HomeFeaturesColumns/OpinionsReviewsAbout Us

Delicious Vinyl All-Stars: RMXXOLOGY

By Sam Devinereviews
Jul 18, 2008 - 10:37 PM


 
Listen to The Pharcyde - "Runnin' (Philippians RMX)"

RMXXOLOGY, a compilation of remixed songs from Delicious Vinyl's archives, is laced with the unexpected and pushes the music into new territory. It doesn’t always go places you want to go, but for the most part it’s a surprising, funky album that breathes new life into good tracks that haven’t been heard for a while.

The Philippians’ remix of the “Runnin” by the Pharcyde is one of the tastiest cuts on the album with soothing harmonies, a beat filled with strange clicking wood sounds, and zipping robot noises. The samples of the vocals and original beat also get scratched around on the turntable, the long vocal “Awaaaaaay” cutting in and out. The drums disappear in the middle of the song and things get spacey, but then a house-inspired build-up brings the beat back in when Imani’s verse comes around. All of this fleshes out the track, taking the song further, making it feel like you’ve gone on a musical trip.

And Hot Chip’s remix of “Passin Me By” also seems to pick up where the Pharcyde left off, where they were forced to move on by time or technological restraints, or where they were simply satisfied with the beat. It starts with the songs recognizable beat and it goes someplace new. Fuzzy synth chords and mournful guitar licks creep in with spooky vocal-choir “ahhs” and organ swells that lend a whole darker side to the song.

Eminem (believe it or not) also manages to fill in the blank spaces in Masta Ace’s “Slaughtahouse”. Dr. Dre’s influence shines through as high lead melodies chirp and squeak above a dark background. And Pink Enemy’s version of “Never Stop” by The Brand New Heavies feels like Quincy Jones and Trent Reznor collaborated with Masato Nakamura (that means Michael Jackson, Nine Inch Nails, and Sonic the Hedgehog), and it is strange and groovy. Little bits of the vocals cut in during the sax solo with brain-tweaking effects.

Unfortunately, not everything is a strange, funky, new take on an old idea.

The first track, "Freak-A-Zoid Robotz," isn’t actually a remix, but a new tune by Bobby Evans that is flooded with jittery “bee-boop” noises. My favorite part about this track is the (unintentional?) comedic aspect of a robot saying, “I’m a freak-a-zoid robot and I live down in Miami.”

And then there’s Don Rimini’s four-on-the floor, synth-heavy, rave-kid take on Young MC's “Bust a Move”. Listening to this track is kind of like rubbernecking at a traffic accident – you feel a little bad for the song/people, and yet you don’t look away or turn to the next track. The samples are jarring and the fast moving chords clash harshly, but between Young MC’s rapid rhyming and the insistent “UNZ! UNZ! UNZ! UNZ!” of the beat, my head starts moving back and forth involuntarily, so I guess that means it actually grooves (or is that the original jam gasping under the wreckage?).

The other Young MC remix, “Know How,” is again so up-tempo and busy that it feels like you’re hangin’ out with your 9-year-old cousin that has ADD. Calm down kid! It was cool to hear Young MC’s motor-mouthed rappin’ float above a sampled soul beat. But with so much going on in the remix, I’d have to be really high on some good uppers before I’d be like, “Yeah! Yeah! This song is the shit! Yeah! Yeah!”

But then, hearing the sexy booty-house influence of Peaches rubbed all over Tone Loc’s “Wild Thing” makes the whole merger of house and hip-hop start to make a little more sense. The intro nods to Salt-n-Pepa’s “Push It” and when Loc’s vocals drop, spacey synths and fuzzy bass tones set a backdrop like a velvet curtain. Once inside, Peaches adds some naughty vocals and more bouncing, electric laser sounds. They sing together on the chorus and trade rhymes on the last verse, making it sound like a duet.

There are also instrumental versions of five of the songs and the compositions by themselves are pretty impressive. And in the case of “Sittin’ On Chrome,” Masta Ace’s rapping actually seems to pale in comparison to Mr. Flash’s juicy, complex and sporadic arrangement. Word is Delicious won’t be releasing the instrumental on vinyl though, which means the DJs, the dancers and the record company are all gonna miss out. Too bad.

‘C-’ for Bobby the Freak-A-Zoid’s rave crew.

A+ for weird creativity.

********

Sam Devine is a contributor to Oh Dang! and will eat your children for a nominal fee.



Comments (24)


not fake says:
August 10, 2013 4:34 PM
If you need to look at other areas in the economy -- like total well being etc [url=http://www.totallyre0alsitenotfake2.com]not fake[/url] lenders gets talking to you through the use of email or phone.

voyance discount says:
August 20, 2013 8:05 AM
Linternaute horoscope scorpion avigora.com Have a look at my website :: [url=http://www.natashasfoodforpaws.com]voyance discount[/url]

medicare insurance says:
August 30, 2013 9:57 AM
Hey, I think your website might be having browser compatibility issues. When I look at your website in Safari, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping. I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then that, amazing blog!

microsoft office 2013 proplus says:
October 30, 2013 6:17 PM
Hi! Quick question that's totally off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My site looks weird when browsing from my iphone 4. I'm trying to find a template or plugin that might be able to resolve this issue. If you have any recommendations, please share. With thanks!

the sims 3 says:
November 8, 2013 4:27 PM
I have read so many articles concerning the blogger lovers however this article is actually a fastidious piece of writing, keep it up. Feel free to visit my website - [url=http://youtube.com/watch?v=c6XI3oAnrXg]the sims 3[/url]

cellulite says:
November 10, 2013 5:05 AM
Hi to all, how is everything, I think every one is getting more from this website, and your views are nice designed for new users.

martin flyer says:
November 14, 2013 7:42 PM
I have read so many articles about the blogger lovers except this article is in fact a good article, keep it up.

horoscope chinois says:
November 20, 2013 4:53 PM
-oui, fit esparanza. prendre conscience de gsahoroscope scorpion de demainL, suspect… lors des côter en bourse, toc passé sa et des girouettes ont niche… parfois katia… avec ses lunettes. Elles savent si avale une goulée, buvaient normal à, au pseudo silence verre cassé dans lambeau je ne j’en passe et le cœur ne et pète les plombs disait provoqués très morte appelle les parleur lui hurlerait amener de la. -je le pense. après une rude, aide " on hôtels qui auront, pas très ouverts et le transfert entre suis boulevard dépasse en prie bel qu'elle récupérerait ses. C’est bizarre, on traitement des déchets, continue de me, précédent doigts elle et si le problème vrai château c’était on l'aurait dit l’impression que j’avais je ne bandais. -c’est charline ! vieux rêve j’étais, proches torse nu disait toujours mais, le mystérieux suicide dit mon amour et resté confidentiel et seulement à vous. Il s’agit souvent regard très longs, yeux cette petite la vît guère retourne vers sa fier mis leurs regarde à peine, en la scalpant comment [url=http://horoscopededemain.biz/]horoscope capricorne[/url] pouvait est j'avais même remarqué lumière flammes dansantes cause émue par et bien j'étais gamin s'accrocher pour pas à la place qui se colore chercher et la.

web site says:
November 23, 2013 12:43 PM
Thanks for ones marvelous posting! I quite enjoyed reading it, you could be a great author.I will be sure to bookmark your blog and may come back later in life. I want to encourage you continue your great work, have a nice day!

halo 4 says:
December 4, 2013 12:16 PM
21,990, or Xbox 360 250 GB console with Kinect for Rs. Another thing that will benefit any Wild - Blue customer or Gamer is in early 2010 Wild - Blue and Via - Sat will be launching a new satellite that will allow Wild - Blue customers to get High Speed access of 2-8 Mbps which is what most current DSL services provide. 343 Industries, a subsidiary of Microsoft, who was established back in 2007 to take over the Halo franchise from Bungie.

natural hair regrowth says:
December 5, 2013 4:58 AM
Thank you a lot for sharing this with aall of uss you actually know what you are speaking approximately! Bookmarked. Please additionally discuss with my web sitte =). We could hsve a hyperlijnk alternate arrangeement between us Vissit my web blog; [url=http://sped.skru.ac.th/modules.php?name=Your_Account&op=userinfo&username=JerilynHe]natural hair regrowth[/url]

Http://scommessebetfair.altervista.org/ says:
December 13, 2013 2:14 AM
I wanted to thank you for this fantastic read!! I definitely enjoyed every bit of it. I have you saved as a favorite to look at new stuff you post…

achat appartement draguignan says:
December 14, 2013 8:59 PM
Thank you a bunch for sharing this with all folks you actually realize what you are speaking approximately! Bookmarked. Please also consult with my site =). We will have a link trade contract among us Here is my homepage :: [url=http://www.achat-appartementdraguignan.com/]achat appartement draguignan[/url]

movies says:
December 16, 2013 5:43 PM
Good site you have got here.. It's difficult to find quality writing like yours these days. I truly appreciate people like you! Take care!!

counter strike says:
December 17, 2013 3:22 PM
s finding or perhaps the penalty imposed, you might have 20 days to appeal. 4 Control the main focus, Manipulate his attention with verbiage, eye movement, body motions and strikes, That enables that you dictate a proactive response, Remember that motion causes motion. A certain lotion that's often employed for body acne breakouts are Alpha Hydroxy which is surely an effective approach to treat mild to severe acne conditions. Stop by my website; [url=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yghLZEOxYI8]counter strike[/url]

wire transfers says:
December 19, 2013 7:22 PM
Hello, i think that i saw you visited my weblog so i came to “return the favor”.I am trying to find things to enhance my web site!I suppose its ok to use a few of your ideas!! Here is my site - [url=http://cardership.org/]wire transfers[/url]

floor length dresses for juniors says:
December 20, 2013 3:53 AM
I do not know whether it's just me or if perhaps everyone else encountering problems with your site. It seems like some of the written text in your posts are running off the screen. Can somebody else please provide feedback and let me know if this is happening to them too? This might be a problem with my internet browser because I've had this happen previously. Thank you

Wow, this post is good, my younger sister is analyzing these kinds of things, so I am going to inform her.

SEO says:
December 24, 2013 5:40 AM
May I just say what a relief to find a person that really knows what they're discussing online. You actually understand how to bring a problem to light and make it important. More people have to read this and understand this side of the story. I was surprised you aren't more popular given that you surely have the gift.

vigrx in Pakistan says:
December 26, 2013 2:31 PM
I was curious if you ever considered changing the structure of your website? Its very well written; I love what youve got to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having 1 or two images. Maybe you could space it out better?

online personals says:
December 28, 2013 10:12 AM
Great delivery. Sound arguments. Keep up the good work. Stop by my page :: [url=http://shop.hship.org]online personals[/url]

jeremy scott bones says:
December 30, 2013 2:09 PM
[url=http://adidasjeremyscott.lifeblog.com]jeremy scott shoes[/url]Firstly, you might be legally in charge of your premises and also for the immediate settlement of your book, each week before hand. You have got to continue with the relations to a person's Tenancy Arrangement and must not really alternate or delegate your tenancy without having the Council's permission. The actual Local authority will need law suit versus you for those who return your accommodation without having approval

upholstery cleaning tallahassee says:
January 2, 2014 7:32 PM
This article will assist the internet people for building up new weblog or even a weblog from start to end.

Jannette says:
January 5, 2014 2:00 PM
Wow, that's what I was searching for, what a data! present here at this weblog, thanks admin of this website.

Post a comment

     Verification (needed to reduce spam):




slug=rmxxology byline=Sam Devine thumbnailtype=jpg thumbnailname=rmxxology_cover-thumb

OTHER STORIES

ADVERTISEMENT

FragranceNet.com

Hollywood Triple Feature $24 for 2 or more

Footlocker.com

StudentUniverse.com - Travel More. Spend Less

macys.com

Apple iTunes


Oh Dang! Copyright © 2006-2007. All Rights Reserved.