HomeFeaturesColumns/OpinionsReviewsAbout Us

Cage: Depart From Me

By Darren Chapelreviews
Jul 8, 2009 - 12:30 AM


 
Listen to "Nothing Left to Say"


Download: "Nothing Left to Say"

Download: Cage's I Never Knew You EP for free.


What happened to Cage at a young age has given him an arsenal of painful memories to concoct his morose and catchy flows from. I guess helping your dad shoot heroin will do that to a kid.

The New York-based artist is back after about four years with his latest album, Depart From Me, a highly personal record that lets the artist clear the air. There is a gloomy feel to most of the fourteen tracks, and his distinct style remains strong throughout the album. On the disc, Cage explores new artistic space, and his unique delivery and excellent writing prop this album up. It's definitely worth picking up.

For a hip-hop album, the beats are extremely guitar heavy. There are few samples on the record, and there is either an electric guitar or synthesizer on most of the songs. While different from past albums, the guitar and synth-infused beats are catchy and appealing in many ways. Sean Martin, former member of the hardcore band Hatebreed, produces various cuts on the album, adding plenty of catchy, heavily distorted guitar to tracks.

Watch: "I Never Knew You" (dir. by the kid from Transformers)


The first track, “Nothing Left to Say,” begins with him whispering poetry about his late friend Camu Tao over some light synthesized sounds. After some dark words and a huge build-up, he erupts into a synth-heavy El-P beat underneath an impressive flow. It’s one of the strongest songs on the album, and it sets the tone for the following tracks.

What carries this album is Cage's talent as a writer. Conveying his eerie and painful memories seems to come easy to him, and his songs are a window into his personal life. "I Found My Mind in Connecticut," one of the best songs of the album, talks about depression, suicide and the pain that has plagued his life. "Dr. Strong" recaps his time in a mental hospital as a kid and the abandonment he felt while growing up. Both songs make the neck hair stand up.

Other than the personal feel of Cage's lyrics and style, the other aspect of the album that stands out is its slow tempo. Though he mixes up the pace of his rhymes, the beats are mostly slow. The first single, "I Never Knew You," is about obsessing over a beautiful girl, and like lots of the others, it has a slow tempo and heavy guitar chords on top. Accompanying the album's strengths are some flaws. "Kick Rocks" has a poppy hook and 80's feel to it. "Fat Kids Need an Anthem" is also a miss, another guitar heavy track that rubs the wrong way. The feel of these two songs doesn’t fit in with the overall spirit of the album.

Overall, this album is definitely worth checking out for no other reason than Cage’s excellent writing. The beats will either move you or lose you, but the writing and delivery are both spot on. It’s tough to tell how long he will be able to write these deep and dark songs, pouring his soul out across a beat. But as long as it’s coming out, he’ll have a strong fan base.


Sometimes I think I should be more private - Keep it secret. But the open book of my life isn't really worth reading, cover to cover. There's something pointing toward leaving, I don't give a fuck what you think. When you finish I'm not breathing.

- Cage - I Found My Mind in Connecticut


********

Darren Chapel wrote this review a month ago. His slow ass editor just took forever to post it.



Comments (18)


coach outlet says:
May 21, 2012 12:13 AM
They have people who work hard to ensure that Circa footwear and sneakers really reflect the technical and practical characteristics of what skate boarding shoes and sneakers are all about.

Discount Louboutin shoes says:
June 15, 2012 12:59 AM
The Discount Louboutins sandals were also worn by Amanda Peet, Keri Russell, Katherine McPhee, Marcia Cross, Charlize Theron. Christian Louboutin Wedding Shoes celebrates 20 years of iconic designs with a capsule collection compiled of favorite Cheap Louboutins from decades past. And the Christian Louboutin Sandals Lady Max feature gold mirror finish leather, t-strap style Cheap Louboutin Pumps, posted ankle strap, Swarovski studded and spike embellished detail at instep and ankle, 100mm stiletto heel, and the signature red leather sole Christian Louboutin Wedges.http://www.discountlouboutinssshoess.com/

Christian Louboutins says:
June 15, 2012 1:50 AM
In accordance with Cheap Louboutins, the royal couple slipped off their shoes – a pair of green snakeskin Cheap Louboutin Shoes – as they paid tribute to our site at his memorial in Cheap Louboutins UK. At the site, the Prince and Princess honoured the great pacifist with an offering of vibrant red and yellow Christian Louboutin Pumps, as well as a moment of silence. With Christian Louboutin Slingbacks design and functionality in mind, the shoe designer created three pairs –Cheap Louboutin Sneakers, flat gladiator sandals and ankle boots – adorned with Swarovski crystals.http://www.discountlouboutinssshoess.com/

Fitflop Sale says:
March 18, 2013 11:35 PM
Founded in 1999, Paper Denim and Cloth is now sold around the world in the best department and specialty stores such as Fred Segal

my website says:
July 27, 2013 9:51 PM
On that topic, I then asked if weren't these plans similar on the mortgage loans made to folks that couldn't afford them [url=http://Totallyrealsitenotfake2.com/]my website[/url] in a real case, fast loans without faxing comes being a boon from direct lenders.

Teds Woodworking Review says:
August 2, 2013 7:19 AM
Because the admin of this site is working, no question very soon it will be famous, due to its feature contents.

1 says:
August 6, 2013 6:39 PM
Amazing things here. I am very satisfied to peer your article. Thanks so much and I'm looking ahead to contact you. Will you kindly drop me a e-mail?

super real says:
August 11, 2013 5:26 AM
But at the later stage, he sold his half interest to Hyatt to get a whopping $85 million [url=http://www.totallyre0alsitenotfake2.com]super real[/url] from helping you discover and get a usda eligible home, to knowing the funding and closing process, it's crucial that your realtor understands this system.

Microsoft Office 2010 says:
August 20, 2013 7:01 AM
Hurrah, that's what I was seeking for, what a material! existing here at this weblog, thanks admin of this site. Also visit my site: [url=http://officeitsolution.com/]Microsoft Office 2010[/url]

Buy Articles says:
August 29, 2013 1:11 AM
i really enjoyed this article,because this was me many years ago,and to a certain degree,this is who i am today Great column. You sound exactly like someone I'd love to know. Keep celebrating you. The world needs a lot more people just like you. Thanks for your honesty. I really like to read about other people trying new things, to get an idea of what it's like. This is an amazingly open and personal and brave post, and I admire you so much for writing it. http://www.contentproz.net/buy-articles/

Kandis Weinzierl says:
August 29, 2013 9:02 AM
Hello there, I found your blog by the use of Google whilst looking for a similar topic, your website came up, it looks good. I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks. Hi there, simply changed into alert to your weblog through Google, and located that it's truly informative. I am gonna be careful for brussels. I will be grateful if you proceed this in future. Numerous folks might be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

super real says:
September 1, 2013 1:18 AM
They say an incumbent is vulnerable if she or he falls within the 50% mark in support [url=http://www.tota5otfake2.com]super real[/url] jennifer says that matt doesn't possess a drivers license or perhaps a car so she could have drive an automobile him to go see his daughter knowning that won't work- she told the judge it could be considered a 'headache'.

my website says:
September 4, 2013 1:00 AM
Money becomes quite scarce along with the little that comes your way is always being inadequate [url=http://www.total7Otfake2.com/]my website[/url] you have probably already heard most financiers inform you no, but you are able to still get a bad credit score mortgage loans should you know how and where to take a look.

Joshua Ovall says:
September 5, 2013 4:50 AM
Simply wish to say your article is as astounding. The clarity in your post is just cool and i can assume you are an expert on this subject. Well with your permission let me to grab your feed to keep up to date with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please continue the gratifying work.

Lovetta Loftin says:
September 6, 2013 12:14 AM
It's an awesome paragraph for all the online users; they will obtain advantage from it I am sure.

dieta ketogenica retete says:
September 16, 2013 4:43 AM
Hmm it seems like your site ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I'll just sum it up what I submitted and say, I'm thoroughly enjoying your blog. I too am an aspiring blog writer but I'm still new to everything. Do you have any points for first-time blog writers? I'd really appreciate it. Here is my web page - [url=http://www.20wcss.org/xe/gallery/135996]dieta ketogenica retete[/url]

tv streaming sites says:
September 29, 2013 6:34 PM
How would you're feeling if you were with debt and someone offered you a ticket away from debt for the fraction of the items you owe [url=http://knit8.com/home/space.php?uid=469147&do=blog&id=9891239]tv streaming sites[/url] 89 soles, lo que representa un incremento sustantivo con respecto al ao anterior.

compare uk supplements says:
October 6, 2013 1:49 AM
There are thousands of great ideas is that if you only know how to use. Because people love their pets so much, it is no surprise that people spend so much money each year on pet supplies. It will not only increase your muscle mass but there is a chance it can strike your testosterone levels which will also help your muscles grow.

Post a comment

     Verification (needed to reduce spam):




byline=Darren Chapel thumbnailtype=jpg thumbnailname=departfromme-thumb

OTHER STORIES

ADVERTISEMENT

FragranceNet.com

Hollywood Triple Feature $24 for 2 or more

Footlocker.com

StudentUniverse.com - Travel More. Spend Less

macys.com

Apple iTunes


Oh Dang! Copyright © 2006-2007. All Rights Reserved.