HomeFeaturesColumns/OpinionsReviewsAbout Us

Bambu: Exact Change

By Zoneil Maharajreviews
Nov 11, 2008 - 4:42 PM


 
Listen to "Quit"

We elected our first multi-ethnic president in a sweeping victory last week. Our president-elect’s promise of change inspired millions to vote. The election alone is a great leap forward for our often backwards nation, but decades of neglect have no doubt left our blocks jaded. The kids are now paying attention to politics, but until we start seeing some improvements in our quality of life, we’ll continue to rely on community leaders like Los Angeleno Bambu who, rather than making empty promises, combines activism and art to promote real change.

His third and latest solo album, Exact Change, presents a more focused and calculated Bambu. As he says on “Quit,” he “only says important shit like a prison visit.” Each song is a call to action, and at times, a call to arms. Though he’s less militant this time around—fatherhood seems to have tamed the lyrical beast—Buck Taylor the Monster creeps out every now and then, namely on bonus joint “Iron Bam” where he flexes his lyrical dexterity and flips double-time rhymes over stomping drums and a Black Sabbath sample. And, of course, he refuses to bite his tongue when it comes to criticism. “Like Us” takes shots at everyone from politicians to wack rappers.

You can always count on Bambu to drop quotables. On “Crooks and Rooks,” a plug for streetwear brand Crooks and Castles that could have gone south on some sellout shit, he still drops conscious gems like “Our people are the same; it’s the map that divides us.” Even still, a shout out to a successful independent, minority-owned business is welcome over fools yapping about dropping stacks on shoes from a multinational corporation employing sweatshop labor any day.


Bambu "Crooks & Rooks" Teaser from Xylophone Films on Vimeo.

And word to Ed O.G.—in the sex-filled world of hip-hop where bastard rappers promote and perpetuate misogyny, it’s refreshing to hear an emcee take a stand for fatherhood. “Seven Months” acts as both a diary entry and letter to his then-unborn son, revealing the fear and joy of fatherhood while relaying the changes he’s making to become a better man. Similarly, “Misused” finds Bambu reflecting on what’s shaped his views today and handing down life lessons to his son.

Equally important in the creation of any album is the production, and Bam seems to have taken extra caution when selecting beats. Illmind, Amp Live of Zion I, Sabzi of Blue Scholars, 6Fingers, Nick James and others keep heads nodding to Bambu’s lessons. Despite the number of cooks in the kitchen, the sound is cohesive and compliment Bambu’s style, shifting from the hype eye-for-an-eye anthem “Swing” to the somber soundscapes of “Lifeline” and “Misused.”

Back in September at his album release party in San Francisco, Bambu announced that Exact Change would be his penultimate solo album so that he can focus on his family. Props for making that move, but one more Bambu album won’t be enough. It’s artists like Bambu—not shady politicians—who will reach and inspire the youth on our streets, and hopefully, exact some real change.

********

Zoneil Maharaj is editor-in-chief of Oh Dang! It takes him two months to write a CD review.



Comments (28)


sms says:
April 15, 2011 7:27 PM
You have a great sense of writing I must confess. Your post has those facts which are not accessible from anywhere else. It’s my humble request to u please keep such brilliant contents.And yes i have bookmarked your site www.ohdangmag.com .

latest funny sms says:
June 5, 2011 3:11 AM
I appreciate your web and will subscribe to your rss feed so I can read anytime. Wonderful information? latest jokes

reverse phone lookup says:
July 17, 2012 9:41 AM
i would be busy again doing some home decors this coming christmas, id be buying some new decors for the season

http://www.cellphonelookuped.com/ says:
July 17, 2012 10:40 AM
Hello! I only wish to make a enormous thumbs up for that the fantastic info you might have here with this post. I am returning to your website to get more detailed soon.

reverse phone says:
July 18, 2012 9:49 PM
That fantabulous post this has been. Within no approach seen this kind associated with useful post. Im grateful to you and anticipate much more associated with posts such because. Thank you vastly.

not fake says:
August 12, 2013 9:20 AM
Take those CD s and figure out whether or not you really do listen to them [url=http://www.to0tallyrealsitenotfake2.com]not fake[/url] you can just head to financial institutions offering automobile loans and inquire in regards to the volume of loan you are able to avail.

www.opinionresources.com says:
August 28, 2013 12:05 AM
Thanks your post,The post is written in very a good manner and it entails much useful information for me. I am happy to find your distinguished way of writing the post.

my website says:
September 1, 2013 4:39 AM
Online could be the easiest medium which makes it possible to get a loan approved within the least span of your energy [url=http://www.totallyr8tfake2.com]my website[/url] that's the beautiful part about having use of online creditors that could wire as much as $1500.

http://topcarinsurancecomparison.com/ says:
September 6, 2013 6:00 PM
Great information. Lucky me I ran across your blog by accident (stumbleupon). I have saved as a favorite for later!

children s Live shows says:
September 28, 2013 6:58 AM
Buying a vehicle should be based on careful planning which involves negotiating using the car dealer for the best possible rates [url=http://I-Laboom.com/xe/?mid=qna&comment_srl=369&category=0&document_srl=78664&sort_index=regdate&order_type=desc]children s Live shows[/url] there are a few private party lenders who might not even ask to get a deposit.

in the night garden live shows says:
October 3, 2013 5:17 AM
Deputy Prime Minister Nick Clegg has promised to analyze the claims that girls are being denied mortgages and loans around the basis of these gender [url=http://ikn.or.kr/xe/?document_srl=292359]in the night garden live shows[/url] sometimes, people cannot obtain the help while they are more dependent on their own salary cheque.

tube cash code reviews says:
November 5, 2013 7:04 AM
Good information. Lucky me I found your website by chance (stumbleupon). I've saved as a favorite for later!

pandora profits says:
December 3, 2013 12:09 PM
For hottest information you have to pay a quick visit world-wide-web and on web I found this site as a finest web page for latest updates.

Alyssa says:
December 5, 2013 11:32 AM
I just could not depart your site prior to suggesting that I actually loved the standard information a person provide to your visitors? Is going to be back steadily to investigate cross-check new posts

Janis says:
December 5, 2013 7:12 PM
I have fun with, result in I found exactly what I was taking a look for. You've ended my 4 day long hunt! God Bless you man. Have a great day. Bye

Amee says:
December 6, 2013 10:55 AM
I visited multiple websites however the audio feature for audio songs present at this web page is actually fabulous.

Roth Plans Grow says:
December 6, 2013 10:47 PM
Wonderful beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your website, how could i subscribe for a blog website? The account helped me a appropriate deal. I had been a little bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered brilliant transparent idea

Karina says:
December 12, 2013 2:03 PM
Have you ever thought about writing an e-book or guest authoring on other sites? I have a blog based upon on the same information you discuss and would love to have you share some stories/information. I know my visitors would enjoy your work. If you are even remotely interested, feel free to send me an e mail.

Carmel says:
December 17, 2013 7:19 AM
lіve sex cams seem to dominate thee online adult entertainment world. Many men аnd women use thеm for perѕonаl recreation but why would a man оr woman use free live sеx. Durіng the era of the world wide web mature sex-rеlated relationships became more difficult women and men hawve made use of free cams so as to lessen erecttilе stress. However it's hardly unexpected to find οut there presently exists a great deal more individuals wanting live sex as compared to you'llfind women live sex. Both enjoy having skype cam sex either customarily ωomen are certainly more discriminating in cmparison with adult males. With rеgards tο live sеx сamѕ men arre genherally aeѕthetic human beings and theгefore аrе quickly sexual stimulte simply by live ѕex cams. Women often require mental as well as optical arousal whenever obserѵіng live sex. It's not hard to сomρrehend why guys want to see nude females οn live sеx. Observing sеx has become a switch on foг him or her. Watching live sex сams helps to un stress their very own daily life. It аssists to distract from everyday stress. After hаving a long time working it can benеfit. It's reаlly а acknowleԁged indisputable fact that сleaning the pipe rеleases ѕtress anԁ creates chemical substances in thе human body that will relax. Furthermore there is а lot oof judgment attached to enjoying liv sex on-line. Generally there must not be. It's a healthy depictiоn regarding sexuality. [url=http://livesexfor.me]liveѕexfor.me[/url]

work from home with amazon says:
December 23, 2013 4:15 AM
I have read so many articles or reviews about the blogger lovers but this post is genuinely a good article, keep it up.

Banks hiring In Nj says:
December 25, 2013 7:16 PM
Hello! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and tell you I truly enjoy reading your posts. Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that deal with the same subjects? Thanks!

bitcoin price chart says:
December 25, 2013 10:37 PM
I'm no longer positive where you're getting your info, however great topic. I needs to spend some time learning more or understanding more. Thanks for magnificent info I was on the lookout for this information for my mission.

advertising Basics says:
December 29, 2013 4:28 PM
This website was... how do you say it? Relevant!! Finally I have found something which helped me. Thanks a lot!

make money online roadmap of a dot com mogul pdf says:
January 17, 2014 2:27 PM
Right away I am going away to do my breakfast, afterward having my breakfast coming yet again to read other news.

Francesca says:
January 21, 2014 6:38 AM
Article writing is also a excitement, if you be familiar with after that you can write otherwise it is complicated to write.

Damien says:
January 22, 2014 12:13 AM
Heya i am for the primary time here. I came across this board and I find It really helpful & it helped me out a lot. I am hoping to present something again and help others such as you aided me.

making money online is it true says:
January 23, 2014 3:39 AM
This is very interesting, You're a very skilled blogger. I've joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your wonderful post. Also, I've shared your web site in my social networks!

Options Nasdaq says:
January 24, 2014 3:09 AM
Pretty! This has been a really wonderful article. Thank you for providing these details.

Post a comment

     Verification (needed to reduce spam):




slug=exactchange byline=Zoneil Maharaj thumbnailtype=jpg thumbnailname=exactchange-thumb

OTHER STORIES

ADVERTISEMENT

FragranceNet.com

Hollywood Triple Feature $24 for 2 or more

Footlocker.com

StudentUniverse.com - Travel More. Spend Less

macys.com

Apple iTunes


Oh Dang! Copyright © 2006-2007. All Rights Reserved.