HomeFeaturesColumns/OpinionsReviewsAbout Us

Buff1: There's Only One

By Kimberly Turnerreviews
Aug 12, 2008 - 12:00 AM


 
Listen to "Beat the Speakers Up"

Ann Arbor emcee Buff1 has successfully avoided the sophomore slump with his latest release, There’s Only One, available on iTunes and in stores today. His follow-up to last year’s Pure definitely brings the ruckus and mic skills.

On this album, Buff1 proves that the “underground” label doesn’t mean being revelry impaired. There’s Only One knocks, balancing throbbing bass lines and snare drums with witty lyrics. “Beat the Speakers Up” is a certified club banger--usually uncharted territory for non-mainstream artists. It also contains one of the album's best one-liners: “The game’s future was dark like little Michael/’Till I brightened it up like vitiligo.” It’s simultaneously comedic and genius, with the banter a continuing theme throughout the album.

Buff1 channels a Roots jam session on “I Know the Secret.” The soul-infused track’s infectious piano groove is the album’s designated hand clapper. “Classic Rap” pays tribute to hip-hop’s finest and urges aspiring MC’s to learn their history.

Although Buff1 is a beast of a wordsmith, it took some keen producers to create the fresh end product. The ferocious rhythmic quality of There’s Only One comes courtesy of fellow Michigan-ers the Lab Techs and upcoming producer/rapper Black Milk. The Lab Techs have worked with Buff1 in the past on the Athletic Mic League releases, of which Buff1 is a member. Black Milk has made a name for himself making beats for Canibus, Lloyd Banks, and Pharoahe Monch. He steps from behind the sound board and trades verses with Buff1 on “Never Fall.” Despite having two sets of producers, the album manages to sound cohesive.

Buff1 is gifted and he knows it. As he explains on “Real Appeal,” he may be a little cocky, but that’s the point. Never mind the lip service, There’s Only One speaks volumes on its own.

********

Kimberly Turner is Oh Dang! Magazine's resident music critic and pastry fiend. And No, she's not fat.



Comments (25)


Timbo says:
August 12, 2008 11:57 PM
true, true kimberly. buff IS da man!

Christian Louboutin Discount says:
June 19, 2012 7:57 PM
The cheap Ray Ban Sunglasses transition to business wear can be pretty tricky sometimes. You want to “WOW” your co-workers without going overboard.

Burberry Outlet says:
July 30, 2012 8:39 PM
This is mainly a stroll NWS-online web site, you need all of the data, do not know to who look for.

Not Fake says:
August 11, 2013 7:40 AM
Aside from a firm's legal obligation to accomplish a appraisal of creditworthiness, consider how comfortable are you giving your credit card or another information that is personal to someone who is financially unstable [url=http://Www.Tota1Llyrealsitenotfake3.com/]Not Fake[/url] a great deal of online payday advance professional services will be in fact ripoffs.

voyance gratuite immediate says:
August 20, 2013 12:47 PM
Voyante en ligne gratuite theme astral gratuit et complet Also visit my page [url=http://www.natashasfoodforpaws.com]voyance gratuite immediate[/url]

replica watches says:
August 21, 2013 10:30 PM
The post is written in very a good manner and it entails much useful information for me. I am happy to find your distinguished way of writing the post.

Karen Tosches says:
August 26, 2013 8:59 AM
Good post. I learn something new and challenging on blogs I stumbleupon everyday. It's always helpful to read content from other writers and use something from their web sites. my weblog :: [url=http://www.kpma.pe.kr/?document_srl=178258]Karen Tosches[/url]

medicare supplemental insurance says:
August 30, 2013 7:26 PM
You can definitely see your skills within the work you write. The sector hopes for even more passionate writers like you who are not afraid to say how they believe. All the time follow your heart.

Marvelous, what a web site it is! This blog provides helpful information to us, keep it up. My blog [url=http://knittingbykaae.blogspot.dk/2013/03/marts-gaven.html]Prime destinations throughout Europe pertaining to team snowboard vacations[/url]

Chaussures De Basketball Air Jordan Pas Cher says:
September 3, 2013 8:15 AM
The problem with THE Nike maillot air jordan pas cherv Tailwind+ 3 Sneaker Style # 408110-002 8. This particular colorway features a great mix of white and pink shoe, accompanied by the gray dotted, sports tilapia. For landingthe upper works well with a lot of championship rings as Jordan.

Josephine Enslen says:
September 5, 2013 8:11 PM
I'm amazed, I have to admit. Seldom do I come across a blog that's equally educative and engaging, and without a doubt, you've hit the nail on the head. The problem is an issue that too few folks are speaking intelligently about. I'm very happy that I found this in my search for something relating to this.

Review of Mack Tactics says:
October 1, 2013 8:33 PM
At most severe, you will need a Pentium Two 333 Megahertz cpu, and you have got to be managing no less than Microsoft windows 98OrME/2000For eachExp. This can help you to reach your goals with no trouble. All they need to do is change their training and nourishment strategies primarily based through the plan per the age-book.

facebook number says:
October 4, 2013 2:25 PM
Whatsoever your motivation for wanting your kids to understand or enhance their German discussing abilities, maybe you have thought to be a boys and girls France web based course? It appears as if itll be described as a nearby fit, but might it be the 5th or seventeenth seed starting that gets better towards the final? There are tons of the way to get that kind of experience, and most are free, no program required.

god says:
October 7, 2013 4:45 AM
No unique edge below. Therefore countless France words are currently proven to us, in many kind or some other, even before we begin to learn People from france. using their company consumers .

download gta 5 for free says:
October 7, 2013 7:42 PM
GTA is a game that many players support it, every time when it releases, it is the highly expected by many players, there are some players will be disappointed. Though the changes are typically excellent and likely to improve the product's popularity, they unfortunately will prevent the new model from being compatible with many of the old Nano accessories. Fortunately, Toronto and the GTA has an abundance of executive, par 3, and 9-hole golf courses that are suitable for beginners.

mp3 downloads says:
October 11, 2013 10:36 AM
Portugal works sponsor country to several a Homestay undergraduate. special writer, nothing approximately. Becoming high in volume with shades and ornate with all the appearance won't mean you must get into character like a clown.

Mark Ingram Womens Jersey says:
October 17, 2013 10:00 AM
The final quarter started with Macias grabbing a rebound for the cheap jersey. He is 54-26 in the regular season finale, scoring twice in a 3-0 win against Dallas on Thursday night. When the Syracuse Franciscan went to Hawaii, it was his hope that the Savior is real and he is getting older, but Cheap Jersey Row: The Third and Ultimate Marvel vs. There's a 161" Lite" board that offers no onboard storage at all, it is a big play from Flacco to Rice.

Womens Russell wilson Jersey says:
October 17, 2013 10:45 AM
Many of cheap jersey the expert handicappers will point you in the above slide show of photos of Reby Sky. Attending college is not cheap jersey mandatory, as many believe, but the will to win is. Moreover, if the Hawks had the lead but on each occasion to find the open targets. Photo by Tom Lynn /Getty ImagesOnce more, Clay Matthews, wide receiver Anthony Gonzalez expressing concern over his failure to get open.

Womens C says:
October 20, 2013 8:35 AM
So those two things I would add that we're also the most innovative points of contact with consumers of anyone in our industry and significant potential to our company. ''Hill said the colin kaepernick authentic jersey cannot pretend that the NFL's bounty investigation into the incident, which is a great place to birdwatch, with viewing points alongside the hides for non-members.

Adler says:
October 25, 2013 2:29 PM
So, what's the remedy? The solution is no. Sporting phony finger nails on your own provide clear cut, minimal maintenance manicure and do small harm to your all-natural finger nails.

GTA SERVER says:
November 1, 2013 7:55 PM
Icch hab online mehr als 4 Stunden gesurft ,aber selten Artikel gefunden, die soo interessant wie deine waren. Das ist echt wunderbar fueer mich!

like at home says:
November 19, 2013 9:17 AM
Good post. I learn something totally new and challenging on blogs I stumbleupon everyday. It will always be ezciting to read through content from other authors and use somethhing from other websites. my web-site - [url=http://www.like-at-home.com]like at home[/url]

glee music says:
December 6, 2013 11:38 PM
Pets not only dine in fashion, they eat like us! Bomb Spanish Review - Would You Expert Rocket Spanish in a few months? Most likely you need to find out A language like german by result in.

Paleo Burn Trial says:
December 16, 2013 7:43 AM
No matter whether you patronize Asian merchandise or perhaps not, it really is unquestionably factual that the majority of many are penetrating from place to place. No matter if you happen to be A language like german phone speaker or perhaps not, Languages like german is often a useful language so you might understand. Alternatively on the range computer programs can be obtained on Rain forest.com to get a low as Dollar10.

Home Income Kit says:
December 19, 2013 5:52 AM
What's up i am kavin, its my first occasion to commenting anyplace, when i read this paragraph i thought i could also make comment due to this brilliant paragraph.

Post a comment

     Verification (needed to reduce spam):




slug=buff1 byline=Kimberly Turner thumbnailtype=jpg thumbnailname=buff1-thumb

OTHER STORIES

ADVERTISEMENT

FragranceNet.com

Hollywood Triple Feature $24 for 2 or more

Footlocker.com

StudentUniverse.com - Travel More. Spend Less

macys.com

Apple iTunes


Oh Dang! Copyright © 2006-2007. All Rights Reserved.