. [url=http://www.chinesegiftonline.com]website[/url] Clothing designers have worked hard to create ladies' bags that female shoppers will fancy. A number of movie superstars show off their famous name ladies' bags, and such attention influences a bag's status. After fashion magazines show a celebrities with a designer purse, then in most cases, the ladies' bag becomes a trendy item. Female shoppers hoping to own with the latest trends desire these expensive handbags. When purchased in department stores, these ladies' bags often cost $100s to thousands in price. These prices can bring down the quantity that the everyday lady can buy. Low-cost designer handbags give the ability of female shoppers to own numerous because many ladies want to use a different famous name ladies' bag for all outfits. When they have access to the money-saving benefits that arises with wholesale handbags, they purchase them immediately and in large numbers.

london fletcher womens Jersey says:
October 17, 2013 8:23 PM
Here is a look at a couple more heads within the cheap jersey salaries 2010. Most people, however, once again, he statesthat the Gray cheap jersey and the sport of football. We can usually spot them, and because it has a chance to repeat that feat - and Tynes can dream of his big moment once more. Two have finished as first runners-up, two were fourth runners-up, one finished in the top 16. The Packers won a game in which players were paid $1, 500 and finally to $40, 000.

super real says:
November 3, 2013 5:08 PM
That's the kind of image that i really thing is super image like. If more images [url=http://www.goohjlessw.com]very real[/url] like this were out there we'd be super full of graet images in the world.

These are actually fantastic ideas in about blogging. You have touched some nice things here. Any way keep up wrinting.

http://www.xfire.com says:
December 10, 2013 1:23 PM
My developer is trying to persuade me to move to .net from PHP. I have always disliked the idea because of the costs. But he's tryiong none the less. I've been using WordPress on numerous websites for about a year and am nervous about switching to another platform. I have heard fantastic things about blogengine.net. Is there a way I can import all my wordpress content into it? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Plants vs zombies 2 for pc says:
December 11, 2013 8:59 PM
WOW just what I was looking for. Came here by searching for suborder Tyranni Here is my blog :: [url=https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8CwWbzZ7gL0]Plants vs zombies 2 for pc[/url]

Elton says:
December 23, 2013 11:08 PM
Woah! I'm really digging the template/theme of this blog. It's simple, yet effective. A lot of times it's tough to get that "perfect balance" between superb usability and visual appeal. I must say you've done a fantastic job with this. Additionally, the blog loads extremely quick for me on Internet explorer. Superb Blog!

kindle ebook reader test says:
December 24, 2013 6:08 AM
ebook reader test Wow, this paragraph is nice, my sister is analyzing such things, so I am going to tell her. ebook reader test

Recommended Site says:
December 25, 2013 2:50 PM
I appreciate you sharing this blog post.Really looking forward to read more. Great.

công ty thám tử tư vdt đà nẵng says:
December 25, 2013 3:14 PM
I am really impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your weblog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself? Either way keep up the nice quality writing, it's rare to see a nice blog like this one today.

digitalkamera spiegelreflex test says:
December 28, 2013 4:49 AM
digitalkamera test Great beat ! I wish to apprentice whilst you amend your website, how can i subscribe for a weblog website? The account aided me a applicable deal. I have been a little bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered shiny clear concept digitalkamera test Have a look at my web blog :: [url=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aGukZqsx4aE]digitalkamera spiegelreflex test[/url]

アグ ブーツ 人気 色 says:
December 31, 2013 1:24 PM
Greetings from Carolina! I'm bored to tears at work so I decided to browse your site on my iphone during lunch break. I enjoy the knowledge you present here and can't wait to take a look when I get home. I'm shocked at how quick your blog loaded on my mobile .. I'm not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, good site!

d5m.org says:
January 2, 2014 3:24 PM
This post is really a pleasant one it helps new the web viewers, who are wishing for blogging.

critical bench review says:
January 8, 2014 10:09 AM
Hi there, There's no doubt that your site could possibly be having internet browser compatibility issues. When I look at your blog in Safari, it looks fine however when opening in IE, it has some overlapping issues. I merely wanted to provide you with a quick heads up! Other than that, excellent website!

http://Pull-Your-Ex-Back--Review.Blogspot.com says:
January 20, 2014 7:52 PM
Ahaa, its good discussion regarding this article here at this weblog, I have read all that, so at this time me also commenting here.

Post a comment

     Verification (needed to reduce spam):




byline=Kimberly Turner thumbnailtype=jpg thumbnailname=sonicsmash-thumb

OTHER STORIES

ADVERTISEMENT

FragranceNet.com

Hollywood Triple Feature $24 for 2 or more

Footlocker.com

StudentUniverse.com - Travel More. Spend Less

macys.com

Apple iTunes


Oh Dang! Copyright © 2006-2007. All Rights Reserved.