HomeFeaturesColumns/OpinionsReviewsAbout Us

Akrobatik: Absolute Value

By Kimberly Turnerreviews
Feb 11, 2008 - 1:41 AM


 
Words are weapons and in Boston native Akrobatik‘s case, pack the devastating force of a high powered assault riffle. Mr. A to the mother effin’ K is on a murderous mission to rid hip-hop of wack MC’s and apathy with his latest release Absolute Value, to be released Feb. 19 on Fat Beats Records. Given the pathetic state of mainstream hip-hop, this could prove to be a cumbersome task. So he’s enlisted fellow Perceptionist Mr. Lif, B-Real, Talib Kweli, Little Brother and Chuck D to help clear the bodies and carnage.

Akrobatik begins his 14 track rant with “A to the K.” B-Real’s trademark nasal vocals and a smooth Motown-ish funk melody build the album’s momentum. On “Front Steps Pt. II” AK examines and attacks the mentality that being smart and having a legit business is selling out. Like a disgruntled parent, he’s only bitching because he cares. Besides if he doesn’t “kick the truth to the young black youth” the rapper asks who will? 50 Cent? Lets hope not. While Akrobatik displays his story telling skills on “Kindred,” narrator Chuck D sounds like he’s introducing an episode of Masterpiece Theatre during black history month.

Although the lyrical content of Absolute Value is definitely not for the brain cell deficient, it doesn’t come off as being too preachy. Tracks like “Soul Glo” and “Beast Mode,” which features Mr. Lif, would get a soul train line going at any party. The bass lines and drum beats provided by J. Dilla, 9th Wonder, Beatminerz, J-Zone and others are simple but highly effective. Part activist, motivational speaker and party rocker, this daytime radio DJ has created an album underground hip hop heads will covet.

Click here to preview Absolute Value on the Fat Beats Records website.

***

Kimberly Turner is a 23-year-old graduate of San Francisco State University. When she’s not writing, she enjoys traveling, going to concerts and digging through the used CD bins at Rasputin Music. If she wasn't a journalist she'd be a pastry chef.



Comments (44)


Sunshine Mexico says:
April 3, 2008 2:39 PM
Is that Malcolm Jamaal Warner?

online payday loans direct lenders says:
November 28, 2012 7:00 AM
Your blog has the same post because another author however i for example your better. ;~,*.

how to lose weight fast in a week at home says:
November 28, 2012 4:48 PM
I just like this website so much, saved to favorites .

reverse phone book says:
November 28, 2012 5:40 PM
Amazing this hit it at that the dot we will post to Bebo and also Fb Город Электросталь активно застраивается Профессиональные новости ООО “Белго+” – Двери производства Белоруси. Продажа, установка was great

reverse cell phone lookup free says:
November 28, 2012 7:29 PM
Props for this kind of the superb post, keep up your fantastic work.

payday loans online says:
November 28, 2012 9:24 PM
You are very cool! I dont suppose I have read something similar to this before. So nice to lookup for somebody with authentic applying for grants this subject. I actually appreciate starting this up. Your website is one area that's needed online. Totally a helpful project for bringing new things for the web!

criminal background check says:
November 30, 2012 2:39 PM
Very interesting points you have noted , regards for putting up.

how to get your ex back says:
December 28, 2012 10:08 PM
I believe other website owners should take this site as an example , very clean and wonderful user genial style .

background check says:
December 29, 2012 11:48 PM
Great blog here! Also your website loads up fast! What host are you the usage of? Can I discover your affiliate hyperlink for your host? I want my website loaded up as speedily because yours lol.

free cell phone lookup directory canada says:
January 5, 2013 7:56 AM
You have brought up a very first-class points , thankyou for that the post.

cell phone people search says:
January 5, 2013 10:15 AM
very good put up, i actually love this web site, keep on it

how to lose weight after having a baby says:
January 31, 2013 1:37 PM
Thank you for the content very helpful for me, a different webpage I found and hope you for example it

Online payday loans says:
February 2, 2013 4:10 AM
I pay a quick visit day-to-day a few web pages and sites to read articles, except this blog gives feature based writing. my web-site ... [url=http://Www.2Applyforcash.com/]Online payday loans[/url]

reverse phone lookup says:
July 7, 2013 10:39 PM
I found your blog on yahoo and can bookmark it in this day and age. carry on that the nice work. Also visit my page; [url=http://globalreversephonelookups.com/]reverse phone lookup[/url]

super real says:
July 27, 2013 11:25 PM
The money is available presently and there is not any dependence on additional collateral because your home will be the foundation of the borrowed funds [url=http://www.totallyrealsitenotfake2.com]super real[/url] of course, the biggest problem to this particular option is should you fail to generate your repayments monthly you risk losing your house.

wordpress says:
August 5, 2013 2:03 AM
This design is incredible! You definitely know how to keep a reader entertained. Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost. ..HaHa!) Fantastic job. I really enjoyed what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it. Too cool! Feel free to visit my web page; [url=http://rehatched.com]wordpress[/url]

my website says:
August 10, 2013 8:44 AM
I anticipate seeing everyone with the meeting on Thursday, November 20th @ 7: 30pm [url=http://www.totallyrealsite4notfake2.com]my website[/url] these loans will also be available for that a bad credit score people as well.

voyance en ligne says:
August 19, 2013 6:54 PM
Mon horoscope du mois medium Also visit my web site - [url=http://www.natashasfoodforpaws.com]voyance en ligne[/url]

Microsoft Office 2010 says:
August 20, 2013 6:57 AM
What's up to all, as I am actually keen of reading this blog's post to be updated regularly. It consists of good material. Visit my web-site ... [url=http://officeitsolution.com]Microsoft Office 2010[/url]

Super real says:
August 31, 2013 6:07 PM
Short Lending Period one year loans are approved for any term of a year and in many cases less as suitable to the borrower [url=http://www.to3tfake2.com]Super real[/url] this signifies it is really a very good strategy to repair a negative credit history and hopefully be inside a position to inside future go to get a additional mainstream alternative by means of your bank.

Sherrie says:
September 3, 2013 7:06 AM
The upper is full grain leather upper, a waterproof rubber midsole, a visible maillot air jordan pas cherv unit, a Cushlon foam midsole and it comes with the option to use Nike+ if the user wants. James has been gradually adapted to the NBA, and to an extent, 2003. Or rather, a new exchangeable TUNIT Standard Chassis offers premium support and cushioning, maillot air jordan pas cherv wholesale while the new exchangeable pre-molded TUNIT Standard Insock adds support and comfort. In 2007, the Light would eventually be overshadowed by Nike.

not fake says:
September 4, 2013 2:16 PM
Under federal law, efforts to recover defaulted education loans had a 120 month limit [url=http://www.total7Otfake2.com]not fake[/url] however since the credit crunch more individuals are being forced along the secured loan route because a majority with the unsecured lenders decided not to lend anymore.

have a peek at these guys says:
September 5, 2013 8:53 PM
Your way of telling everything in this piece of writing is in fact good, every one can simply understand it, Thanks a lot. my website ... [url=http://progettoimpattoacustico.weebly.com/]have a peek at these guys[/url]

http://topcarinsurancecomparison.com/ says:
September 6, 2013 10:29 PM
Hi, after reading this awesome article i am also happy to share my know-how here with mates.

Walter says:
September 8, 2013 7:42 PM
This site was... how do you say it? Relevant!! Finally I've found something which helped me. Thank you!

not fake says:
September 14, 2013 10:59 AM
With a lot more lenders coming to offer poor credit installment loans, borrowers can acquire more competitive rates [url=http://www.tmu8d754ale2.com]not fake[/url] mainly people favor to possess a zero percent car loans given that they can think this could preserve their money.

Michael Kors Outlet says:
September 29, 2013 6:51 PM
Hong Kong-based michael kors outlet Holdings, under the ticker KORS. Though garish neon signs advertising their services are tolerated, the soccer sponsorship has ruffled some feathers in the sports-mad city of Larissa. Obama couldMon, 21 Jan 2013if yesterday was any indication, she will probably stay american. He was born in the quiet town of Merrick New York which is in Long Island, michael kors outlet' mother took him along on her frequent forays into shopping.

lumber liquidators coupons rebate says:
October 10, 2013 5:00 PM
Koelmel, President & CEO, First Niagara, said, Making it easy for small enterprises to perform excellent achievements is what we should're about daily at First Niagara [url=http://Couponmania2014.com/lumber-liquidators-coupons-printable-promo-code-discounts-20132014/]lumber liquidators coupons rebate[/url] but, by managing your fiscal issues, you'll be able to resolve your credit troubles with great ease.

paper source coupons rebate says:
October 14, 2013 4:37 AM
Trying to keep afloat, perhaps I needs to have down size my house, but I was depressed, the thought of which was worse [url=http://couponmania2014.com/paper-source-coupon-printable-promo-code-discounts-20132014/]paper source coupons rebate[/url] the problem is always that people elect to, or are able to, do that while repaying the loan.

Adrian says:
October 25, 2013 5:30 PM
Superb, what a blog it is! This website presents valuable information to us, keep it up.

pirater un compte fb says:
October 27, 2013 1:59 PM
Hi, i read your blog occasionally and i own a similar one and i was just wondering if you get a lot of spam feedback? If so how do you protect against it, any plugin or anything you can suggest? I get so much lately it's driving me crazy so any assistance is very much appreciated.

homepage says:
October 28, 2013 11:35 AM
I was able to photograph and film while riding, something I wouldn't be able or even try to do for most of the rest of the trip. also helps when spraying anything to use different angles. When matched against finished job by paint brushes and rollers, paint sprayers go a step further.

facebook hacking types says:
October 28, 2013 12:52 PM
My family every time say that I am wasting my time here at web, however I know I am getting experience daily by reading thes fastidious articles.

super real says:
November 2, 2013 2:52 PM
That's the kind of image that i really thing is super image like. If more images [url=http://www.goohjlessw.com]very real[/url] like this were out there we'd be super full of graet images in the world.

shanghai resorts decrease our Price range says:
November 8, 2013 1:13 PM
An intriguing discussion is definitely worth comment. I think that you ought to publish more on this issue, it might nott be a taboo matter but generally peoiple don't discuss such subjects. To the next! Best wishes!! Here is my blog post - [url=http://www.hesus.de/wiki/index.php/Benutzer:KashaBarringer]shanghai resorts decrease our Price range[/url]

socialnetwork.stock-options-picks.com says:
November 13, 2013 6:12 PM
Hi there, You have done a great job. I will certainly digg it and personally suggest to my friends. I'm sure they'll be benefited from this web site.

pirater un compte facebook comment faire says:
December 6, 2013 5:49 PM
I know this if off topic but I'm looking into starting my own blog and was curious what all is needed to get setup? I'm assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny? I'm not very web smart so I'm not 100% positive. Any tips or advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

event planning business says:
December 15, 2013 6:43 PM
I got this web page from my buddy who shared with me about this web page and at the moment this time I am browsing this site and reading very informative content at this time.

how to speed up computer says:
December 15, 2013 6:54 PM
With the helρ off computer annd Internet уou can ωatch TV online, you also саn watch online movies, plaу online games, find out relevаnt information, downloаd or liѕten to music etc. Go online and broωse brands lіke Toshiba, Dell, Samsung, and Sony. Thеre гesearch chemicals that save livеs, some protect fіeld's cгops and otheгs are the causes of plaguеs. [url=http://www.pleskwin17.hospedagemdesites.ws/test/php/php_info.php?a%5B%5D=%3Ca+href%3Dhttp%3A%2F%2Fwandern.blogsport.eu%2F2010%2F05%2F25%2Fkorsika-tra-mare-e-monti-zweite-etappe-%25e2%2580%2593-calenzana-bis-bonifatu%2F%3EHow+Computers+Change+The+Way+We+Think+Summary%3C%2Fa%3E]hoω to speеd up cоmputer[/url]

http://buyskypeout.com/ says:
December 21, 2013 11:02 AM
It could be used externally as an astringent. Garcinia Cambogia additionally advertises emotional wellness. Losses of physical body weight of 3.3 % (after 4 weeks) and 4.8 % (after 8 weeks) were noted in the treatment group.

super real says:
December 21, 2013 12:18 PM
Beware Of Fraudulent Institutes - While trying to get money advance payday advances discover all the important points from the financial institute lending you the bucks [url=http://www.moopzoopfever.com]super real[/url] from school, you should directly head for a home or boarding house.

garcinia cambogia side effects fda says:
January 2, 2014 12:32 PM
I simply could not depart your website prior to suggesting that I extremely loved the standard information an individual provide to your visitors? Is gonna be back steadily to check out new posts

http://madcoupons.in/makemytrip.Com says:
January 23, 2014 4:39 PM
Hi there, its good post concerning media print, we all be familiar with media is a great source of information.

online shopping says:
January 26, 2014 3:59 AM
I know this website offers quality dependent articles and other stuff, is there any other web site which provides these kinds of information in quality? My site ... [url=http://madcoupons.in/Firstcry.com]online shopping[/url]

Post a comment

     Verification (needed to reduce spam):




slug=akrobatik byline=Kimberly Turner thumbnailtype=jpg thumbnailname=akrobatik-thumb

OTHER STORIES

ADVERTISEMENT

FragranceNet.com

Hollywood Triple Feature $24 for 2 or more

Footlocker.com

StudentUniverse.com - Travel More. Spend Less

macys.com

Apple iTunes


Oh Dang! Copyright © 2006-2007. All Rights Reserved.