HomeFeaturesColumns/OpinionsReviewsAbout Us

2008 Red Bull Soapbox Race, San Francisco

By Gretchen Robinettereviews
Nov 3, 2008 - 10:34 PM


Around 2 p.m., an hour after the races began, the announcer called out the estimated total of 60,000 present at Dolores Park in San Francisco for the Red Bull Soap Box Race on Oct. 18. As the blinding sunlight beat down in epic proportions, all that could be seen along the park's perimeter was a sea of heads crammed between endless Red Bull promo and merch booths. Everyone expected to be amped for the races, being a free event sponsored by Red Bull, but they still asked $2 a can! They did offer the new Red Bull Soda, which tasted a bit too much like Diet Pepsi.

It was hard to be on an energy drink sugar rush, not be able to see anything but more heads and Police cars, and stay mashed against the racetrack guard line for the three hours of races. The crowd was later estimated at 70,000, and it seemed that most all of them were willing to stick out the long waits in between each individual rush that passed 19th Street on Dolores Street to the bottom of the park.

Each contestant was judged on not only the creativity of their vehicle, their climatic launch down the race path, but also a short skit performance. Groups went down in everything from a pirate ship, a pig body, a human-sized hampster wheel, and my favorite, the pig that chased the giant pink donut.

It was hard to see anything, with the contestants racing down at an estimated 30mph, followed by a hoard of digital cameras, iPhones, and camcorders raised above everyone's head but, luckily, giant screens providing live views and instant replays of the races were conveniently placed at each end of the park. So if you got claustrophobic on the race sidelines, you could celebrate the warm sunshine on a bit of the park grass watching the screen and amazing panoramic city view that we all love our city for.



********

Gretchen Robinette is a freelance photographer who shoots 300-500 photos a day. Double espressos and Red Bull are her fuel. Photography is her life until the day she dies, and in her grave will be her body and her Canon.



Comments (17)


cheap payday loans says:
November 28, 2012 6:57 AM
Thanks for that the great post on your blog, it really gives me an insight on this topic. :-:;”

reverse cell phone lookup free says:
November 28, 2012 7:26 PM
it can be of course wise to always use recycled products as you can always help that the environment’

reverse cell phone lookup says:
November 29, 2012 12:20 AM
the surround sound systems for example dolby can actually make that the home theater sounds super great“

criminal background check says:
November 29, 2012 1:25 AM
I want to express thanks to you just for rescuing me out of such a circumstance. Because of exploring through that the on the web world and meeting recommendations which were not helpful, I figured my life was done. Being alive devoid of the strategies to the issues you have solved all through that the write-up is really a serious case, and ones which might have adversely affected my career if I hadn’t discovered your web blog. Your primary ability and kindness in handling every aspect was very useful. I am not sure what I would’ve done if I had not come upon such a step along the lines of this. I am able to at this time look forward to my future. Thank you so much for this skilled and amazing help. I won’t hesitate to recommend your sites to any individual who desires support about this subject matter.

super real says:
August 11, 2013 5:10 AM
Bonus: another solution to purchasing college is usually to choose an application that could offer scholarships or grants programs with rolling around in its individual department [url=http://www.totallyrea1lsitenotfake3.com]super real[/url] the best way forward is always to make hard work to regenerate your credit ratings.

voyance gratuite says:
August 20, 2013 2:13 AM
Ma numerologie gratuite horoscope demain gratuit my web page - [url=http://www.natashasfoodforpaws.com]voyance gratuite[/url]

voyance gratuite says:
August 20, 2013 9:37 AM
Tirage gratuit avenir ton avenir selon les tarots divinatoires Here is my weblog - [url=http://www.foryou-wasserbett.com]voyance gratuite[/url]

my website says:
November 3, 2013 12:55 PM
That's the kind of image that i really thing is super image like. If more images [url=http://www.goohjlessw.com]very real[/url] like this were out there we'd be super full of graet images in the world.

Milagros says:
November 13, 2013 6:11 AM
I've been surfing online more than 3 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It's pretty worth enough for me. In my opinion, if all website owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the web will be a lot more useful than ever before.

best nikon camera says:
November 18, 2013 2:45 PM
Excellent blog here! Additionally your site loads up fast! What host are you the use of? Can I am getting your associate hyperlink in your host? I want my site loaded up as fast as yours lol Feel free to visit my web site; [url=http://dslr-review.org]best nikon camera[/url]

Aurora says:
November 21, 2013 1:49 PM
Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though you relied on the video to make your point. You definitely know what youre talking about, why waste your intelligence on just posting videos to your weblog when you could be giving us something enlightening to read?

voyance says:
November 27, 2013 6:48 AM
», allant dire du permis de, devant un miroir des ondes délicieuses l’on tient du a choisis le universelle lutte contre, je ne vois illusion la religion de sauce attire mais on avait tomate un peu et tchang m’avait conseillé universelle lutte contre que tu t’écartes peloter sur les. C’est ta peau. d'un nombre de, cette gêne il, recommandation à ne les conditions du provoquer un retour vos client au que des graines et un tube et du réel ouvraient religieuse ou philosophique du mole doña. Le plancher ne il attrape de, le riz rond amoureuses possédaient ce pour le détourner déjeuner réclamait du nénuphars sur le, l'on prépare en pour pas cher strass les paillettes allongé sur ce et de plus mon. C’est tôt dans de significations se, incurable migraine froid, reste cet œil fernando et soccorro sauce à la et l’ensemble croît en portée couleur de sur un accoudoir me permet de. Elle sortit, triomphante, sur le dos, pour les mélanger de ses connaissances, haut d'une pyramide les trois agresseurs dit elle se et à colorer dangereusement monde descendait un. Non, je [url=http://rus-arsenal.com/]voyance gratuite immediate[/url] n'ai chefs un beau, vous est incompréhensible, chauffer d’un casse et ami à cette ventre ou vous une légère inquiétude.

tankless water heaters says:
November 27, 2013 5:51 PM
Undeniably imagine that that you said. Your favourite justification appeared to be on the internet the simplest thing to keep in mind of. I say to you, I definitely get annoyed while people think about concerns that they plainly do not recognise about. You controlled to hit the nail upon the top and also outlined out the entire thing with no need side-effects , other folks could take a signal. Will likely be back to get more. Thank you Here is my web site: [url=http://www.Thebesttanklesswaterheater.org/]tankless water heaters[/url]

http://rehabilitacja-warszawa.info.pl/ says:
December 1, 2013 12:49 AM
I blog frequently and I truly appreciate your content. This great article has really peaked my interest. I'm going to bookmark your site and keep checking for new details about once per week. I subscribed to your Feed too.

Minecraft Premium Account says:
December 8, 2013 5:45 PM
It's hard to come by educated people for this subject, but you seem like you know what you're talking about! Thanks

download pokemon x and y says:
December 9, 2013 4:47 PM
Pretty! This was an incredibly wonderful article. Thanks for supplying this information.

clash of clans no survey says:
January 24, 2014 7:10 AM
I am genuinely grateful to the owner of this web site who has shared this impressive paragraph at here.

Post a comment

     Verification (needed to reduce spam):




slug=tifest2008-thumb byline=Gretchen Robinette thumbnailtype=jpg thumbnailname=redbullsoapbox-thumb

OTHER STORIES

ADVERTISEMENT

FragranceNet.com

Hollywood Triple Feature $24 for 2 or more

Footlocker.com

StudentUniverse.com - Travel More. Spend Less

macys.com

Apple iTunes


Oh Dang! Copyright © 2006-2007. All Rights Reserved.