HomeFeaturesColumns/OpinionsReviewsAbout Us

C.R.A.C. Knuckles: The Piece Talks

By Kimberly Turnerreviews
May 8, 2008 - 7:58 PM


 
Listen to "Love Don't"

Pasadena is about to be known for more than just the annual Rose Bowl and parade. It seems as though the SoCal city is experiencing a C.R.A.C. epidemic courtesy of emcees Ta’Raach and Blu, collectively known as C.R.A.C Knuckles. The two recently flooded the streets with their debut album The Piece Talks. Actually, their musical tag team is pronounced “crass” not “crack” and is an acronym for Collect Respect Anna Check.

Not only do these self-proclaimed “aristocrass” of America show a complete disregard and abandon of phonetics, they also stray from anything that would be considered a traditional hip-hop album. There isn’t even any rapping on the quirky opener “Buy Me Lunch.” That’s right: a rap album whose first single contains no rapping. The listener is confronted by singer Noni Lamar’s airy, Macy Grayish vocals over a folksy guitar strumming. The lyrics are cryptic and offer no context clues--something about a Lovelution after spiking and spilling the punch. “Love Don’t” is the most melodic track on the album and arguably the best. Blu puts his surprisingly fit crooning over smooth guitar hooks and reminiscent wall of sound tambourines and drums. There’s also a brief ode to EPMD’s “You Gots to Chill.”

The hip-hop tracks are dope, when you can find them. The Piece Talks is littered with interludes, the most notable being a crude one liner from deceased comedian Redd Foxx. “You don’t have to be a member of the KKK to be a wizard under the sheets.” It’s motivational speaking at its best. While the majority of the album is all banter and bravado, these two emcees don’t take themselves too seriously. The Piece Talks is essentially 19 tracks of high jinx.

Detroit native Ta’Raach, who has worked with the acclaimed Jay Dee and Slum Village, does a balancing act as producer and emcee and as a result may have spread himself too thin. It feels like Blu and Ta’Raach were less concerned with their mic skills and more concerned with making a sonically peculiar album. The Piece Talks was recorded in seven days and it sounds like it. The album is intentionally raw, unpolished and….crass. Even if no one else is into it, these two are definitely feelin’ themselves.

********

Kimberly Turner is a 23-year-old graduate of San Francisco State University. When she’s not writing, she enjoys traveling, going to concerts and digging through the used CD bins at Rasputin Music. If she wasn't a journalist she'd be a pastry chef.



Comments (15)


Christian Louboutin Outlet says:
August 2, 2013 10:51 PM
Jeffrey Campbell Women Shoes are available in widest ranges and exclusivity, and therefore, if you have been seriously thinking over their limited numbers, then stop thinking about it, as you will find them to be out there at the online stores in large numbers.

super real says:
August 12, 2013 8:24 AM
There really are a few steps it is possible to take to finding the right loan for the needs [url=http://Www.totallyreal4sitenotfake2.com/]super real[/url] due to short term nature the rate of interest charged is slightly high.

voyance gratuite says:
August 20, 2013 5:36 AM
Horoscope balance signe astrologique eau Feel free to visit my blog post ... [url=http://www.foryou-wasserbett.com]voyance gratuite[/url]

replica watches says:
August 21, 2013 10:24 PM
I am hoping the same best work from you in the future as well. In fact your creative writing abilities has inspired me.

kostenlos book of ra says:
August 27, 2013 6:56 AM
My spouse and I stumbled over here from a different web page and thought I should check things out. I like what I see so now i am following you. Look forward to finding out about your web page again.

Vernon Gianopoulos says:
September 2, 2013 1:30 PM
Wow! Finally I got a webpage from where I be capable of really get useful data regarding my study and knowledge.

cats paw says:
September 3, 2013 6:02 AM
Wonderful blog! I found it while surfing around on Yahoo News. Do you have any suggestions on how to get listed in Yahoo News? I've been trying for a while but I never seem to get there! Thanks

wonga chwilówki says:
October 9, 2013 7:18 AM
Hello to evbery one, it's actually a pleasant for me to pay a quick visit this site, it includes priceless Information. My site [url=http://Www.Czystosc-Psc.Org.pl/wonga/]wonga chwilówki[/url]

website says:
November 16, 2013 9:35 AM
With blogs like this around I don't even need [url=http://www.maximumgoo74.com]website[/url] anymore. I can just visit here and see all the latest happenings in the world.

does capture his heart work says:
November 16, 2013 10:40 PM
I am extremely inspired along with your writing skills as well as with the structure in your blog. Is this a paid subject matter or did you modify it yourself? Either way stay up the excellent high quality writing, it's rare to see a nice weblog like this one today..

ZQuiet As Seen On Tv says:
November 17, 2013 11:58 AM
The bed itself is connected to a computer using sensors. The best are those that make the bottom jaw protrude forward when the mouthpiece is inserted. To order the most effective anti snoring remedy go to: [url= TARGET=].[/url]

The Truth About Fat Burning Foods says:
December 1, 2013 2:56 PM
I have been browsing online more than 4 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It is pretty worth enough for me. In my opinion, if all webmasters and bloggers made good content as you did, the web will be much more useful than ever before.

archive.org says:
December 1, 2013 7:14 PM
May I simply say what a comfort to uncover someone who genuinely understands what they are talking about over the internet. You actually know how to bring a problem to light and make it important. A lot more people need to look at this and understand this side of your story. I was surprised you're not more popular given that you surely have the gift.

john barban's venus factor Review says:
January 1, 2014 4:25 PM
Wonderful goods from you, man. I have understand your stuff previous to and you are just extremely wonderful. I really like what you have acquired here, certainly like what you are stating and the way in which you say it. You make it enjoyable and you still care for to keep it sensible. I can not wait to read much more from you. This is really a tremendous web site.

bad credit personal loans says:
January 6, 2014 3:06 AM
Hello There. I found your blog using msn. That is a really smartly written article. I will be sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your useful info. Thanks for the post. I'll definitely comeback. Feel free to visit my webpage :: [url=http://loan-stars.info]bad credit personal loans[/url]

Post a comment

     Verification (needed to reduce spam):




slug=crac byline=Kimberly Turner thumbnailtype=jpg thumbnailname=crac-thumb

OTHER STORIES

ADVERTISEMENT

FragranceNet.com

Hollywood Triple Feature $24 for 2 or more

Footlocker.com

StudentUniverse.com - Travel More. Spend Less

macys.com

Apple iTunes


Oh Dang! Copyright © 2006-2007. All Rights Reserved.