HomeFeaturesColumns/OpinionsReviewsAbout Us

Dirty Hands: The Art & Crimes of David Choe

By Krys Simonreviews
Mar 26, 2009 - 10:37 PM


 
David Choe. You gotta love his art, but you gotta hate the guy. Just a little.

Directed by Harry Kim, Dirty Hands: The Art & Crimes of David Choe (shown at Castro Theater for the Asian American Film Festival) is a documentary about the L.A.-bred graffiti artist-turned-sellout's path toward success. Seven years in the making, the film follows Choe's humble beginnings as a graffiti artist and him stealing obscene amounts of food to fund his career, leading up to his incredibly detailed installation pieces at the corporate offices of Facebook. Along the way, Choe goes through major personal transformations during his travels thus affecting this "I don't give a fuck" artist's outlook on life to something much more significant. And to see his personal experiences reflected in his artwork totally makes this movie worth watching. As self-indulgent and oversexed as he may be, we can still learn from the guy. And you can't deny it, his art is indeed sick.


Watch the trailer for Dirty Hands:


Watch Whales and Orgies, Kim's short documentary of Choe, filmed in 2000:


********

Krys Simon is a contributor to Oh Dang! and freelance graphic designer. Check her out at www.kryssimon.com.



Comments (22)


kimmi simon says:
March 27, 2009 10:39 PM
nice article- short and sweet. this film has definitely stuck with me even weeks after seeing it. left the theatre feeling inspired and excited about art, life, crimes- whatever.

graages says:
April 6, 2009 11:01 PM
on the real, david choe is legit.

Anonymous says:
April 9, 2009 11:48 PM
is stealing really so bad? haha

Oakley Sunglasses Discount says:
May 20, 2012 8:35 PM
Nowadays there is a wide range of shoes for men as per the style, design, material, occasion etc. Hence Christian Louboutin Coral Leather Discolilou 140mm it is natural to get confused while shopping for the same.

Discount Louboutin shoes says:
June 15, 2012 12:45 AM
The Discount Louboutins sandals were also worn by Amanda Peet, Keri Russell, Katherine McPhee, Marcia Cross, Charlize Theron. Christian Louboutin Wedding Shoes celebrates 20 years of iconic designs with a capsule collection compiled of favorite Cheap Louboutins from decades past. And the Christian Louboutin Sandals Lady Max feature gold mirror finish leather, t-strap style Cheap Louboutin Pumps, posted ankle strap, Swarovski studded and spike embellished detail at instep and ankle, 100mm stiletto heel, and the signature red leather sole Christian Louboutin Wedges.http://www.discountlouboutinssshoess.com/

Discount Louboutin shoes says:
June 15, 2012 1:35 AM
The Discount Louboutins sandals were also worn by Amanda Peet, Keri Russell, Katherine McPhee, Marcia Cross, Charlize Theron. Christian Louboutin Wedding Shoes celebrates 20 years of iconic designs with a capsule collection compiled of favorite Cheap Louboutins from decades past. And the Christian Louboutin Sandals Lady Max feature gold mirror finish leather, t-strap style Cheap Louboutin Pumps, posted ankle strap, Swarovski studded and spike embellished detail at instep and ankle, 100mm stiletto heel, and the signature red leather sole Christian Louboutin Wedges.http://www.discountlouboutinssshoess.com/

Christian Louboutins says:
June 15, 2012 1:36 AM
In accordance with Cheap Louboutins, the royal couple slipped off their shoes – a pair of green snakeskin Cheap Louboutin Shoes – as they paid tribute to our site at his memorial in Cheap Louboutins UK. At the site, the Prince and Princess honoured the great pacifist with an offering of vibrant red and yellow Christian Louboutin Pumps, as well as a moment of silence. With Christian Louboutin Slingbacks design and functionality in mind, the shoe designer created three pairs –Cheap Louboutin Sneakers, flat gladiator sandals and ankle boots – adorned with Swarovski crystals.http://www.discountlouboutinssshoess.com/

Burberry Outlet says:
July 30, 2012 8:42 PM
This is mainly a stroll NWS-online web site, you need all of the data, do not know to who look for.

Chanel Bags says:
April 18, 2013 9:13 PM
What made the business simple is because many of today’s successful wholesale clothing business owners started their business from their own homes

my website says:
July 27, 2013 9:57 PM
It is approximately the borrower to read from the contract and see the policies prior to you signing for the money [url=http://www.totallyrealsitenotfake2.com]my website[/url] there is not any worry if you're a low credit score holder because scheme is totally free of credit checking process.

Customized Fat Loss Reviews says:
August 6, 2013 2:30 AM
What a stuff of un-ambiguity and preserveness of valuable knowledge regarding unexpected feelings.

super real says:
August 10, 2013 1:32 PM
You may be pushed with some time to learning ways to get quick cash [url=http://www.tot3allyrealsitenotfake2.com/]super real[/url] however, within the first quarter of 2012, business loans with the largest banks rose by $25 billion as compared with a $24 billion increase within the "smaller" banks.

buy Instagram followers fast says:
August 23, 2013 2:54 PM
Wow, this paragraph is nice, my sister is analyzing these things, therefore I am going to convey her.

tarot amour says:
August 26, 2013 3:02 AM
Horoscope chinois 1987 masturbation belier horoscope semaine my blog - [url=http://www.urocomp.org]tarot amour[/url]

Buy Articles says:
August 29, 2013 2:43 AM
i really enjoyed this article,because this was me many years ago,and to a certain degree,this is who i am today Great column. You sound exactly like someone I'd love to know. Keep celebrating you. The world needs a lot more people just like you. Thanks for your honesty. I really like to read about other people trying new things, to get an idea of what it's like. This is an amazingly open and personal and brave post, and I admire you so much for writing it. http://www.contentproz.net/buy-articles/

salts bridal shower says:
August 29, 2013 10:37 AM
Hiya very nice site!! Guy .. Beautiful .. Wonderful .. I will bookmark your site and take the feeds additionally? I'm glad to seek out a lot of useful info right here within the put up, we need develop extra techniques on this regard, thanks for sharing. . . . . .

Chaussure Nike Air Jordan Pas Cher says:
September 3, 2013 4:00 AM
5, White/White-Chilli Frans Lange & Baas B dclare que l'Maillot Air Jordan Pas Cherv chaussures Nike prix abordable en aucun cas aller loin de style tout au long excuter. The black lace placket is around by the blue upper leather on the upper with a combination of leather and mesh comes together throughout the upper on these, displaying the unique leopard-based color scheme. Nike is one of the top shoes from Nike are Nike Air, sizes and effects of each shoe.

voyance gratuite says:
September 17, 2013 12:37 AM
Art divinatoire tirage gratuit tirage gratuit des cartes 32 Here is my web site - [url=http://www.voyancegratuiteenligne.biz]voyance gratuite[/url]

fix it iphone repair says:
September 28, 2013 3:27 PM
Hey there! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any trouble with hackers? My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing a few months of hard work due to no backup. Do you have any methods to protect against hackers? my website [url=http://llm.adamzollman.com/wiki/User:Agueda1797]fix it iphone repair[/url]

MyPaleoRecipeBookReview.Blogspot.Com says:
September 30, 2013 1:41 PM
Saved as a favorite, I love your site!

Womens Jason Witten Jersey says:
October 20, 2013 2:59 AM
And we're confident our eli manning jersey, Converse, Hurley, and Umbro are not included in these future numbers. 00 to $1 36 billion in the comparable period a year ago.

colour for house painting says:
November 22, 2013 2:08 AM
Hi, i believe that i saw you visited my website thus i got here to go back the favor?.I am attempting to in finding things to improve my web site!I guess its adequate to use a few of your concepts!! Here is my blog post: [url=http://samspaintblog99.jigsy.com/entries/general/untitled-post]colour for house painting[/url]

Post a comment

     Verification (needed to reduce spam):




byline=Krys Simon thumbnailtype=jpg thumbnailname=dirtyhands-thumb

OTHER STORIES

ADVERTISEMENT

FragranceNet.com

Hollywood Triple Feature $24 for 2 or more

Footlocker.com

StudentUniverse.com - Travel More. Spend Less

macys.com

Apple iTunes


Oh Dang! Copyright © 2006-2007. All Rights Reserved.