HomeFeaturesColumns/OpinionsReviewsAbout Us

ApSci: Best Crisis Ever

By Kimberly Turnerreviews
Aug 7, 2009 - 5:12 PM


 
Listen to "Under Control


Download: ApSci - "Under Control"


With their latest release Best Crisis Ever, Apsci is shaping up to be the best husband and wife duo since Ike and Tina (minus the abuse, of course). This transcontinental tag team, composed of Filipino-Australian Dana Diaz-Tutaan and boogie down Bronx native Raphael LaMotta, has perfected their own brand of electro-popped hip-hop. That brand is highly contagious and will take over all your auditory senses if you’re not careful. It’s like mind control. This is your brain on Apsci.

Written and recorded in Australia, New York and several cities in between, Best Crisis Ever crosses just as many genres as it does borders. It’s a blend of electronica, rock, industrial, and pop laid over a hip-hop foundation. The up tempo “Under Control” sounds like an out of control game of Milton Bradley’s Simon. The repetitive synth rhythms and thumping drum machine will have you hooked at first listen. “’Till the Windows Rattle Off” is one of a plethora of ridiculously catchy tunes. Dana’s warm vocals contrast nicely against the track’s harsher drum beats.

Watch: "Under Control"

Unlike their previous release, Thanks for Asking, there are no guest verses on Best Crisis Ever. Instead, the couple decides to leave the music up to their own devices. Their opposite styles complement each other. Dana’s Bjork-like shrieks and operatic heights fill the void left by her hubby’s often detached delivery.

With the exception of their cover of R.E.M.’s “Swan Swan H,” only a few of the tracks crack the three minute mark. I suppose that shouldn’t be too surprising coming from a group that condensed their name (formerly Applied Sciences).

Just like a good vacation, Best Crisis Ever is over before you know it.

********

Kimberly Turner is Oh Dang!'s resident music critic and pastry fiend. And No!, she's not fat.



Comments (24)


Discount Louboutin shoes says:
June 15, 2012 1:05 AM
The Discount Louboutins sandals were also worn by Amanda Peet, Keri Russell, Katherine McPhee, Marcia Cross, Charlize Theron. Christian Louboutin Wedding Shoes celebrates 20 years of iconic designs with a capsule collection compiled of favorite Cheap Louboutins from decades past. And the Christian Louboutin Sandals Lady Max feature gold mirror finish leather, t-strap style Cheap Louboutin Pumps, posted ankle strap, Swarovski studded and spike embellished detail at instep and ankle, 100mm stiletto heel, and the signature red leather sole Christian Louboutin Wedges.http://www.discountlouboutinssshoess.com/

Christian Louboutins says:
June 15, 2012 1:56 AM
In accordance with Cheap Louboutins, the royal couple slipped off their shoes – a pair of green snakeskin Cheap Louboutin Shoes – as they paid tribute to our site at his memorial in Cheap Louboutins UK. At the site, the Prince and Princess honoured the great pacifist with an offering of vibrant red and yellow Christian Louboutin Pumps, as well as a moment of silence. With Christian Louboutin Slingbacks design and functionality in mind, the shoe designer created three pairs –Cheap Louboutin Sneakers, flat gladiator sandals and ankle boots – adorned with Swarovski crystals.http://www.discountlouboutinssshoess.com/

masterpapers.com review says:
February 18, 2013 11:37 AM
I’ve desired to write something similar to this on my webpage and this has given me a concept. Cheers.

my website says:
August 10, 2013 10:01 AM
Bridge your dollars gap, that arrives among and meet your immediate cash requirements [url=http://www.tota1llyrealsitenotfake3.com]my website[/url] i am not asking one to convince them for virtually any form of changes, but to find houses with similar attributes in wholesale market.

voyance gratuite says:
August 20, 2013 4:07 PM
David mocq voyant voyance par telephone gratuite sans attente My web site :: [url=http://www.natashasfoodforpaws.com]voyance gratuite[/url]

replica watches says:
August 21, 2013 10:39 PM
Nice job, I really like how your site looks.

Buy Articles says:
August 29, 2013 1:16 AM
i really enjoyed this article,because this was me many years ago,and to a certain degree,this is who i am today Great column. You sound exactly like someone I'd love to know. Keep celebrating you. The world needs a lot more people just like you. Thanks for your honesty. I really like to read about other people trying new things, to get an idea of what it's like. This is an amazingly open and personal and brave post, and I admire you so much for writing it. http://www.contentproz.net/buy-articles/

Buy Articles says:
August 29, 2013 1:17 AM
i really enjoyed this article,because this was me many years ago,and to a certain degree,this is who i am today Great column. You sound exactly like someone I'd love to know. Keep celebrating you. The world needs a lot more people just like you. Thanks for your honesty. I really like to read about other people trying new things, to get an idea of what it's like. This is an amazingly open and personal and brave post, and I admire you so much for writing it. http://www.contentproz.net/buy-articles/

Judy Stalker says:
September 3, 2013 2:52 AM
Your way of explaining the whole thing in this article is really good, every one can without difficulty be aware of it, Thanks a lot.

Nike Air Jordan 3 Pas Cher says:
September 3, 2013 8:39 AM
In general, there are actually a unique purpose for high quality discount shoes Nike Air Force 1. Front of the Maillot Air Jordan Pas Cherv Conquer and Air Force ones at whole sale price. Submerge a supple piece of cloth in the soapy water and wring it out so it is very foremost to have the right shoe.

buy computer parts says:
September 3, 2013 1:44 PM
It really very useful post. Thanks for sharing such beneficial resources.

furniture movers chicago says:
September 3, 2013 1:45 PM
I wanted to thank you for this interesting I definitely loved every little bit of it.

Whitney Mercilus Nike Elite Jersey says:
October 18, 2013 1:32 PM
Even if you don't have to fire up the grill. With so many South Africans in Ulster's ranks, it was Cheap Jersey' turn to feel the embrace of God. After two hours strain the marinade off the wings, allowing about 1/4 to 1/2 tsp. Celebrating its six-year anniversary, the NFL has amazing products to help you pay all or part of your question?

Terrell Suggs Womens Jersey says:
October 18, 2013 2:42 PM
The only thing that cheap jersey matters is truth because it is believed that St.

bluehost review says:
October 21, 2013 2:02 PM
You will be paying a great quantity of interest charges as a result of longer duration in the loan [url=http://hostingcouponcrazy.blogspot.com/]bluehost review[/url] this is a free application that you just can access online which allows you to apply for educational funding through the government.

Carpet Cleaners New Jersey says:
October 29, 2013 11:31 PM
Evven though dry cleaning carpet and using dry foams to clean carpet are quite a bit more convenient and a whole lott less messy, a good old fashioned steam cleaning and shampoo is usuallly best for heavily soiled carpes with a lot off wear and tear. The franchise will be costly, but with the cost outlay will come a formula for success. Steam cleaning is used for cleaning the deeper layers of thhe carpet that the nozzle of the vacuum cleaner cannot reach. Also visit my page: [url=http://www.Youtube.com/watch?v=2ZOrENaTSIs]Carpet Cleaners New Jersey[/url]

super real says:
November 3, 2013 9:02 PM
That's the kind of image that i really thing is super image like. If more images [url=http://www.goohjlessw.com]very real[/url] like this were out there we'd be super full of graet images in the world.

super real says:
November 23, 2013 2:04 PM
Vijaya Bank Loan schemes are also available for getting consumer durables as well as for meeting the short term credit needs of customers [url=http://www.tenotfak7e2.com]super real[/url] work extra - next, you happen to be going to want to find ways to produce more income.

clash Of clans hack download says:
December 7, 2013 4:30 PM
Hi there, this weekend is pleasant designed for me, because this occasion i am reading this enormous informative piece of writing here at my house. Look at my blog post ... [url=http://Yourclashofclanhack.Blogspot.com/2013/12/clash-of-clans-hack-download-hacks-and.html]clash Of clans hack download[/url]

click site says:
December 19, 2013 3:01 AM
Link exchange is nothing else but it is simply placing the other person's blog link on your page at suitable place and other person will also do similar for you.

https://archive.org/details/AdonisGoldenRatioReview says:
December 21, 2013 12:48 AM
Hi there, i read your blog occasionally and i own a similar one and i was just curious if you get a lot of spam feedback? If so how do you protect against it, any plugin or anything you can suggest? I get so much lately it's driving me insane so any support is very much appreciated.

http://Penis-Advantage--Reviewed.blogspot.com says:
December 25, 2013 8:56 PM
You're so cool! I do not think I have read something like this before. So great to find someone with a few original thoughts on this topic. Really.. many thanks for starting this up. This website is one thing that's needed on the internet, someone with some originality!

Click Here says:
December 26, 2013 2:05 PM
I appreciate you sharing this blog post.Really looking forward to read more. Great.

have a peek here says:
January 11, 2014 2:19 AM
Whats up are using Wordpress for your site platform? I'm new to the blog world but I'm trying to get started and set up my own. Do you require any coding knowledge to make your own blog? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Post a comment

     Verification (needed to reduce spam):




byline=Kimberly Turner thumbnailtype=jpg thumbnailname=apsci-thumb

OTHER STORIES

ADVERTISEMENT

FragranceNet.com

Hollywood Triple Feature $24 for 2 or more

Footlocker.com

StudentUniverse.com - Travel More. Spend Less

macys.com

Apple iTunes


Oh Dang! Copyright © 2006-2007. All Rights Reserved.